We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained, scenic path”

Lake Varese bicycle trail
Ranked #3 of 43 things to do in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well maintained, scenic path”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice paved path for waking, running, biking. Can be accessed from many areas around Lake Varese. Gets quite busy on warm weekends, so near Gavirate it can be a bit dicey with pedestrians dodging bicycles. Most of the time though, a very peaceful activity.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    267
    67
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must do”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It's actually a must do in Varese. although the whole path is not near the lake and it goes to a jungle half way but the whole was breathtakingly beautiful. it was impossible to pass and not willing to stop to take a picture every five minute. we went on a Saturday afternoon. It was not that crowded first but moving to evening many people came to walk. so it'd be better to go on weekdays or before the evening on the weekends.
hope you enjoy it as much as we did :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yasieslami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid walking it with a dog”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were recommended this walk with our dog, but it is too crowded. Other pedestrians are not always dog-friendly.. Result:: we had to keep him always on the short leash, no pleasure for us nor the dog.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterMCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's worth it”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Like a sort of tradition, my family and I do the bicycle trail almost every Boxing Day!
It's definitely worth it.
In December it's a bit cold but as long as you keep cycling you are warm. The landscape is beautiful, so fascinating and also mysterious, when there are spots with a bit of mist over the lake and among the reeds.
Living nearby, I use the trail for running as well all year, so for tourism I recommend spring months because of nature, but also because bars and ice-cream sellers are open and the weather is really nice, not cold and not hot yet.
If you use the parking lots at Schiranna, check if there is the fair because it can be crowded and during those days parking is not free.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mavenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Did You ever try to go by bike around lake?”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Do not exist a path for bikes, it is impossible eve to walk in same points,I don't suggest to go by bike,just by walk,but there is nothing to watch,except a dirty lake and smell of dead water,because the city don't make maintenance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alnewman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Varese bicycle trail also viewed

 
Varese, Province of Varese
Varese, Province of Varese
 

Been to Lake Varese bicycle trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing