We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Hotel by the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
bridlington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel by the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed their with a group of 20 friends for a rowing event. The position was perfect for us with the Hotel land going down to the lake and its rowing course. We could even see a glimpse of the races through the trees from our balcony! The room was modern, comfortable and nicely decorated . Everything was very clean and the bathroom was good size. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull and really looked after us for the week. There was a good selection for breakfast including fresh fruit and home baked cakes and pastries. The included evening meals in our package were quite good and we all enjoyed the home made onion soup.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    94
    11
    7
    0
See reviews for
54
67
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Rooms are spacious with a good sized bathroom. Safe in room was large enough to hold my laptop, iPad, kindle,....
You can rent bikes at the hotel for 8€ (or 15€ for an electrical one). The lido is just a few hundred meters away and the town centre approx 10 min by car.
The continental breakfast buffet had a large selection of food and the hotel owned restaurant was very nice. Unfortunately the restaurant is closed on Wednesday nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOCIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, recently refurbished which offers really good service, decent food and nicely furnished rooms. For the price we paid I was expecting an average establishment but this place exceeded all our expectations.

The hotel is situated in a quite corner of Varese right by the lake. There is nothing in the surrounding area, so plan to relax and pass away the hours quietly reading at the lake.

I was happy to see it located right next to the MV Agusta HQ. I couldn't get in but it brought a smile to my eye.

The room was brand spanking new, warm and comfortably furnished yet modern. It had an excellent bathroom with a shower head bigger than I'd ever experienced. It was like showering in the rain :). The bed was large, soft, fluffy and very comfortable.

The room was very small, however, since it was so tasteful, we loved every minute of it.

Dinner in the restaurant was good. The antipasti buffet is very good and offers over 50 different little nibbles which can fill your stomach alone without needing another course. However, I did order a main course of a mixed meat grill but unfortunately it was nothing special. It was simply a few pieces of meat, lightly seasoned and pan fried. It didn't have any special flavour to it.

Service was great.

The restaurant decor itself is not great. It resembles a bright airport style hotel breakfast area. It was too bright and too clinical. I would suggest to the management to dim the lights, bring in some warmer and darker furnishings. That would certainly help.

Breakfast the following morning was the best breakfast we have had in any 3/4 star European hotel. A wide range of cheeses, cold cuts, breads, cereals, top of the range fresh juices and proper cappuccinos (without having to pay any extra over normal coffee).

Will we return? Absolutely yes! Keep it up everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautifull setting right on the lake with impressive veiw of the snow covered mountains. Nice restaurant, reasonably priced. Excellent room, just a little small, but very quiet. On the negative side: you will have to pay for WiFi.

Room Tip: Request a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wermelskirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The restaurant is very good with great tasting food and a very nice outside area to have your evening diner as the sun sets. The staff were friendly and welcoming, breakfast was good with a lot of variety for all, fruits, cereal, meats etc. The rooms were very clean and comfortable our room had a small balcony with a nice view of the lake. There is also a outdoor Lido, swimming pool just 200 meters away and great for a nice relaxing day out in the sunshine. Overall will be coming back here next year for a long weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our second visit here - last time had been for a few days in November to attend an art exhibition, this time was on our way to Umbria for a holiday.

The staff are all friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the restaurant food is very tasty. The rooms are not huge, but big enough for a stopover and the bed is comfortable - it's all very clean and well looked-after, too. This time round we could at least see the lake (it rained all through our last visit!) and it is extremely pretty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianOWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Un buon hotel nuovo, pulito, moderno e accogliente.
La camera, affacciata sul lago, è delle giuste dimensioni con un letto comodissimo, unico appunto i due materassi divisi al posto del matrimoniale, il bagno spazioso e pulitissimo ha una doccia da favola!!!
Al ristorante, pulito, onesto e veloce i piatti sono ben fatti e le porzioni abbondanti, si potrebbe puntare di più su qualcosa di tipico e locale, ma nulla da rimproverare.

Nice hotel clean, modern and cozy. The room, with a small balcony facing the lake, it's just right with a comfy bed, the only thing is two matterasses and not a double Everything is clean and the bathroom has an amazing shower.
The restaurant is clean, right priced and fast. Servings are right for hungry costumers.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucamoiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#7 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#8 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#2 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.7 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#5 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva

Property: Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Address: Via Giovanni Macchi 146 | Lago Di Varese, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located on the shores of Lake Varese in the absolute tranquility of one of the most beautiful areas of the city of Varese. We have 20 double rooms that can be transformed into triple or quadruple for families and 4 single rooms. Access to Wi-Fi and cable is 'free in the entire property. Our facility is ideal for customers Bussines, being close to the Milan Fair and Expo 2015 site, either for short holidays exploring the beauty of the lakes in the province of Varese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing