We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay at a very good hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, recently refurbished which offers really good service, decent food and nicely furnished rooms. For the price we paid I was expecting an average establishment but this place exceeded all our expectations.

The hotel is situated in a quite corner of Varese right by the lake. There is nothing in the surrounding area, so plan to relax and pass away the hours quietly reading at the lake.

I was happy to see it located right next to the MV Agusta HQ. I couldn't get in but it brought a smile to my eye.

The room was brand spanking new, warm and comfortably furnished yet modern. It had an excellent bathroom with a shower head bigger than I'd ever experienced. It was like showering in the rain :). The bed was large, soft, fluffy and very comfortable.

The room was very small, however, since it was so tasteful, we loved every minute of it.

Dinner in the restaurant was good. The antipasti buffet is very good and offers over 50 different little nibbles which can fill your stomach alone without needing another course. However, I did order a main course of a mixed meat grill but unfortunately it was nothing special. It was simply a few pieces of meat, lightly seasoned and pan fried. It didn't have any special flavour to it.

Service was great.

The restaurant decor itself is not great. It resembles a bright airport style hotel breakfast area. It was too bright and too clinical. I would suggest to the management to dim the lights, bring in some warmer and darker furnishings. That would certainly help.

Breakfast the following morning was the best breakfast we have had in any 3/4 star European hotel. A wide range of cheeses, cold cuts, breads, cereals, top of the range fresh juices and proper cappuccinos (without having to pay any extra over normal coffee).

Will we return? Absolutely yes! Keep it up everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 230 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautifull setting right on the lake with impressive veiw of the snow covered mountains. Nice restaurant, reasonably priced. Excellent room, just a little small, but very quiet. On the negative side: you will have to pay for WiFi.

Room Tip: Request a room with lake view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The restaurant is very good with great tasting food and a very nice outside area to have your evening diner as the sun sets. The staff were friendly and welcoming, breakfast was good with a lot of variety for all, fruits, cereal, meats etc. The rooms were very clean and comfortable our room had a small balcony with a nice view of the lake. There is also a outdoor Lido, swimming pool just 200 meters away and great for a nice relaxing day out in the sunshine. Overall will be coming back here next year for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our second visit here - last time had been for a few days in November to attend an art exhibition, this time was on our way to Umbria for a holiday.

The staff are all friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the restaurant food is very tasty. The rooms are not huge, but big enough for a stopover and the bed is comfortable - it's all very clean and well looked-after, too. This time round we could at least see the lake (it rained all through our last visit!) and it is extremely pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianOWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Un buon hotel nuovo, pulito, moderno e accogliente.
La camera, affacciata sul lago, è delle giuste dimensioni con un letto comodissimo, unico appunto i due materassi divisi al posto del matrimoniale, il bagno spazioso e pulitissimo ha una doccia da favola!!!
Al ristorante, pulito, onesto e veloce i piatti sono ben fatti e le porzioni abbondanti, si potrebbe puntare di più su qualcosa di tipico e locale, ma nulla da rimproverare.

Nice hotel clean, modern and cozy. The room, with a small balcony facing the lake, it's just right with a comfy bed, the only thing is two matterasses and not a double Everything is clean and the bathroom has an amazing shower.
The restaurant is clean, right priced and fast. Servings are right for hungry costumers.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucamoiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

1. Excellent restaurant

Food is delicious! Everything we took was very-very tasty. And the portions was big enough.
Many locals come there for a dinner and it creates a warm friendly autmosphere. Personnel is very friendly and delicate.

I would recommend rissotto with mushrooms and blueberry.


2. The hotel is new

Everything in the room is shinnig with freshness, brightness, is new and very clean. You really get the feeling that you are among the first guests there.

Rooms are decorated simply but with good taste.


3. Excellent location

On the minor road, but anyway very quiet and peaceful. Easy reachable from Milan Malpensa.

Varese Lake is just 1 minute away. There is a beautiful park with lots of swans there (mind to take some bread for them).

Varese Lake is a great place for bicycling. The road circuits the Lake coming through parks (sometimes crossing roads though). The nature, the views - everythings was wonderful!

(Bear in mind that it takes minimum 4-5 hours to circuit the Lake.)

Room Tip: No road side
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Impatient_Hearted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed here a week ago for one night before our flight home; great location 30 minutes from MXP, nice walk around lake area, modern hotel with small terraces open to view of lake (ask for lakeview room), good bathroom and amenities. Surprisingly modern enery-saving technology in the rooms. For the room, prices are fair and we were allowed to check out a bit late to accommodate our flight plans. But, we had dinner here and it was not what we'd expected. The food, while reasonably priced, was a poor imitation of what we'd been eating in Piemonte for a week. The dining room was much too brightly lit, with no ambience. The restaurant has lovely floor to ceiling doors that open to views of the lake, but they were closed despite the mild evening so all we could see was our reflection in the glass. We felt like we were dining at McDonald's and cannot recommend the restaurant.
The breakfast buffet was OK with a decent selection; croissants, cereal, fruit, yogurt, cereal bars, and some cold meats.
There is a computer in the lobby available to guests at cost of 1 Euro/30 minutes.
This hotel is modern and a pleasant enough place to stay for convenience to MXP, but find a restaurant in Varese instead of dining at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varese
1.2 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#3 of 23 in Varese
384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#2 of 23 in Varese
442 reviews
2.7 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#9 of 23 in Varese
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#5 of 23 in Varese
426 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
184 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montelago Hotel - Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva

Address: Via Giovanni Macchi 146 | Lago Di Varese, 21100, Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range: $88 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located on the shores of Lake Varese in the absolute tranquility of one of the most beautiful areas of the city of Varese. We have 20 double rooms that can be transformed into triple or quadruple for families and 4 single rooms. Access to Wi-Fi and cable is 'free in the entire property. Our facility is ideal for customers Bussines, being close to the Milan Fair and Expo 2015 site, either for short holidays exploring the beauty of the lakes in the province of Varese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing