We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & old but clean enough”
Review of City Hotel Varese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Varese
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small & old but clean enough”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I was at city hotel for 6 nights from april 26th- may 1st. It is old and small but clean enough. The breakfast is the same everyday but the quality is acceptable. The location is good and there are lots of shops near to the hotel. Also, there is a palace which everyone can go there and enjoy the big yard.
There was just a negetive point! The staff came to the room for cleaning when i wasn't in the hotel even if i hang on "don't disturb'" behind my room!
I totally liked there and enjoyed my stay in Varese a lot ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azi59farahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    61
    64
    14
    5
See reviews for
25
31
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Right across from the train and bus stations, yet a 10 minute walk to the historic part of Varese. The staff is friendly,efficient and thoroughly multi-lingual. The rooms are well-appointed, the wireless is speedy, and the breakfast buffet is generous- what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsusanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was larger than the typical European size room. The breakfast was fresh, meats cut and pastries baked as needed during the meal period. A very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: ask for rooms 606, 608 or 610 they have the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff were very helpful, the hotel is on the edge of the City centre and has very nice rooms. We had secure parking for a small charge. Only let down was breakfast, not a big enough room for a rush of people and for an English couple the Italian milk was undrinkable.

Room Tip: 501 is a triple, we occupied as a couple, the third bed is out of site of the main beds ideal for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is opposite the train station connecting to Milan. It is also in very short walking distance to the historic district. It is a typical business traveler hotel, which offers all necessary features and services. The room was spacious for Italian standards, well equipped, everything clean, and quiet. WiFi worked fine. Service at reception and breakfast buffet was fast and professional.

Room Tip: Select upper floors, e.g. 5. floor in order to be high enough about the traffic impact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribtravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel near the city centre easily accessible by car. Rooms small but quite confortable, signs of time and heavy usage but good ratio quality/price. The b/fast is nth special. Parking on payment. Staff friendly. Bar closed at 23 on saturday. No smoking rooms available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Location was good - City Center as expected, Single Room was very small but clean, 10 Euro parking per night but at least covered, Breakfast was poor (you get more from a vending machine). Service was friendly and helpful. Overall Value for Money was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ska007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
1.1 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#6 of 23 in Varese
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#2 of 23 in Varese
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
#11 of 23 in Varese
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#13 of 23 in Varese
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
420 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#5 of 23 in Varese
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Varese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Varese

Property: City Hotel Varese
Address: Via delle Medaglie d'Oro 35, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Varese 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your City Hotel Varese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing