We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
215
242
106
19
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
215
242
106
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake varese free shuttle seen better days old world charm hill overlooking impressive building classical hotel small shower big hill own transport tennis courts lovely old building coffee machine fifth floor spent nights here room with a lake view below average
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 603 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Very intersting hotel, a mix between old and new world. I experimented an executive room from 5th floor and a standard one from 3rd floor. The executive room is smaller and it has some benefits, but no so much.The standard one was more beautiful and bigger, with a nice view to the lake. The staff was very kindly, the breakfast-excellent. The hotel is located on the hill and it has a shuttle bus to and from the city centre, only in the evening. So it is not so easy to go to and from the centre, the road to the hotel is very sinous through the woods. The bar was opened only after 4 pm.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ec_cifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2018

Dear Guest we thank you so much for your positive review about your stay at the Palace Grand Hotel Varese and we hope to welcome you again in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2018

This is the epitome of old world charm. The staff are extremely welcoming and caring.
The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We had Room 509 - great view of the lake. The breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Room 509 is very quiet and large. It also has a private balcony
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MsJuicePlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Madam we thank you for your kindness writing your more than positive review and our Staff thanks you too.
Probably you made a mistake...but any deluxe rooms on the top floor have a balcony ( just for future reservations ...)
We will wait for you !
Take care .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

We picked Varese as our destination for a short break from Scotland based on our impression of the Palace Grand Hotel, and we were delighted that the hotel was everything we expected. We stayed for three nights, we used public transport to explore the city and surrounding area (essential to visit Sacro Monte, a few stops on a bus and no real need for funicular as it is a very gentle walk to the top) but there is a handy hotel shuttle bus in the evening if you wish to avoid walking up and down the drive in the dark. Staff were great, especially Domenico in the bar who had worked previously in Scotland so we felt a nice connection. Room lovely, only one thing to improve hotel would be to provide a kettle in room. Breakfast was plentiful, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bacon etc and very good WiFi connection. A beautiful old hotel, don't change! Thank you, Lorna and Jon

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lorna044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Dear Lorna and John thank you for spending your holiday with us in Varese and thank you for the kindness of sharing your experience here. Your words really make us so happy and we will immediately share them with Domenico, one of our main pillars of the bar ...
Now that you know where we are, we hope to see you again and we would like you can to consider us a bit like your second home in Varese....
Take care .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile

Excellent views to the lake and the city. Very large room and confortable beds. Good service, collaborative and very welcoming staff. Very good and varied breakfast... We wish to go back there again soon...

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 917paulaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Dear Paula our doors are always open for you with the warm welcome of all our staff. We are happy to be able to read in your words the satisfaction of having stayed at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese.
See you soon Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017

We booked this on a booking website for part of a short tour around Northern Italy, and chose it for the central location for visiting the Italian Lakes.
We really struck lucky- we were there slightly off season and the hotel was quiet. There seemed to be conferences or meetings on in the daytime, but not too busy at night.
The staff were all very helpful- my suitcase had been lost by the airline so they gave us advice on shopping locally and even provided toothbrushes etc on arrival.

The location is a bit out of the city centre, but it's only a few euros in a taxi, and the hotel provides a free evening shuttle service into the main shopping area.

Our room was simple but with good furnishings and a huge bathroom- but the best thing was the stunning view of lake Varese, particularly spectacular at sunset.

Breakfast was generous buffet style, with a great variety of sweet treats! We didn't use the restaurant but the bar was well priced.
It's a proper grand dame of a hotel in a stunning location, beautifully styled with many original features, and we had a delightful stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
2  Thank awayaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Guest we are always proud to be able to give to each of our customers the opportunity to enjoy a fabulous sunset, perhaps from the balcony of their room. But as you pointed out, the panoramic view is not the only highlight of the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese: all its services have a high standard of quality.
We thank you again for your nice words of appreciation and we invite you to come back here to Varese and to stay again at the Palace .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews