We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Hotel at the right price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Chiostro
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Chiavenna, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel at the right price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Verbania, a town with a lot of history and a great climate. If you are looking for a place to stay at the right price, then 'il Chiostro' is for you.
Reception staff speak English and German very well, they are very helpful, especially on arrival.As mine was a business trip I can say that the hotel has all that I needed - clean rooms, good shower and wifi.
Restaurant is air conditioned and serves a varied selection of good food that caters to all tastes, and not expensive!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    73
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
59
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for one night here prior a wedding. Arrived a midnight. The reception staff spoke good English. Check in was very friendly and efficient. We ask the night staff if they could open the bar so we could have a few drinks. This was not a problem to them and they did. The rooms were fairly small, spotlessly clean and furnishings basic. The air conditioning was very quiet and functioned well that was a great advantage in Italy in July. Breakfast was good and the selection was reasonable. The public areas of the hotel were all very well looked after. As the wedding was later in the afternoon we asked if we could have the room till 3pm. The receptionist looked on the computer and said this would be fine with no extra charge. Overall this is a great place to stay if you are after a honest clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The bathroom is very narrow and old and has only space for a single person. This is not state of the art. The service personal in the dining hall is not very flexible. The variety of breakfast is rather poor (e.g. no fruits). The location of the hotel is good and silent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igualada, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Il Chiostro for one night only for €65 (double room, breakfast included). We were surprised, because normally italian hotels add an extra star for international standards, but this is not the case of Il Chiostro. Nice historic building, lot of space in the room, good breakfast, free wifi... what else can you expect? A nice base for exploring the lake. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanetJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Only stayed in this hotel for one night but found it to be a lovely hotel. Our room was large with plenty of windows, the furnishings were good and the beds comfortable. The bathroom only had a shower but as I prefer this to a bath I was happy but my wife would have liked a bath as well. The food at breakfast and dinner was very good. However, the best left to last, the gardens, these were secluded, well kept and ideal to spend a restful or contemplative hour - an absolute delight. Happy to recommend this hotel on the basis of our short stay.

Room Tip: Did not see enough but any room overlooking the garden would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alphalogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We only stayed for one night with our tour group but generally this seemed an excellent hotel in a great location in Intra, Verbania. 10 mins walk to lake front and ferry to Laveno, etc. As the hotel was a former monastery, there are two large very pleasant courtyards / gardens at the rear of the hotel, one to the south-east and one to the north-west. Use google maps satelite view to check it out. We had a very pleasant view in a room overlooking the south-east courtyard. There are also other rooms and 'caves' (cellars) which are available for guest use and have been very nicely decorated and furnished. Many thanks to Lorella for giving us (our tour group) an informative tour of the building and its history.

The rooms were very clean and modern, if not especially spacious, and they could have done with a drinks fridge.

The bathrooms were also modern and clean, but they could have shown camper-van designers a thing or two in compactness! At least for the room we had.

There was an unpleasant odour (but not over-powering) in the room which appeared to emanate from the bathroom. A de-odourisor had been placed in the bathroom but wasn't enough to cancel the smell. Keeping the bathroom door closed kept the room more pleasant. A bit of a re-design of the plumbing / ventilation could be done with to cure that.

The food was very well prepared and the staff (restaurant and front-desk) were all helpful and friendly. The only problem for us (wife, self and mother-in-law) was being given a plate full of vegetables (nicely done, though) for the main course at dinner. We are all vegetarian. They didn't seem to have a proper alternative to meat or fish dishes for veggies.

The restaurant was very busy as the hotel is obviously very popular.

Although the restaurant was busy, the hotel was generally quite. We did not see many children around and it was not a hotel full of late night revellers.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking one of the courtyards at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SightSeersWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
912 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed two nights in early October. The room was clean and spacious, with good Wifi connection. We had a large balcony where we could sit and enjoy the evening looking out over the large inner courtyard. Breakfast was OK but not up to the standard of many Italian hotels. The reception staff were not too welcoming but were efficient. The free parking is either in front of the hotel or in a locked parking lot a couple of blocks away. The only drawback is that the hotel seems to be used by German and Italian tour groups so timing is important for checking in/out and for meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbania hotels
0.3 mi away
Ancora Hotel
Ancora Hotel
#1 of 16 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
#6 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel San Gottardo
Hotel San Gottardo
#2 of 16 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#3 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Zust
Hotel Residence Zust
#9 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Contrada Hotel
La Contrada Hotel
#10 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro

Property: Il Chiostro
Address: Via Fratelli Cervi 14, 28921, Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Chiostro 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B di nuova apertura, ricavato nel chiostro di un antico convento. Situato in una via silenziosa in pieno centro a Padova. Le stanze sono arredate con mobili antichi, tutte con bagno, cassetta di sicurezza, collegamento WI FI, doccia con cromoterapia. Ingresso indipendente, uso gratuito di biciclette. Sala colazione con camino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Il Chiostro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing