We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are showing false pictures for this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace Hotel Varazze
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Varazze
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked the Garden Palace Hotel which these pictures relate too.
We booked with hotels.com who on booking took the complete
monies for the 2 nights of £176 90. We thought it was strange as we had
booked other hotels with them and they had only taken our credit card details as confirmation.When we arrived we were very rudely put into
the Palace Hotel, their sister hotel across the road. My partner is disabled and they put us on the 3rd floor! The hotel was shabby ,staff were very rude and aggresive and would not accept that we had not booked this hotel. Next day 140 cyclists of the GIRO ITALIA team arrived. We could not get our car out of the carpark, we could not get down to the ground floor to eat, the staff couldn't care less. Hotels.co. are misselling a hotel to customers, we have complained and they are taking the hotel managers word that we are LIARS! even though other people have put bad comments on your site and have complained to hotels.com DO NOT STAY AT EITHER HOTEL AND BEWARE OF HOTELS.COM when booking your hotels .Other sites are much more reliable and trustworthy.







We booked with hotels. com who on booking took the complete

Room Tip: There is nothing good about these hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lishy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 484 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

Unless you are desperate for a room, or a complete masochist, avoid this hotel. It is dirty. The communal areas, the bar area and the rooms are all in very poor repair and are filthy. I watched a waiter clean a baby's highchair table with a used serviette then put it against the wall for the next use. Disgusting.
The quality of the breakfast buffet was dire, and your morning coffee comes from a machine.
Service at the bar was virtually non existant. The staff are generally surly and unpleasant, with the exception of the receptionist Cristina who tried to be helpful.
Parking is impossible, even if you pay extra for a garage, as you are always either blocking someone in or being blocked in yourself. Guests get quite heated while waiting to be able to get their cars out and it can be very stressful.
This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I would not stay there again under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGC01220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I paid about 120$ for two nights, and for that price it is good value. But the service is terrible and the rooms have paper-thin walls. Fairly clean, at least in the visible places. Worn down, could use a renovation.

Ok if you are looking for a cheap place to sleep.

Avoid the restaurant! Lousy food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiklasSweden79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We got this place for less than a hundred bucks Canadian and two adults and two children slept reasonable well. However, there was lots to find fault in: extra charge for using the A/C (I figured out how to use it without paying), extra charge for using the TV, extra charge for WiFi, a silly folding plastic wall in the shower (which kept collapsing into the tub while showering - fun) and the fact that it tended to cater to loud, budget bus tours from eastern Europe. But it was just of the coastal road and easy to get to. If your stay is longer than a very quick overnight, you'll likely regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a lot! Correction, not the worst hotel, the worst room in any hotel. Four of us had been touring France from Camargue to Alps, through Provence, then back down into Varazze for 3 nights, and this hotel was just awful. We immediately wanted to check out. Very expensive at 120 Euros per night per room, especially out of season. The total cost for 3 nights, including dinner was 550 euros per couple, totally unacceptable. Our room was small. We originally booked into the Garden Palace but for some reason they put us in the main hotel. We had additional 2 bunk beds in our room, not asked for, which made it too small to move around in. The bathroom was only just usable except that the water wasn't hot enough to shower or wash my hair. The breakfast filled a hole, and the dinner was adequate, but nothing special. The hotel was very noisy, all through the night, with the TV blaring, people coming and going, but the beds were comfortable. When we first entered the room, the heater was hanging off the wall, but this was fixed the next day. Towels were more like tea towels, which I think is quite common in Italy, but as we couldn't shower, it didn't matter! We were told when we checked out that it was the week end of the Genoa Boat Show which is why the hotel was so full. Up until this point in our holiday, we had stayed at some wonderful hotels and even a Chateux in France and didn't pay any more than 70 euros per night and in the case of the Chateaux in Provence, only 65 euros per night with dinner at 23 euros each including a bottle of wine between 2.
We didn't like the town of Varazze very much either, but the Marina was nice. The beach was very well kept but we weren't there for beaches! We were going to take the train to Genoa for one of our days out (leaving the hotel car park would have lost us our parking space!) but my husband had a very bad tummy upset. Thank goodness we didn't go. Very disappointing indeed and we will never return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucialuvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

I booked this hotel due to it's location along my route. I was travelling by car. The hotel does have parking but the lot was full (including two trucks!). I managed to park on the street. The staff at the desk were very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was a disappointment. The room I had was on the hillside and very small with a view of a wall and an orange tree. A single booking here will get you a single bed. The furniture was utilitarian and functional but the shower was a tiny cell which was nearly impossible to move around in. Worst of all was the sound which echoed through the halls. The sound of any tiny movement in the halls was magnified several fold by the acoustics and lack of soundproofing. It was not a restful environment. The continental style breakfast included in the room rate was really nothing special. The coffee was dispensed from a Nescafe machine. I'm glad I only stayed there one night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

This is a review of the second hotel that is part of the Palace Hotel Complex.

Varazze is a wonderful place. The Garden Palace is a nice hotel. Wonderfull view from the front of the hotel. It's very near the beach and the main street (where all the shops and restuarants are)

However, there were a few things that took away from the stay. The rooms did not have air conditioning. This didn't bother me, but the hotel staff were more than happy to give an air fan to anyone who asked for one.

Also, the hotel were not very interested in selling us drink from the hotel bar. I don't think the regular clientele were big drinkers like us, who enjoyed a drink or two when we arrived back at the hotel after a night out. So, I don't think they were very used to us!

Overall, it was grand and it did the job.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varazze hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Roi
Hotel Le Roi
#11 of 46 in Varazze
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#4 of 46 in Varazze
589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#9 of 46 in Varazze
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Delibera
Hotel Villa Delibera
#12 of 46 in Varazze
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Nazario
Hotel San Nazario
#17 of 46 in Varazze
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spot
Hotel Spot
#13 of 46 in Varazze
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Varazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Varazze

Address: Via Giovanni Gaggino 37, 17019, Varazze, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Varazze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Varazze
Price Range: $84 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Hotel Varazze 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palace Varazze: It is situated at the bottom of the hill in a peaceful zone at only 200 mt from the sea and the centre. 42 luminous rooms with TV, private facilities, direct phone and most of them with sea-view balcony. Free car parking (not assured). Possibility of bus parking. Bicycles garage. Dehor and garden, solarium terrace, living room, TV room, bar, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace Hotel Varazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varazze Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing