We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and beautifull hotel but KEEP OUT if travelling for business”
Review of Palace Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I came to Varese for business for the second time, and tried to stay at the City Hotel again (excellent hotel in the center of the town), but ended up in this hotel. It is a 100 year old hotel on a hill outside the center of the town, so it is very isolated. This is problem when looking somewhere to eat outiside the hotel or when I wanted to visit the town (there's also very few Taxis in the town).
The room that I stayed in was very clean but also relatively small.

As I came here for business one of the biggest problems that I had with the hotel was the INTERNET CONNECTION, you get free internet at the lobby but you have to enter a ticket every 30 minutes to reestablish the connection, which at the end is VERY SLOW and unreliable. In the rooms you have to pay to be able to connect each device you have to the internet and there's no wired connection. I strongly believe that any hotel that wants to provide a good service for its costumers should provide with free internet connection to their costumers in their rooms, that was also a good thing that the Varese City Hotel had.

Overall, this is a good hotel for vacations or a romantic stay, but I strongly don't recommend if you are travelling for business.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Palace Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 441 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel on a tour during our honeymoon finding the spacious rooms a total sigh of relief from the tiny rooms we had become used to. The dining area and service were excellent. Perched upon a hill over looking Varese made the views stunning. We would certainly suggest this venue to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were in the process of moving to a nearby village and stayed here during the transition process. The staff was always friendly, and never made fun of our attempt to speak Italian. Our waiter in the evening reminded us of Humphry Bogart, and immediately we became friends. Always there to assist us with meals, ideas for the next day, and most of all made us comfortable when we sat down for a meal. Excellent food, service, comfortable rooms, and a beautiful view and setting. The Palace is close to the city center, grocery store, gelato, and cafe's. I look forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake and choose a higher floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADComerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights along with some colleagues from work. This hotel belongs to one of the industrialists from Varese who happens to be an ex-shareholder in Ducati. His passion for bikes is apparent from the GP bikes in the lobby as well as the array of helmets in the lobby bar.

This hotel was built in 1913 and is celebrating a 100 years in 2013. The hotel is situated on top of a hill and is quite isolated from the town below. It is a good setup for a couple looking for a weekend romantic escape but is not really ideal for business travellers.

The breakfast was very good. I would have to say that the stay was value for money.

There were a few issues like when a bat got into my colleague's room. Many people complained about the heating not working. The staff did try their best to rectify the situation.

Not many dining options to be honest.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyviyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Palace Grand Hotel for one night. Well signed from the road (large neon sign), only 30 mins drive from Milan Malpensa Airport and absolute bargain of a price.

Rooms comfortable and clean with stunning views.

The service was excellent and will be visiting again without doubt.


Thank You.

Room Tip: Try for the higher floors for excellent views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our travel group of 40-65-year olds was here only for one night. One would think we were way out in the country. We took a narrow winding road up to the top of this hill. This grand old hotel on absolutely beautiful grounds welcomed us. I didn't have a sense that it was run down at all. Beautiful furnishings. Easier to walk down stairs instead of taking the little lift. We did not eat our evening meal there, but our breakfast in the morning was plentiful and excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppersm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

stay here last year for the Italian GP, for the money we paid, i really cant complain at all. the hotel building itself and the surrounding ground is gorgeous, ok, the carpet and room furniture is tired, but they try very best to keep it clean. If you can get a lake view room, for 70 euro a night, what more can you possibly ask for! it is 1 mile out of varese, taxi is expensive, so if you have a car, this is perfect.

Room Tip: get the lake view room with balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blkman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#10 of 23 in Varese
273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#4 of 23 in Varese
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#5 of 23 in Varese
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
183 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
#11 of 23 in Varese
60 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Grand Hotel

Address: Via Luciano Manara 11, 21100, Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varese
#8 Business Hotel in Varese
Price Range: $81 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Grand Varese
Hotel Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing