We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrive by launch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Milano

Ristorante Milano
Ranked #19 of 193 Restaurants in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Arrive by launch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was an unbelievable find on lake maggiore. Excellent food and service. Wonderful choice with 'specials' that are worth trying. Pasta is as good as you will get. go with the flow and suggestions.
Dining room extends out on to the small harbour servicing the restaurant and other local houses.
I diode not find this overpriced for the quality. Extensive wine selection with moderate prices. You can drive there but we arrived in style in our own launch from the other side of the lake. Waiter helped us time up the boat and we then had Prosecco outside before dinner. Play some Pavarotti there and back to make it an unforgettable experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    31
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

The meals are miniscule. The cooking is weird, I did not like a single meal. Service is great overall but the white wine was served warm. I regret visiting this place.

Helpful?
Thank Igor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great position, beautiful food and excellent service. Very expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Right on the Lake with lovely gardens. Very traditional decor which added enormously to the attraction of this very well run family hotel.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“one more time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

It's been 40 years (unbelievable, I know!) that we have dinner there, almost once a year. The quality of the food and the service has always been great. Pasta has always been unbelievable: the best of all Italy (at least of all the Italy I know, and I am italian and I still prepare my own pasta at home). We always eat "coregone" as second course: it's a fish from the lake and sometime, when it's available, "pesce persico"; a small tasty fish, also from the lake.
The view is great from the terrace, and also in autumn you can eat there.
Price is also very reasonable and the service just perfect. Go on sunset: it's worth.
I almost forgot: they have their own parking, and that's really important because sometimes is difficult to park around.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adriana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Words cannot express the experience of this restaurant. Even for all you jaded types who already know how wonderful the food is in Piedmont (yes! Lago Maggiore is in Piedmont! and Verbania comes along with it), it will still be fabulous. At-your-elbow-but-invisible service, in the best European tradition. Food to die for. View across the lake (if you get a good table). Free little gift for the ladies. Big wine list. Friendly helpful English-speaking maitre d' when needed. Hard to beat, anywhere. Expensive, but don't miss it if you are in Verbania.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trufflecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Milano also viewed

 
Verbania, Lake Maggiore
Pallanza, Verbania
 

Been to Ristorante Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing