We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in September and found it to be great as always, I've stayed here on previous trips. The rooms are large, even by North American standards, and they have adequate parking. Location is just about perfect, near the action but not to close and they have water access if you would like to swim. The restaurant was very good and the patio bar is a great way to spend the evening watching the sun set.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buzzerd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 498 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel, built in 1870, in true "Belle Époque" style is truly majestic. Entering, you find yourself in an enormous atrium with balconies on each of the four floors surrounding. Thus, every room looks outwards. The rooms at the front give onto the road which, whilst not too busy, will cause you to want to keep the windows closed at night to keep out the noise. We paid for, and were given, a "superior partial lake view" room. There was nothing superior about this room, it was tiny, with just about enough room to walk around the bed, one chair and a desk. We checked with the staff and they confirmed this was what we had ordered. Be warned, pay a little more, "superior" is not enough. We did have a good view of the lake though and the bathroom although also small, was good. As we were not able to sit and relax in our room, we used the public lounges which are very nice. There is a splendid terrace overlooking the garden and lake at the rear, where the very attentive staff will serve refreshments. Breakfast, Continental style was served in a very light and airy room also with a view over the lake and garden, managed by the excellent Roberto. Cooked extras available at extra cost, good service. We dined one evening in the restaurant and whilst everything was done in great style, the food was disappointing. My pasta dish was stodgy and my fish overcooked and dry. Perhaps the kitchen was under stress as there was a large wedding party in one of the function rooms. Never mind, a ten minute walk into Pallanza provides you with plenty of alternative places to eat. The front desk staff were efficient and helpful. Wi-fi was available, free of charge, at plentiful hot-spots all over the hotel, good. Overall, apart from the size of our room, we had a good holiday, and would go again (in a different room). PS. Don't miss going to the amazing gardens at Villa Taranto about 1k down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sussexsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and funny enough we found ourselves in the same junior suite facing the lake with a small balcony. My memories from 6 years ago were not as enthusiastic as this early September. I suspect that a lot of renovation took place during that time which has brightened up this hotel built over 100 years ago, This is a 4****S by Italian but also European standards (see pictures). I would not recommend a regular room facing the road as the lake view is sheer delight. The hotel restaurant served good food and had an adequate wine list. I personally did not enjoy the atmosphere of this large room as it was not intimate. Continental Breakfast was ok with good pastry and a priced menu was available for warm food.
The hotel is within 10 minute walking distance to the small town of Pallanza with a wide choice of restaurants and a boat terminal with regular transport to other lake towns. In addition to being quiet (the hotel is on a one way street) the area is cheaper than around Stresa. An ideal location for visiting the lake surroundings.
PS. My wife raved about the professional massage at the hotel SPA !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I am giving this hotel 4 starts (dots?), but I could have given it 3 and would love to give it 5. First, the location is great. It overlooks the lake, and even tough our rooms were not facing the lake we spent enough time on the lovely terrace overlooking the water. The property is well maintained, the rooms are nice and spacious enough, everything was spotlessly clean as well. The staff was courteous, accommodating and helpful. They even helped us to set up an improvised "al fresco" dinner on the terrace with our own food and wine by setting up a table and providing plates, silverware, wine glasses and even napkins. I am not sure why some complain about breakfast at the hotel. To the contrary we think the breakfast in the room with huge wall to ceiling windows overlooking the lake was very good with good selection of cold cuts, yogurts, freshly baked pastries, excellent bread, jams, honey etc. The coffee and juices were fresh, the service was prompt. Since we traveled by car, it was important that this hotel had ample parking space and it was free of charge. The WiFi service was very reliable with great speed. Staying in this hotel you are also very close, like 10 minutes walk, to shops, restaurants, a botanical garden. The small negatives are the size of the shower in one of our rooms and the lack of it in the other room (there was a bathtub there but without any curtains or enclosures so we found that odd. The hotel is very well maintained but it shows its age and a nice facelift would probably make it one of the best places to stay in Pallanza. Overall, we would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Arrived via France, having driven from the UK. Parking excellent, helped with bags, not that it was necessary. Room was booked with lake view (a must have) a great size, bathroom excellent with separate walk in wardrobe/dressing room.
Staff were excellent throughout the 7 night stay. Breakfast and location each morning over looking the lake a perfect way to start the day. Only had the dinner the first night as preferred to walk down top the town of Pallanza.
Garden and access to the lake was wonderful, must be one of the best locations. Lovely terrace to finish the day overlooking the lake. However the lunch menu and choices were a ridiculous price which certainly realised very little custom. Pool/Gym should open before 10:00am.
Would definitely return, would be hard pressed to find a better location on Lake Maggiore.

Room Tip: For such a location, choose a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I can only agree wholeheartedly with the previous reviews. This is not a 4 star hotel in any way.
It has a beautiful, unique position in Pallanza. On arrival we were met by a disinterested reception manager and a sullen porter who watched my much older husband struggle with a case from the car. It was 2.30pm too late for lunch so we ordered a bar snack which turned out to be an inedible club sandwich (made from cold dry toast) and a carelessly thrown together tomato and mozzarella salad with wilted leaves. Except for a uninspiring breakfast (included) we chose not to eat again in the hotel and enjoyed some excellent restaurants a short walk away in Pallanza. As described previously this hotel is past its best and we will not return.
Had we not been in Pallanza for a wedding we would have checked out immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wildlifepark235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina Z, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry to read about your negative feedback of your stay with us,
We do apologize for any inconvenience. We're sure our staff did their best to solve it.
Actually all other guests invited for the wedding left the hotel after the party more than happy with the hotel service, especially the bride and the groom were enthusiastic.
It sounds really odd that our reception manager and the porter met you at the arrival, but didn’t assist you with the luggage. They spent all afternoon welcoming guests and taking care of the luggage.
The barwoman remembers you very well. She has in mind that your husband enjoyed his club sandwich a lot and was very kind with her and it seems you ate all your caprese…
A pity, in any case, you didn’t mention your dissatisfaction while staying in the hotel: you might have enjoyed easily every single second!
Despite this we strongly hope you will give the hotel a second thought and you will come back to Lago Maggiore soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel could be a great establishment, but unfortunately it does not live up to its potential. It is wonderfully situated in the Pallanza district of Verbania, right by the lake, and has a wonderful garden with direct access to the water to swim.
Unfortunately, one has the feeling that there is no money to invest in making this establishment truly grand. Bed linen had holes in it, the towels were thin from having been well washed thousands of times (as another reviewer has noted). Breakfast was a BIG disappointment. Although the hotel has a wonderful terrace which is basically hardly used, you are forced to have breakfast indoors without closed windows. Staff are sultry at best and have little idea about basic serving techniques (my wife received her coffee by having the waitress place the cup from the left almost through her face). In a country known for panini, we were surprised to find only two types of sliced bread and frozen croissants which had been baked in the oven (and often burnt). Ironically, the hotel advertises panini on their website, so we'd like to know where they ended up.
The swimming pool and gym are not accessible before 10:00 which for the latter is rather stupid, because many people would like to train in the morning, particularly before it gets really hot like it did when we were there in July. The man in charge of the towels is often hard to find, and if you want to have a refreshment while in the garden then good luck in finding someone to take your order.
The coup de grace during our stay was that there was a wedding party at the hotel the first evening of our stay who played loud drum and bass music until 1:30-2:00. We were not informed of this beforehand and none of us (we are a family of 4) could get any sleep. Confronting management led to an apology, and to their credit they did reimburse us for one night, albeit only for one room.
All in all, you feel that this place has had it's heyday, and that management is either not able or are just pennypinchers, which at the prices they charge leaves a bitter taste....

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank ophthal_erg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina Z, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your comments.
Unfortunately we had not the chance to hearing from you, during your stay, the dissatisfaction you mentioned here in Trip Advisor, except for the wedding party.

May we first of all say how sorry we are to hear that your stay at the hotel did not meet your expectations.

Deckchairs are left as per guests' request "in random order" in our garden:
we have regular customers spending long vacation periods with us and most of them have a preferred place in the solarium for relaxation. We are rather flexible with customers requests and also in this case we only wish to meet their expectations.

From breakfast room there is an incredible view onto garden, lake, mountains, islands... not only deckchairs. Actually we do serve breakfast in our indoor breakfast room to all guests, because the terrace is too small.
It's possible to have breakfast at the bar terrace, but the service in this case is not included in the room BB price. Some guests enjoy breakfast on the terrace at the bar, especially late comers.

All walls and ceilings in corridors and common areas are hand decorated, some vases are empty not because of lack of money, but it's a specific minimalist choice the owners of the hotel did after the refurbishment.

All images in our website are real and the "fresh rolls" (Danish pastry) you see in one of them are the frozen we serve, whilst muffins, pies and cakes are homemade.

Fitness Centre opens at 10:00 am, but all guests that wish to go training before breakfast can ask and get in earlier, when they are staying at the hotel.

The wedding party: we have parties sometimes in our hotel and exceptionally they celebrated till 1:30.

The quality of bed linen of our laundry suppliers happened to be under requested standards: and we are deeply sorry for that.
Bath towel sets are cotton crepe fabric and that’s why they are thin. (!!!)
Panini: Italy is a great country, not only panini and mandolino!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
2.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 14 in Verbania
441 reviews
2.4 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
2.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Zust
Hotel Residence Zust
#10 of 14 in Verbania
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 32, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
Price Range: $180 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star superior hotel located directly on the lake. Built in 1870, on the elegant west Piedmont shores of Lake Maggiore, the Grand Hotel Majestic is a fascinating exemplary conception of La Belle Époque. The Grand Hotel Majestic is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and since 2007 is recommended by Legambiente Turismo for its commitment in the environmental protection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Verbania
Grand Hotel Majestic Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing