We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Art Hotel Varese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel Varese
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Varese
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My and wife and i visited Art Hotel late July 2014. The hotel is ideally positioned for The Lakes and only an hour away to Milan by train. The staff could not do enough to make our 1st visit to Italy a memorable one. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean.

We dined in the busy restaurant on one occasion and the food was excellent as the locals will testament to. We tended to dine out, and highly recommend a visit to Bologna restaurant, a mere 10 minute stroll from the hotel, soo good we visited twice.

The only down side was the construction works next door, which start from 730 in the morning. This was no more than an inconvenience as we were up and out early to take in the beautiful scenery, special note to visit Sacre Monte only 10 mins drive. Susanna will send the guests on their merry way in the morning with her special Capuccino and smile.

Thank you all at The Art hotel we have many fond memories. We will return

Terry and Elaine

Room Tip: While the construction work is going on, ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 276 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very good location near and not too near the centre of Varese, nice building, friendly staff,
spacious and modern, but not over-design room, large bathroom, cupboards very well organised and designed, very good price/quality ratio, good and free parking, very good breakfast, except only that both mornings the scrambles eggs were very cold.

Room Tip: select room at the front, as building is going on at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensionado2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I stay at this hotel twice a year travelling to and from Scotland and Italy. It's a lovely stop off point and the hotel has consistently delivered amazing food and fabulous interiors. I would highly recommend the restaurant where we eat with friends from just outside Varese in May. They were very impressed with the food, as we have always been. If you are visiting do try the restaurant, it is quite exceptional !

Room Tip: There is construction going on to the rear of the hotel but it did not impact on our stay, however t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was on a business trip recently to Varese and stayed at the Art Hotel. The building and grounds looked like a majestic country house and the rooms were excellent. A very modern interior with lots of nice touches. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for the guests. I had dinner in the restaurant and the food was first class. I left very early on my last day and they even arranged for some coffee to be available. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Milan and the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: There are several good restaurants within a 5 min walk from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here last month while on business and really enjoyed the hotel.
We had a late arrival, 22.40, and had not had the opportunity for dinner,even though the chef was gone the staff organised a simple selection of breads and antipasto, light, delicious and just whastvwas needed at that time of night.
My room was great, spacious and comfortable and breakfast on the two mornings I was there was perfect.
Although there is construction going on next door it did not impact on my stay at all.
I would happily stay at the Art Hotel again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank saggartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were here for the second time and still like this hotel very much. However, for some time there will be a construction site behind the hotel. Ask for a room to the garden and you will be okay. They start around 8 am and finish around 5pm.
Perfect location with short walk to the center. The hotel has no playground but on the other side of the street there is a big and beautiful park with a good playground. Also the park has a fenced dog play ground.
All the food in the hotel is good and staff always kind and helpful. Modern rooms with free wifi and free parking on the hotel ground.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor to the garden are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiaMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We came here for a week of relaxation. I had ben here on business several years ago and hoped the hotel was as good now as it had been then. Beds are very good, rooms are modern and the bath is very nice. The place is very clean and the staff is accommodating. The facility is a restored villa type of place probably a couple of hundred years old. About a ten minute walk to the very nice old town center, now chock full of bars, coffee shops and very high end retail - if you want to shop, this will do as well as Rodeo Drive and other high-end venues. Nice grounds and a couple of friendly dogs (additions since my last visit about five years ago). Good breakfast is included and I will review the restaurant separately.

Room Tip: some construction in the back so get a room in the front and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varese
0.8 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Varese
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#2 of 23 in Varese
185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#4 of 23 in Varese
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
448 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
1.8 mi away
Villa Porro Pirelli
Villa Porro Pirelli
#1 of 1 in Induno Olona
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Varese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Varese

Address: Viale Padre Gian Battista Aguggiari 26 | Via Giuseppe Bertini 3, 21100, Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range: $104 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Varese 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Art Hotel Varese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing