We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
256
172
70
31
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
172
70
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool junior suite lake view fantastic views night stay dinner menu manicured gardens amazing location shower room the air conditioning old style ferry terminal lovely hotel lovely lakeside large balcony terrace luxury
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 546 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017

We pre-requested a walk-in shower. Put on 5th floor of hotel and had no water for shower or wash-hand basin due to non-existent pressure because "you are on the 5th floor". Receptionist was less than concerned about this. 3 days later they dug up a bit of the garden and put in a new pump! Still very poor shower but at least we had water. It is a 3/4 mile walk to the town, which, in temps. of +30 deg. C was a long way! More like 20 mins. not 5! The dinner menu was very expensive, so we didn't eat in the hotel. Gardens are lovely as was the swimming pool (indoor). Breakfast was the same every day - cold, greasy streaky bacon and cold scrambled egg. Lots of fresh fruit and sweet cakes. Bread stale and uninteresting. However, the weather was superb!

Room Tip: Lake view, but much more expensive. Not 5th floor due to water pressure.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

While the hotel certainly has pretentions of grandeur we were disappointed by the very poor internet service (worst we have experienced in Italy) and the noise in our room. Several complaints in our group about things not quite working.
We were in room 518 which picked up noises of washing machines and dryers from a nearby (but undiscovered) utilities room. The sound of sloshing water at all hours made sleep impossible at times.
We would recommend a different room or earplugs.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Locarno by friends and helped by the Swissman. On the way home to Geneva we decided to visit an old friend, Hotel Majestetic. Our impression was much of the same. Very friendly service with a lot of the old people, but the manager seemed to have changed. For us that was a dissapointment. But overall it was just the same- a place you can feel like an italian nobleman.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is stunning from door to garden. Its location is unique and compensates all minor flaws that might appear during your stay. In my opinion, breakfast is not at the right level: industrial cheese, juice and bakery look wrong at this standard.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Just back after a fantastic week at this grand old hotel. We normally self cater and mooch around in shorts, t shirts and flip flops. Although there is no dress code here we would recommend something smart if you eat dinner there. Otherwise you feel you have been transported back to the 1930s with the decor and the old style service. The views from the rooms and garden are sublime. There are great reasonably priced restaurants within 5 minutes walk and it's only 10 minutes to the public ferry from where you can visit every place of interest including the 3 islands. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for lakeside room
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews