We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”
Review of Palace Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ( family of 4, two teenagers) were here for 2 days as part of a group of 90 odd people. We were given two rooms, the teenagers had a slightly smaller room. Rooms are decorated in a very old fashioned manner, which we really liked ( the hotel is currently celebrating its 100th year ). Very clean and spacious rooms.
There is only one lift in the hotel ( at least we saw only one for guests), so imagine 90 people waiting in line to take their luggage up !
We had 2 breakfasts, one lunch and one dinner here. The food is entirely continental. The menu for breakfast on both days was the same. As we were a large group, we were served buffet meals. Those not fond of continental food might have problems.
The hotel is situated on top of a hill, with a very steep winding road. The path itself is beautiful, trees on both sides.There are steps cut into the hillside as a shortcut. This makes the hotel rather difficult to reach, or even travel to and fro from here. The hotel does have a shuttle service, but it needs to be prebooked and is in demand. It is a little away from the city centre. But the entire property is very beautiful and enchanting. There is a tennis court and enough space for kids to play.
The old world charm of the hotel and property is wonderful .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 472 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

palace grand hotel, finished in 1913 at the end of the art nouveau period, is a lovely old fashioned building on its own private hill with fantastic if partial views (obstructed by tall trees). theres are steps in the grass for a short cut to the top (10 mins). hotel provides a complimentary car into the centre of town, if walking takes about 35 minutes. breakfast buffet was fine if a little chaotic. reception staff didn't seem to know a great deal of tourist information about the area. yes the hotel is a little faded in places but still impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an impressive looking hotel sited on the side of a hill outside the city centre. Very high ceilings, loads of gold and marble. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with good views, surrounded by forest. I was woken by church bells and a cuckoo. The hotel has clearly seen better days (it needs a coat of paint and new carpets) but is is clean, comfortable and has real character.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorToxic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for an extended Weekend.

Service and Staff Good - Breakfast nice with a view over the hills and good wifi connection in the common areas.

The Rooms are all decorated in old Italian style.
After we where shown the first room, which wasnt upto our expectaions, they showed us another one, which we thankfully took.

All in All one of the best hotels in Varese if you enjoy nature and piece.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sellen_and_Axel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Such an amazing view from our 5th floor room, and a really great old building. Breakfast was poor for a 4 star hotel, especially the coffee, juice and bread selection/quality, as these are the basics of a good continental breakfast. The rooms were OK, had all the facilities you'd expect except a kettle, which makes you ask how they got 4 stars. Overall, the hotel was fine, but would really benefit from a make-over and some TLC. We had lunch, which was quite tasty, but a little pricy for what it was. Not bad, but could be better.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Varese Palace will have once been a very impressive building, however is now in a bit of a state of disrepair.

The hotel is up a long driveway, and you would need to drive to go anywhere from the property. However the fact it is so set back means it is quiet.

The room was fine, and reasonable value particularly considering the cost of alternative accommodation in the area. However I would strongly advise against eating there.

I ordered a 30euro special, which consisted of a main and a coffee/desert. The main included some microwaved pasta, and some roast meat that must have been sitting on a Bain Marie for hours. The vegetables were from a tin. This really was terrible quality food for the price. In addition to the poor value menu, there was a 6 euro service charge per head added to our bill, yet we received very poor service - we sat at the table for an hour after finishing my main without seeing any staff, we abandoned trying to sign for the meal or get the desert/coffee that was included as part of the meal. I suspect the decline in service was due to the arrival of a large coach party.

The food problem continued at breakfast, which was also a disappointment with lots of low-quality offerings, a budget coffee machine, the croissants and bread were pre-frozen, with cheap processed meat and cheese on offer.

Overall the hotel was reasonable, considering we paid
89 euros for the room. But the very poor value restaurant with extremely low quality food, high service charge yet terrible service is one to be avoided.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otherbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very stylist hotel, set high in the hills above Varese with a great view across the lake.
The room was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent.
Unusual display of MV Agusta and Ducati motorbikes in the reception area plus above the bar is lined with motorcycle helmets - there is obviously some connection between the owners and the bike factories.
Staff are very helpful

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauls-Triumphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#11 of 23 in Varese
282 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
#10 of 23 in Varese
91 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#5 of 23 in Varese
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#2 of 23 in Varese
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
461 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#4 of 23 in Varese
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Grand Hotel

Address: Via Luciano Manara 11, 21100, Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varese
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varese
#8 Business Hotel in Varese
Price Range: $82 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Grand Varese
Hotel Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing