We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Clean hotel, rooms size is nice (even the "low cost") , staff is super friendly and grives all information or services that can be requested.
Negative points: no flat screen tv!!!, no shower only a bath tub in the bathroom, way to the spa/swimming pool is very hard to find. Parking not easy, but ok, knowing how complicated it is in other spots...
Positive points: THE location is quiet and offers an outstanding view on the lake, you can enjoy this even during the breakfast, the pool is also great, it could open earlier (10am is a little bit late)
Thanks to the team, we enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 498 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

The staff were very helpful with making calls when we were dealing with a member of our party who became ill. The view was not great; we were supposed to have a lake-view room and we had more of a side-view with a small glimpse of the lake. We booked through Luxury Link and got a few extras, including a massage for each member of our party. They allowed us to convert that into a massage + facial for me, as my husband was not interested (silly). Also included was a dinner for two. We were surprised to find that they charged us for sodas at an exorbitant cost, even though we only ordered one meal (as my husband was ill and only wanted soda). We ended up complaining to Luxury Link about it and received a Luxury Link credit for the amount of the sodas. The hotel was unapologetic. It was a nice location, however.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our stay provided us with the largest room during our time in Italy along with the most magnificent view of Lake Maggiore. The spaciousness of the hotel and what it offers makes it a standout and the winding road to the Hotel was well worth it.

Taking in the beautiful surrounds and grandness of the hotel make for a most relaxing stay.

Only comment is more a humorous observation of the plumbing in the room, very tight!

Room Tip: Must over look the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Historic hotel with super service and wonderfull location. You have to stop there? You will rest and wish you could stay there for ever.
The leader of the hotel will give you a felling of beeing at home.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in September and found it to be great as always, I've stayed here on previous trips. The rooms are large, even by North American standards, and they have adequate parking. Location is just about perfect, near the action but not to close and they have water access if you would like to swim. The restaurant was very good and the patio bar is a great way to spend the evening watching the sun set.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buzzerd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel, built in 1870, in true "Belle Époque" style is truly majestic. Entering, you find yourself in an enormous atrium with balconies on each of the four floors surrounding. Thus, every room looks outwards. The rooms at the front give onto the road which, whilst not too busy, will cause you to want to keep the windows closed at night to keep out the noise. We paid for, and were given, a "superior partial lake view" room. There was nothing superior about this room, it was tiny, with just about enough room to walk around the bed, one chair and a desk. We checked with the staff and they confirmed this was what we had ordered. Be warned, pay a little more, "superior" is not enough. We did have a good view of the lake though and the bathroom although also small, was good. As we were not able to sit and relax in our room, we used the public lounges which are very nice. There is a splendid terrace overlooking the garden and lake at the rear, where the very attentive staff will serve refreshments. Breakfast, Continental style was served in a very light and airy room also with a view over the lake and garden, managed by the excellent Roberto. Cooked extras available at extra cost, good service. We dined one evening in the restaurant and whilst everything was done in great style, the food was disappointing. My pasta dish was stodgy and my fish overcooked and dry. Perhaps the kitchen was under stress as there was a large wedding party in one of the function rooms. Never mind, a ten minute walk into Pallanza provides you with plenty of alternative places to eat. The front desk staff were efficient and helpful. Wi-fi was available, free of charge, at plentiful hot-spots all over the hotel, good. Overall, apart from the size of our room, we had a good holiday, and would go again (in a different room). PS. Don't miss going to the amazing gardens at Villa Taranto about 1k down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sussexsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and funny enough we found ourselves in the same junior suite facing the lake with a small balcony. My memories from 6 years ago were not as enthusiastic as this early September. I suspect that a lot of renovation took place during that time which has brightened up this hotel built over 100 years ago, This is a 4****S by Italian but also European standards (see pictures). I would not recommend a regular room facing the road as the lake view is sheer delight. The hotel restaurant served good food and had an adequate wine list. I personally did not enjoy the atmosphere of this large room as it was not intimate. Continental Breakfast was ok with good pastry and a priced menu was available for warm food.
The hotel is within 10 minute walking distance to the small town of Pallanza with a wide choice of restaurants and a boat terminal with regular transport to other lake towns. In addition to being quiet (the hotel is on a one way street) the area is cheaper than around Stresa. An ideal location for visiting the lake surroundings.
PS. My wife raved about the professional massage at the hotel SPA !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
2.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 14 in Verbania
442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 32, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
Price Range: $183 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star superior hotel located directly on the lake. Built in 1870, on the elegant west Piedmont shores of Lake Maggiore, the Grand Hotel Majestic is a fascinating exemplary conception of La Belle Époque. The Grand Hotel Majestic is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and since 2007 is recommended by Legambiente Turismo for its commitment in the environmental protection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Verbania
Grand Hotel Majestic Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing