We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonne
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hotel Colonne has not only a breathtaking view, outstanding food, but before and foremost an exceptional service attitude towards clients. Silvio and his staff do their utmost to solve any problem when necessary. They do not only what is expected as part of a good service but also the unexpected as, for example, giving you a nice send off gift upon leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Talmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
72
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel had the wow factor from start to finish - view, location, service, food. Highly recommend for those who want to experience Italy away from the hustle and bustle. After arriving from Perth Australia to say we were tired was an understatement. We quickly forgot as we navigated from the airport through the town and up the windy roads of Varese. Service was unbeatable, rooms were clean and comfortable with an enchanting decor. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland and Aroud
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

What i can say? Place is great, very romantic, people are nice, food is excellent. It is a family business, very personal and you can feel it. Even if it is not perfect all time, you feel being taken care of with the greates attention. And food is really good :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anafesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciutadella, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Third Regression Workshop at the Hotel Colonne and it still feels like a retreat ,Upon your arrival you are immediately greeted by Silvio and his beautiful mama a charming woman full of vitality..All the rooms are decorated with soft pastel colors making you feel at home, rooms feature outdoor terraces where you can bask in the delight of the mountains and the hills of Sacromonte, breathing in all the wonders of nature....Beautiful place to relax, unwind, or simply visit to experience a culinary delight......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 524Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholsey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Colonne in September 2013, and every aspect of our stay was outstanding. The hotel is in a beautiful location in the hills above Varese, and the views from the rooms and balconies down to Lake Varese are stunning. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts and dinners, taken on the terrace, were delicious, and Silvio is the most incredibly attentive host - he really went out of his way to make our visit to Varese an absolute delight. Very good value for money too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel in July 2013, it's been a while since our stay but that hasn't diminished the great feelings we had of our stay here. The hotel is out of Varese in the hills but as we had a car this wasn't an issue for us and in fact made our stay more memorable as the scenery was amazing and the area surrounding the hotel was quiet with lots of walks ands trails. The rooms were classically decorated with quality finishes and we had more than enough room with a luggage room and balcony to comfortably fit 2 adults and our daughter in a port-a-cot. Vera and Silvio were fantastic hosts and made us feel very much at home. The breakfasts were fantastic, with fresh cakes, fruit and specially made eggs. It was a great way to start the day and left us feeling happy and ready for a day of adventure. We ate at the restaurant one night for a degustation and it was absolutely amazing, they even catered for our young daughter. It really is a must to have dinner here. We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel and would recommend to anyone we know to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allenro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had the best time in hotel Colonne.
Very good service, gourmet food, clean rooms, and the view from our balcony was amazing!!!!
One of the best vacation I ever had.
I plan to visit this hotel once a year, at least.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank advash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
3.0 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#7 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#8 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
2.6 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#4 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#6 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonne

Property: Hotel Colonne
Address: Via Fincara' 37, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonne 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This countryside hotel is located in Sacro Monte, close to Sacro Monte of the Rosary and Pala Whirlpool. Features The property has a restaurant and a Bistro. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast each morning. 24 hour room service is available. Business amenities at this 4 star property include wireless Internet access and business services. Business amenities at this 4 star property consist of conference rooms and banquet facilities. The staff can arrange concierge services, wedding services, and tour assistance. Additional amenities include multilingual staff, laundry facilities, and an elevator (lift). Guest rooms Hotel Colonne has 10 guestrooms. Televisions are equipped with satellite channels. Guestrooms provide in room safes. Bathrooms offer showers, handheld showers, bathroom phones, and bidets.All rooms have a private terrace with fantastic view. Free Mini-bar for soft-drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Colonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing