We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic/Maggiore in the rain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked the Majestic for 2 nights in May, we weren't too lucky with the weather but this didn't detract from the beauty of the Lake and surroundings. The Majestic is set in an ideal position with a wonderful view of the lake, very close to Pallanza where the ferry visits the Borromeo islands daily (a must do). Our assessment of the Majestic is pitched at average as the allocation of our first room, which was pleasant, had a fridge which didn't work (it was replaced when requested by a larger fridge which didn't fit into the space) and the safe (located inconveniently inside a cupboard very low down i.e. not really accessible for people with bad backs). The safe was not bolted to anything and because of this we asked for a different room. The staff did this very quickly and were very helpful. In the re-allocated room the fridge worked fine but the safe was (although bigger) the same, this time it was attached to a shelf (also removable). There was no bath in the first room allocated ( a standard room no lake view) only a shower, and no proper shower, only a bath in the second room although it had a hand held shower attachment but no screen or curtain (perhaps you get one in the lake view rooms ?). We looked at the menu for the restaurant but decided it was too expensive and choices not to our liking. The spa area was painted in very dull colours which made it look like a dungeon. Free Parking is available right outside which is very useful but may be limited if the hotel is full. Buffet Breakfast was fine with the usual choices but no toaster, it's held in a room with a good view of the lake. This hotel is a good choice if you can afford a lake view room and the weather is good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina Z, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Polly,

thank you for your review. You had definitely no luck with the weather: during the last spring our SPA and indoor pool have been very useful for our Guests during those rainy days. We are sorry that you didn’t like the colours. On our website there is a photogallery, we suggest our future Guests to check if our hotel reflects their likings. We are sorry for the inconveniences that you had with your room, but on the other side we are happy that our staff could find out a solution for each problem.
Thank you for emphasizing that the location of the Grand Hotel Majestic is really unique and that the rooms with lake view allow to enjoy the beauty of the lake. Nevertheless, it’s fair to say that the Guests who are staying in rooms with landscape view, can enjoy the lake view from the breakfast room , on the terrace for an aperitif and in the garden overlooking the lake and in the restaurant, if they wish to try it!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Majestic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 484 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just had our first holiday with Secret Escapes and very satisfied. Will use them again. Everything went very smoothly, flights transfers and hotel.
The Grand Hotel Majestic lived up to its name. The surroundings were grand but comfortable and very clean. My husband used the pool and I the spa. Both excellent. We ate in the restaurant several nights and found the food very good and each night there was a list of specials.Breakfasts were varied and copious. Some more information in the room about the t.v, phone, area would have been helpful. Also there were no tea making facilities.
The staff throughout were very helpful particularly the girls at Reception.
The hotel was in a quiet area well placed for walking into Pallanza and near the ferry terminal.
A most relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac1CrieffScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina Z, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Madame,

we are very happy to hear that your holiday did fulfill your expectations. Thank you for reporting your experience at the Grand Hotel Majestic with so many appreciations! We’ve made a lot of efforts in improving our restaurant department. We are pleased that you enjoyed it. The fact to have a great wellness centre and an indoor pool is very important to us, since in this way our Guests can fully enjoy the Lake Maggiore also in spring and autumn. Thank you also to point out about the information provided in the room, we will surely complete them.
Furthermore, we thank you for the positive remarks about our staff, who is passionately committed in creating what you call “a most relaxing and enjoyable holiday”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a fantastic location with amazing views. 5-10min walk to the village.
We were lucky enough to be staying in a junior suite (thank you Kuoni) with an amazing lateral view of the lake. I really can't fault anything.
Breakfast was what you would expect-scrambled/boiled eggs, toast, croissants, cold/hot meats, cheeses, fresh fruits and cereals. It was served in the restaurant overlooking the lake. We didn't eat lunch/dinner at the hotel (although I'm sure it would have been good our wallets couldn't stretch to it) as the local village had many lovely restaurants to choose from-pizza between €4-7.
Drinks at the hotel were the standard hotel prices-€10 cocktails, €26 a bottle of prosecco.
The gardens are kept immaculate and the rooms were clean and well maintained.
The spa was beautifully done and spotless. The treatment I had was very relaxing and well done.
The staff where friendly, helpful and professional.
I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina Z, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for this beautiful review full of enthusiasm!
We are honored to be the first hotel on Tripadvisor reviewed by you! We do hope that your future travel experiences will be as pleasant as this one! Thank you for your appreciations about breakfast, spa, garden, rooms and staff. You have to come back and try also our restaurant! We want to read so many good remarks also about our cooking!
We are waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Hotel is situed in a wunderfull area.The reception personal was very friendly.We was uppgraded to a room overlooking the lake.The hotel is from the Belle Epoque and very
charming.The only thing is,that the restaurant has not the small luxury hotel standard.The breakfirst was poor and the food & service was even average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank erberto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina Z, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Good morning,

we thank you for your gratifying comments and for the high scores you gave us in the details. Nevertheless, the overall score is negative! We haven’t thus understood if this is a mistake or is what you really think about our Hotel.

We apologize for our difficulties and we would like to understand better what you think. In case this was an error, we wish to inform you that it’s possible to modify your review through the form on the website of Tripadvisor. We would be very grateful if you could amend it.
On the contrary, we kindly ask you to advise us anyway. This would be the occasion for us to improve our service by matching your expectations.

The Grand Hotel Majestic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is well located and beautiful from the outside and when going in in the open areas, great classic design. Unfortunately the room we had was tiny (Superior Room... the images on the website were taken with a very wide angle lens) and the bathroom needed some professional attention for the green marble finish plus there was some finishing (metal caps) missing (it looked like it was the end of a busy season... not sure about the busy part but we were at the end of the season). For a hotel in this category the bathroom was below par.

The restaurant was open but the kitchen was not (???), which meant some pre-prepared food. For vegetarians there was next to nothing and the quickly improvised food was poor (some lettuce without much else, a very salty soup and a cheese platter, with two orange drinks (not juice) and some water for over €100 it was not good value).

The positives, the staff was friendly, the views from the balcony and breakfast restaurant great

Overall not a place where I will return unfortunately

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HvD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a wonderful travel experience at this hotel. First, we were upgraded to a suite with a terrace overlooking the lake. Second, the staff was friendly and the service exceptional, from assistance parking our car, to dinner recommendations, to immediate assistance when we had problems with a light. The grounds are immaculate, and the spa and exercise room very well-maintained and staffed. The breakfast room is lovely, which compensated for the only-average breakfast offerings.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, if possible. The fifth floor rooms overlooking the lake are spectacular.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The rooms have got high standards, the staff was very service minded, and we enjoyed the luxury of staying in a hotel from La Belle Epoque. The only minus was the breakfast, not so good. But the view over to the villa on the small island was fantastic.

Room Tip: A room facing the lake
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
2.4 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,390 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 14 in Verbania
427 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 32, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
Price Range: $197 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star superior hotel located directly on the lake. Built in 1870, on the elegant west Piedmont shores of Lake Maggiore, the Grand Hotel Majestic is a fascinating exemplary conception of La Belle Époque. The Grand Hotel Majestic is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and since 2007 is recommended by Legambiente Turismo for its commitment in the environmental protection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Verbania
Grand Hotel Majestic Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing