We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent hospitality”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varese
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Relais Ca dei Santi
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelent hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our family enjoyed a 7 nights stay at the hotel, we were 2 adults and 3 kids . needless to say that the hotel owners made all of us feel very welcomed .
the joint rooms were clean and comfortable, and we also enjoyed the very good restaurant located at the hotel.
The hotel's location is perfect for trips at the lakes , 40 minutes from Maggiore and 40 minutes from Como, as well as close distance from the Swiss border.
The owners were very helpful regarding sightseeing, atractions and other tourist information.
We also enjoyed free WIFI and parking.
I cherish our memories from our family vacation in Northern Italy , and recommend the hotel with warm words.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
19
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is a very nicely restored old mill, with a certainly expansive interior design ( with some exceptions, that reminded me of the Zauberberg).
For this reason you do not get an house key which makes it difficult when you come home late or want to walk the dog in the night.
Anyhow the dogs were welcome and well treated by everyone.
The rooms are either one ore two levelled and immaculate clean (unfortunatly there was allready some fungi in our bathroom that had two showers but no tub).
The breakfast is not continental but Italian, Coffe or tea, orange juice made from some instant powder, bread, croissants, jam honey, butter.
If you want eggs, prosciutto, cheese or fresh orange juice you have to pay for separately and it is not cheap (6-8 € each).
The owner is a well known cook and again betwenn excellent and nothing to write home about but highly priced, the antipast around €18 the seconds around 20€.
The wine cellar is well equipped with italian wines starting with 28€.
The true problem we had, was we had a complete week of cold and rainy weather, and it was cold in the rooms but the heating was shut off allready but in spite of our complaints it was not turned on again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The rooms were good, nice bed, clean and with free wifi plus parking.
Especially one of the owners (the woman) and the maids were very nice.

On the other hand, I presume it was the husband, the other owner was totally horrible!!!
Very unfriendly.....as we brought our dog with us and she needs to be walked occasionally.....we wanted to bring her out for a last walk a little before twelve. Then we found the door to the elevator (which is also the door to the main building and entrance/exit) locked. The man, then very annoyed opened the door and told us we should walk our dog earlier.
I have never been addressed so rudely as a hotelguest!

Also to keep that door closed is very dangerous in case of fire as it is a door locked with a key and does not automatically unlock in case of emergency. We all found this VERY concerning....

As we stayed 2 nights we had 2 times breakfast included, to our surprise the second morning the 'rules' changed and when you wanted to order eggs, ham, cheese and orange juice we needed to pay an additional charge (which was outrageous expensive, 8 euros for eggs for example!). Totally ridiculous.....while what was available was not sufficient.

At last we didn't not understand the raving comments on the food they serve for dinner.....this was not worth the price they charge.

DEFINITELY NOT staying here ever again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nariko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Relais Ca dei Santi for 3 nights in autumn, and enjoyed it very much. Out bathroom had a waterfall shower as well as a whirlpool, and came complete with bathrobes and excellent amneties. Parking is free. The hotel is set at the side of a small industrial area (dominated by chocolate maker Lindt, who also entertain an outlet there), but you wouldn't realise insight the hotel or in your room.

The restaurant serves excellent food, with the owner couple heavily involved in service and cooking.

Only thing is: you will need to have your car with you, as it is a fair distance from the city centre and surrounding cities are also not easy to reach by public transport. We used our stay as a base for trips to Lake Como, Lake Maggiore, Switzerland, etc.

hopefully will return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for five days.It is very clean and the owners and the staff are helpful. It is about two kilometeres away from Varese and there not shops or restaurants around. It is in the nature and a place for relaxation.You need a car.I did not like breakfast because it is poor and every day the same.Also the soundproof is a problem.Generally is a place for relaxation.It has a restaurant which is rather expensive

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joytraveljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

The service of the entire hotel staff at Relais Ca dei Santi was first rate. The hotel is small so you get a bed & breakfast atmosphere. The food is world class and alone is worth the stay. I would stay at the Relais Ca dei Santi again and recommend it to all my colleagues, friends, and family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed for three nights during November. Would not have changed a thing (except the weather). The hotel is small and warm with beautiful works of art throughout. Rooms are very well appointed... no one room is the same. One regret is that we did not have the opportunity to enjoy the courtyard and hope to be back in better weather to take advantage of the outdoors. Dining is a treat -- wether breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Chef and Sommelier make dining a memorable event . A stay we will not forget.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cgilmore8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varese
1.2 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#8 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#6 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#4 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Porro Pirelli
Villa Porro Pirelli
#1 of 1 in Induno Olona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#3 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Ca dei Santi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Ca dei Santi

Property: Relais Ca dei Santi
Address: Via Ai Molini Trotti 7, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Ca dei Santi 4*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing