We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romance at a peak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pallanza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pallanza
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Romance at a peak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very romantic hotel. The building expresses itself very well in its architecture and fresh colors on the outside and by the static ballroom-effect on the inside. The rooms are quiet. We had some sort of duplex room which we liked a lot; there was a desk and living room part with terrace downstairs and bedroom an bathroom upstairs. The pool area is very nice, its inside but the sliding doors give it a cleaner, outside effect. A spacious garden where everyone can find their little space to relax offers a relief from everyday stress. You can even order a boat to pick you up at the hotel and make a tour on the Lago Maggiore. Or you could walk to town and take a taxiboat. Town is walking distance and has lovely and affordable little restaurants with terraces with really nice food. Only one minus point: tiny bed with a rather hard mattress wasn't very comfortable. Other remark : We asked the person who was representing the sommelier of the hotel to help us out with the choice of a good Italian wine to accompany our evening dinner, but he couldn't say anything more than 'red wine, white wine and rosé, going from cheap to very expensive' ...? Also, the conduct of the Italian waiters wasn't very elegant not to say unpolite in particular to people who could speak only two words of Italian, and they seemed very grumpy. We were almost afraid to ask something more. Maybe it was the far above average age of the waiters. It was a four star hotel but it's Italy, if you know what I mean. Luckily the setting was astonishing and we had a laugh.

Room Tip: take a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Renske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    91
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
106
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The journey from Bergamo airport was a bit long and tedious (the trains are not very clean and the windows so dirty it is almost impossible to see the views). We made a slight error inasmuch as we got a taxi from Verbania station to the hotel which cost 20 euros for only 8km and had we done our homework we could have taken a bus right into Pallanza. The hotel is in an excellent situation and our lovely large room had twin balconies overlooking the lake with the evening sunshine flooding in and the colours of the evening sky over the mountains were superb. We only had breakfast in the hotel (included in our room price) which was excellent and comprehensive. We did not have dinner but there are several local restaurants nearby. The best one we found was just around the corner up a back street called Stregatto. They spoke no English and we speak no Italian but it didn't matter and the meal was excellent and good value. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was spotless with good linen and towels. We had a fridge in our room where we chilled our wine to drink on the balcony watching the sun go down each evening. There's a good tourist office and the boats leave just a few yards from the hotel. We would love to return.

Room Tip: For good views ask for rooms overlooking lake. Although there is a bit of traffic noise, the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stay. Lake front room was very affordable.. Service was above and beyond? Did not think we ccould afford something this nice right on the lakefront and were surprised. Great town with lots of restaraunts

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wineeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had been travelling around Europe and stayed one night in Hotel Pallanza, having stayed a few nights at the Grand Hotel des IIes Borromees across the Lake in Stresa. What huge, huge disappointment. The hotel staff were lovely, really kind and helpful but the room was dreadful, small and cramped with tatty old junk-shop furniture, no safe, no bathrobes, in fact none of the touches a four star hotel usually has. Ours was a double with lake views. We had nowhere to put our suitcases or hang dresses - wardrobe far too small. The saving grace was we had two windows to open onto some rather wonderful lake views. The hotel décor was old and tired and the breakfast was dreadful. There was no hot food, no herb tea and most of what was on offer was cheap, some in packets. It is well over-priced for what's on offer so go elsewhere for a proper four-star hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a four star hotel with four star amenities we would advise you to try elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We had 2 nights here, following a 5 night stay at a hotel in Balveno across the lake. We would have been desperately upset if we had spent more than 2 nights at Hotel Pallanza. The hotel staff were lovely, very kind and courteous and could not have been more helpful and if we had paid less than half the rate we were charged it would have been slightly more acceptable. It was very clean and provided little extras like toiletries and towelling slippers. However, the hotel rates in no way reflected the hotel or its services. The building is beautiful and old and in a good position with fantastic views of the lake. But the road runs outside and it is so very noisy. We were woken at 6.45 by a street cleaning machine, there was a boat moored at the steamer landing stage that had a crane and drill and added to the morning noise, plus the normal comings and goings of people going to work, all these not the hotel's fault but something to consider when choosing a hotel on a road in front of the lake. Our room was very dated, not very bright and it was small - twin beds from which you could admire the bathroom view, or turn to the side and admire the lake view. There was no balcony or terrace. The door to the bathroom was a sliding door, which gives some indication of the lack of space in the room. The hotel has no lounge area to speak of, no garden space - there are 4 tables set on a very small terrace at the front of the hotel, overlooking the road and lakeside - the only place there was for us to admire the lake view from the hotel - at £150 per night! Breakfast was offered to us by the hotel, although not included in the price and again the staff are so lovely and helpful but the breakfast was so basic and quite mean - one kind of sliced cheese on offer, salami, ham and half slices of mortadella! The rates were for a hotel way above this league. Shop around, you could have much much more for your money. We didnt do our homework on this one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The hotel itself is early 20th century well preserved, stylish building. The rooms are fine, service is great. Amenities are fine - a fridge and internet. Yes, the walls are a bit thin. But everything else, including the location is really amazing.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

The front desk welcome (and departure) was extremely warm and friendly, a real asset to a lovely hotel, in fact, it was the best thing about it. We were made to feel very welcome. Location was good, right on the lake with restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were of average size by European standards but the walls were thin (we could hear our neighbours' kids very clearly) and I think the proximity to the road could make the rooms noisy at night. We styaed in January when the lake was deserted so it was reasonably quiet but I suspect this isn't the case in the peak season. We found the beds a bit hard and uncomfortable, as a result, we didn't have a good night's sleep.

In terms of value, I'm not sure this hotel is worth the premium charged in the peak season. We investigated staying during our next trip in April but found the rates considerably higher than other hotels which score better on Trip Advisor. As a result, we've booked our next stay at the Ancora (currently no. 2 on the list). I'll happily pay for the 'right' hotel and don't mind paying a premium but in my opinion, there are better value hotels out there & Pallanza was really just a standard, 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#3 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 16 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ancora Hotel
Ancora Hotel
#1 of 16 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gottardo
Hotel San Gottardo
#2 of 16 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pallanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pallanza

Property: Hotel Pallanza
Address: Viale delle Magnolie 8, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pallanza 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent example of the Art Nouveau architectural style of the early 1900s, hotel Pallanza with its 48 rooms has recently been completely refurbished. While respecting the criteria of traditional elegance, the hotel is provided with the most modern comforts. Located in a beautiful, panoramic position, most of the rooms look out over Lake Maggiore and the shore that is just a few metres away. Air conditioning, garage. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pallanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pallanza Hotel Verbania
Hotel Pallanza Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing