We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay, Varese”
Review of Palace Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Short stay, Varese”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very stylist hotel, set high in the hills above Varese with a great view across the lake.
The room was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent.
Unusual display of MV Agusta and Ducati motorbikes in the reception area plus above the bar is lined with motorcycle helmets - there is obviously some connection between the owners and the bike factories.
Staff are very helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauls-Triumphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    161
    78
    17
    19
See reviews for
70
129
10
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very good value for good money. The hotel celebrates the 100 years anniversary this spring. It looks like a castle, staying on the hill. It would be difficult to get there without a car. From the balcony you can see an excellent view of mountains with old chapels and churches, the lake, the centenary pines.
Breakfast is normal, not very good. The hotel needs the renovation. Bidet has very strange constraction. Pillow is very thin. Rooms are big enough
But you get fresh air, perfect view, waking up with a peal, free parking.
We got shopping in Milan in the morning and had dinner in Switzerland in the evening.
Hope to come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuitOdessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is supposed to be a four star hotel, but it is not!
Breakfast has orange juice out of water and colour as well as sugar. Reception staff is soo unfriendly, no international newspapers, no international TV channels.

The gym is scrap and the location sucks.

The hotel is not modern at all, but has prices as if it would be the newest in town.

This is just not worth the value - I have slept at better hostels than this 4 star hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Perched on the top of a very steep hill the hotel has excellent views of Varese. The hotel's name depicts exactly what it looks like and old palace. Inside the hotel is very grand however also very tired in décor and furnishings especially in reception. The rooms however are a pleasant surprise being large and the bathrooms excellent - not to mention the views from the windows overlooking Varese. We were part of a Trafalgar Tour and were not happy in which our meals were served to us - being very casual and the finesse was definitely missing in the presentation and manner. The breakfast seemed to be just thrown on the table with no care at all in presentation to the guest and very scant choices. Wifi internet is free downstairs in reception - only problem with that is whilst this is a no smoking hotel, guests gather outside the front of the hotel reception and each time the front doors open the smoke enters the hotel - unfortunately. Bar staff very efficient and pleasant. Suzanne S (Australia)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I came to Varese for business for the second time, and tried to stay at the City Hotel again (excellent hotel in the center of the town), but ended up in this hotel. It is a 100 year old hotel on a hill outside the center of the town, so it is very isolated. This is problem when looking somewhere to eat outiside the hotel or when I wanted to visit the town (there's also very few Taxis in the town).
The room that I stayed in was very clean but also relatively small.

As I came here for business one of the biggest problems that I had with the hotel was the INTERNET CONNECTION, you get free internet at the lobby but you have to enter a ticket every 30 minutes to reestablish the connection, which at the end is VERY SLOW and unreliable. In the rooms you have to pay to be able to connect each device you have to the internet and there's no wired connection. I strongly believe that any hotel that wants to provide a good service for its costumers should provide with free internet connection to their costumers in their rooms, that was also a good thing that the Varese City Hotel had.

Overall, this is a good hotel for vacations or a romantic stay, but I strongly don't recommend if you are travelling for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel on a tour during our honeymoon finding the spacious rooms a total sigh of relief from the tiny rooms we had become used to. The dining area and service were excellent. Perched upon a hill over looking Varese made the views stunning. We would certainly suggest this venue to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were in the process of moving to a nearby village and stayed here during the transition process. The staff was always friendly, and never made fun of our attempt to speak Italian. Our waiter in the evening reminded us of Humphry Bogart, and immediately we became friends. Always there to assist us with meals, ideas for the next day, and most of all made us comfortable when we sat down for a meal. Excellent food, service, comfortable rooms, and a beautiful view and setting. The Palace is close to the city center, grocery store, gelato, and cafe's. I look forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake and choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADComerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#9 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#2 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#4 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#3 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Grand Hotel

Property: Palace Grand Hotel
Address: Via Luciano Manara 11, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varese
#8 Business Hotel in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Grand Varese
Hotel Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing