We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, nice hotel”
Review of Atahotel Varese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atahotel Varese
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

modern, clean large room, friendly front desk staff, very helpful with my need (internet, store my luggage, arrange taxi...) restaurant's hardware is good, breakfast was good, wish for more variety for dinner ( the menu is short, the food quality was soso)

Room Tip: room with balcony, pleasant
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Atahotel Varese
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 425 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location is great for exploring the neighbourhood (there is nothing to see in the city of Varese itself), however having a car is a must. There is a huge complimentary parking in front of the main entrance. I believe, there is also an underground garage. Upon arrival we were shown into a room overlooking some deserted courtyard with bare walls and an empty swimming pool. It appeared that all standard rooms are located on two lower floors and have similar limited view of the outside world. However, the view was unbearably depressing, so we asked for another room. Upon request, we were offered free upgrade. The room #307 had a much better view, besides being bigger. Going down to the restaurant was a big disappointment. Not only the menu was limited by itself, but the waiter announced that they ran out of some products and only one type of second course was available. Unfortunately, that was something we don’t eat. The whole matter was extremely weird due to the fact that the hotel was hardly full. The breakfast was good with some organic juices, however the staff mixed up scrambled eggs and fried eggs. Moreover, the bread finished in the middle of the breakfast and wasn’t replenished.
All in all, 240 Euro for two nights (breakfast included) was an excellent bargain. So, if you consider staying in this hotel, do it as soon as possible before it goes worse or literally falls apart. Despite the fact that the hotel was build not so long ago, there are some definite signs of serious construction defects.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Once you get to the ATAhotel, it looks nice and the staff is friendly... this is about all the good I have to say about the place... The elevator does not ring once it is at the floor so you can either jump from one to an other one (there are three) or hope the one you are in front of is the one. You step out and there is no indication for the rooms (later on you realize there is no indication for the vending machine). You reach the room with all the nice "help the environment " suggestion. Nice touch but I rather have them focusing on not having the patio stinking like cigarettes or themattress harder than a stone. Breakfast was included but choice, quality and presentation were plain bad. Vending machine working (I should say not working) with the room key and 6 euro per day for internet connection fee were the final touch.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seifer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A large contingent of rowers stayed at the hotel during the regatta on Lake Varese in early September 2013. The hotel is in a suburban neighborhood and not in the center of town. Many of the rowers enjoy walking so the approximate 1 mile (1.6km) from the center of town was not a problem. Getting to the regatta site 6km away was more problematic since there aren't many taxis in town.

The hotel is clean and modern and well run. The concierge staff was polite and extremely helpful at every turn from advising us on transportation, good restaurants, and helpful suggestions. I'd like to call out the names of those I'd dealt with - Lusitio Reyes who called me in my room late at night once he realized I'd left my bag in the lobby to Christina Valeriani who helped me arrange a driver and pick-up for a third party to the tall, good-looking woman with curly brown hair who made sure I was aware of the shortest route to the train station since I planned to walk rather than taxi there within a limited period of time.

We didn't have time to take advantage of all the amenities but look forward to another visit and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't need to stay in the heart of the downtown area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you plan on visiting Varese without a car, don't stay at this hotel. There is no pedestrian access to the town centre.

Other than that the hotel was good: helpful and kind staff, nice big an comfortable room. The pool was good, but in a poor state of repair. Breakfast was average and as the other reviews say the internet (which was not free) was virtually unusable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is modern and big. Nice furnished rooms with balconies, good air-conditioner, big TV with plenty of good programs, outer swimming-pool with jacuzzi, fantastic breakfast with plenty of fresh fruits and genuine coffee, couple of water bottles gratis in your mini-bar, friendly and helpful personal.
You may attend horse race in evenings - opposite the hotel.
It locates two but stops (A & B buses) from the center or some 20 minutes walking.
I do not recommend dinner in the hotel - better go to Enzo, Valganna 128, 5 minutes walking, the best in Varese

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeituni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Close to Varese, a beautiful town and an excellent stop-over in the Italian lakes area (halfway between Lago Maggiore and Lago di Como), this large, clean hotel provides comfortable amenities e.g. large rooms with balconies/terraces, a swimming pool complete with sun deck and ping pong tables, free "parcheggio" and lavish breakfast buffet. Dinner at the restaurant was good, however there was a bit of wait. Friendly and helpful staff helped make our stay memorable. Within walking distance from Villa Panza, a must-see in the area.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is ideal for families
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
1.3 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#2 of 23 in Varese
441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#10 of 23 in Varese
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#4 of 23 in Varese
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
#11 of 23 in Varese
60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Varese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Varese

Address: Via Francesco Albani 73 | (Zona ippodromo), 21100, Varese, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range: $103 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Varese 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently built hotel, located in the "garden city" of Varese and surrounded by open spaces, parks and gardens, is just a short drive away from the beautiful Italian and Swiss lakes. Its strategic location, opposite "Le Bettole" racecourse and 1 km from the center, its 220 rooms with terrace and its cutting edge Congress Center make Atahotel Varese ideal for businessmen looking for an original location for their work. The offer is enhanced by the Fitness Center with Technogym equipment, the heated outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and solarium, the restaurant and the bar. It also has Wi-Fi connection, a garage and a car park, playground, baby room, relax area with games and biliard. HOTEL: 220 rooms divided into 180 double, 28 Junior Suites and 12 Suites. Non-smoking rooms. Rooms available for disabled guests. Restaurant "Derby" and bar. Fitness room, heated outdoor swimming pool. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Arc de Triomphe" plenary hall for up to 900 seats that can be divided into 2 meeting rooms for up to 350 seats. "Royal Ascot" meeting room for up to 180 seats that can be divided into 2 meeting rooms for up 65seats. 6 meeting rooms from 2 to 35 seats. Expo area. Ideal environments for arranging any kind of celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atahotel Varese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing