We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
The Woods
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was obviously once very grand but now is a little tired. The decor shows its once grand status and the rooms are all very clean and we'll appointed. Staff and friendly, professional and helpful. my single room was bigger than some doubles I have stayed in in more modern establishments and the views of the mountains and lakes are nice. Breakfast was good with the roomsl again offering views of the lake. Overall a pleasing, value for money stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WhistlingBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    136
    62
    14
    18
See reviews for
58
109
7
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Beautiful hotel with great views of Lake Varese. The rooms were clean, large and comfortable. Ask for a room overlooking the lake with a balcony. The hotel is old but full of charm and history and its name The Palace Grand Hotel Varese will not disappoint you.
Breakfast was fair and dinner at the hotel was poor with a small menu and pricey. Difficult to get a drink at the bar due to their limited hours of operation.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The location is good, and if you are looking for peace and quite this hotel fills the bill.
Would stay again but plan on eating out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
248 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I spent the night before my birthday in this hotel and was pleased with the choice. It’s located on a hill on a hill and our corner room had great views. Free parking is available on site. The rooms were a little old fashioned but nice. The bathroom was huge but only had a small shower. The food in the restaurant was ok. The breakfast was quite basic but adequate. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hi, I spent just one night at this hotel in the first week of April. It was certainly pleasant. Did it wow me ? Well no - but that's ok. It was clean, functional, the staff were professional and the location was lovely. The view from my room was spectacular. Breakfast was fairly basic but again, that's ok - I wasn't expecting a 5 star buffet. I would perhaps comment that the hotel lacked a bit of atmosphere although that might have been as I was travelling alone and was only there for 24 hours. Perhaps I did not experience all it could offer.

I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel two nights for a trip to Lake Como. Although it was not in walking distance of Varese, it served our purpose just fine. Beautiful location. Excellent views from hotel of mountains and town below. Gave you the feeling of staying in a renovated castle or palace - very tall ceilings. Interesting decor, especially in lobby. Staircase was something else when climbing to the 4th floor! We chose not to drink the water from the bathroom faucet since it was an old hotel. Some said it gave them a "spooky" feeling since lights were on a motion detector in the halls. Pleased with dinner and buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaTech1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is situated in the best place of Varese, that is an average North Italian city, where it's nothing to do, if you are not on a business trip. The hotel looks like a real palace - especially from the outside and from the social places (lobby, restaurant).
Although the standard room is small and lacks some pleasant facilities that you expect to find in 4-stars hotel (such as a bath robe, bath shoes, modern hairdryer). I was also surprised by the shower tap - which was only high in the wall, so that when water reached the body it was too much spread. Moreover I should mention that our double bed consisted of two mattresses, one of which was lower than the other one and with a hollow. There was also no safe in the room, and wifi was provided only in the lobby, only for a half an hour - and was so slow, that I hardly managed to check-up for my flight! Oh, yes - and the last night was spoilt by an alarm, which switched on twice without any logical reason!

The advantages of the hotel also should be mentioned. A good large parking, a large and pleasant territory, tasty food in the restaurant and very amiable waiter there. It was clean in the hotel and in the room. The tea was for free in the room and the tea bags were added every day. And we had a very nice view (from our corner room with balconies on two sides).
As a conclusion - I would recommend this hotel - although don't expect too much not to be dissapointed (as I was in the beginning of our living there).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this charming hotel as part of our Trafalgar tour. Location - good. View - excellent. Staff are friendly and always ready to assist (was not happy with our initial room and they did not hesitate to change it for us). Dinner was enjoyable and breakfast buffet acceptable. However, the building is in need of some maintenance.

Room Tip: View of the mountains is breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyM053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varese
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#7 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#3 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#4 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#5 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Grand Hotel

Property: Palace Grand Hotel
Address: Via Luciano Manara 11, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Varese
#8 Business Hotel in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Grand Varese
Hotel Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing