We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price/performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
French Riviera
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great price/performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We made this hotel our one night stop on our way home due to the price and expected price performance. We were not disappointed. This old mansion is somewhat unique in that it looks more like an apartment building than a hotel. However after entering one discovers a very nice ground floor with unusual high ceilings. There was a congress going on but except for the signs there was no negative impact on the guests. The room we were given was quite large as instead of a double room we were given a good size triple room with a magnificent view. The obvious negative during our short stay was the lack of international TV stations.
Breakfast was included in the room price. The buffet was average, the juices were syrup based but the 2 coffee machines enabled us to make coffee to our liking.
The only service we used was the Reception for check-in and check-on: friendly and efficient.
The location can be viewed as central but the points of interest are 30 – 45 minutes away by car.
The trade-off is the room rate is about half of similar hotels on or close to the lake shores.
With the above in mind I would recommend this 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    158
    76
    17
    19
See reviews for
68
126
10
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Really nice hotel with a bit of old charm and very helpful staff.
Bedroom was lovely and very large
Great Breakfast and lovely cocktail bar

Room Tip: Ask for a large room - if they are available the staff will accomodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Located on top of a hill, this old palace is magnificent. The lobby is elegant, the rooms are large, the bathroom is huge. Our room, on the third floor, overlooked the lake-a view we enjoyed morning, noon, and night. The food was very good, for hotel food. There was a large selection to choose from at breakfast. Others have said that the carpeting is worn, but I think it adds charm to the old palace feel. The grounds are pretty, too.

Room Tip: The view is breathtaking overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenoraNovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is one of those fantastic properties you always admire from afar ! It is truly grand, the hotel is fantastically maintained and the rooms are lovely with amazing views over the lakes of northern Italy and the alps. Breathtaking.
The service was great, the bar is lovely and the bar man Marco has many stories and photos of the hotels colorful history. Including its occupation by Hitlers army - and the hotels use as an army hospital. We loved it, a real find.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgiadettoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido303, Director of Sales at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks for your comment: we hope to see you soon at the Palace in Varese ... maybe with other friends of yours from Australia :)
All the best !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very helpfull. Very nice and clean large room and a good breakfast and diner. The bar was also very good and in the weekend there was also music in a nice garden from the hotel, where you can have a nice sit. The hotel lays up a hill in Varese. Its about 2 km's from the street down up to the hotel on the hill (a way with some curves, but it's good to ride). The centre of the city is nearby by car. The surrounding is lovely and near by the Lake (Lago) Varese, Lago Maggiore and Lake Como (Bellagio is a very nice town). When you are visit Lake Maggiore its also very nice to go to the lake d'Orta and visit the beautiful old town Orta San Giúlio. Just drive from the lakeside off Lake Magiore by the way of Stresa to Gravellona Toce to Omegna and than to Orta San Giúlio (look out for your gps, because there are more towns whith the name Orta. The Lakes of North Italy are very beautiful and the Palace Grand Hotel is beautiful whit a very good service and so nice to stay for sight seeing the surrounding. A very nice route is also the way through the mountains to Domodòssola and than the way to Santa Maria Maggiore to Locarno (Swiss) and so back to Lake Maggiore (very very beautiful surrounding when you drive that way by car and also very friendly people).We love Italy and the people of Italy. It's sure we shall come back at this hotel and the surrounding whit the beautiful lakes and mountains.

Room Tip: aks a room at the Lake-side Varese
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobVolendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

old style hotel surrounding by a beautiful park on an hill overlooking varese's lakes

Room Tip: rooms at south wing and upper flours have nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestsZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at the Grand Palace whilst on business in Italy and had a very pleasant experience.

The hotel is approached by a very long drive up a big hill / drive which must be well over a mile and your then met by a beautiful old building with stunning views across Varese / Northern Milan region.

I arrived quite late so just had a sandwich in the bar so didn’t experience the restaurant and had a big room with a comfortable bed and a nice balcony.

The staff were friendly so all in all, a good experience and I'd recommend the hotel for both business and pleasure breaks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#8 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#2 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#3 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#1 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#4 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Grand Hotel

Property: Palace Grand Hotel
Address: Via Luciano Manara 11, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varese
#8 Business Hotel in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Grand Varese
Hotel Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing