We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A negative experience”
Review of Berghotel Zirm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berghotel Zirm
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Valdaora
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A negative experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at Berghotel Zirm for 3 nights in March 2013: I have to say that the overall quality of the service offered is not aligned to the 4 stars S rating of the Hotel.
Just consider that:
a) Our "afternoon sunlight" Suite,even if at 2nd floor, was simply staring at a high rock wall, with no view at all. This had not been clarified when we booked the room
b) The room was incredibly warm at any time, with no chance to decrease the heating level
c) The Minibar included only 4 small bottles of water (complimentary, I have to say)
d) Some of the personnel including the housekeepers were not speaking Italian at all (even if the hotel is close to the Austrian border, Valdaora is still in Italy)
e) At the restaurant, the wine list was ridicolously priced, with no wine below € 32 (except poor "house wine" at 23 €). Even a pitcher with tap water was priced at € 2!
f) The Turkish bath has been out of order throughout all our stay
g) We have paid 18 € a day for our dog, even if in the booking phase we had been promised that we would have got a discout (we are talking of a 3 kg Yorkshire Terrier).
h) No Free Wi-fi connection: 1 € / hour
i) Good food, not excellent at all, with small portions and German opening hours (the restaurant closes at 21.00)
l) The swimming pool and the relax area has a wonderful view on the parking lot and the outside pool is too small

As a conclusion, we'll never go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jameslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zirm, Leiter Front Office at Berghotel Zirm, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Egregio sig. Giacomo,
thank you for your rating on tripadvisor. We are very sorry that you didn´t like your room, but offered also another room with "magnificant valely view" in the offer and you decided for Mountain suite "with balcony on the back of the house with afternoon sun" because this one was more spacious and comfortably for you and your family. We already wrote in the offer you booked the price of Euro 18,00 at night, it doen´t dipent on the weigh of the dogs and the rooms have to be cleaned extremely for the next guests by our room fairs. In our rooms the temperature can be adjusted manually in the room. The rooms have got a standard temperature that can´t fall below but a request at the reception would have been enough and so the temperature had been recruited. Our minibar offers bottles of water for free to our guests, there is present also a form that says that if you wish fo fill the minibar with extras it´s enough to contact the houskeeping or reception. The kitchen is the highlight of our hotel, our guest praise it every time and for the majority of the guests it is more than okay when they can come for dinner betwenn 19.00 and 21.00 p.m. We are really sorry that one of ou 6 saunas didn´t work for 3 days when you were here, but unfortunately the technician came only when you checked out. Unfortunately we haven´t got a high speed internet line in town, but that will change in summer and then we are happy to may offer our guests also the service of free wifi. Regarding the restaurant prices we just wanna note that they are always compared with the prices of the other hotels in town and that they are really adequate. We have been also generous and took of a part of the room price when your wife didn´t feel good and could not come for dinner, also when everything was already prepared. We are sorry that you didn´t like these things at your holiday. We wish you all the best and who knows - maybe we have the possibility to may welcome you another time, satysfiing all your wishes! Yours Family Schraffl and the whole staff of Berghotel Zirm****s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    67
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
126
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My friend and I had lovely relaxing break in the hotel. The spa and wellness areas were clean and well kept with sauna, steam room and Turkish bath. I wasn’t comfortable with the European “naked” thing. I liked the small heated indoor and outdoor pools and Jacuzzi.

The multi-lingual staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable with large shower only bathrooms. I found the room too hot during the night, but that was my only complaint. The food was good and plentiful.

We arrived by public transport and the hotel provided free transfers.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: The roomd facing the valley had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maulden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just returned from week at the Berghotel Zirm in Valdaora. Lovely big room, we had a junior suite. Unfortunately our suite was at the back of the hotel which meant that instead of the promised stunning mountain views we found ourselves staring at a very high rock wall which was only a couple of metres from our window!! This meant that not only did we not have the view we had chosen this hotel for, but also that the room was so dark that we had to have the lights on, even during the day! Very disappointing! Another problem we had was the fact that there seemed to be a generator or something similarly noisy near our room which sprung into action at about 10 pm and 7.30 am each morning!

Very friendly staff and excellent service. Nice wellness area and indoor pool. The outdoor pool, however, is very small, but has lovely mountain views.
Very nice food, both at breakfast and dinner. Valdaora/ Olang is a lovely area with fantastic walking opportunities. But staying at this hotel you definitely need a car, as it is at the top of a very steep mountain road and too far to walk into the village.

Would certainly recommend the hotel, as long as you make sure that you get a room at the front, NOT at the back of the hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you're at the front! Better views and quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muckelmolch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great friendly service, wow food, great hikes to chose from from easy to hard, great views, fantastic rooms, excellent breakfast selection, stayed for 4 nights only .. Next time a week to 10 days or in winter

Room Tip: We were there in summer but must be great in winter as it is right on the kronplatz ski area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WordTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent our 2011 winter holidays at Berghotel Zirm.

The location of the hotel is great: It's a ski IN/OUT hotel. The staff was really helpful and friendly, except the main barman who was not an "incredible service experience" for a 4*s.

Our room had a great and clear view on the valley and was wide and nicely decorated.

The spa area and the outdoor swimming pool were great too. There is a naked policy in the spa area. Nice view from the outdoor swimming pool.

The restaurant is maybe the average point. Despite some good presentations and sometimes very nice dishes, we got several time over salted dishes. The staff in the restaurant is really friendly.

For the smokers: there is a very cosy smoking room next to the bar and the reception. You can also find a very nice selection at the Bären hotel (pay in cash only). They have a very nice smoking lounge too (bigger than Berghotel Zirm but maybe not as cosy...).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalieluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdaora hotels
1.9 mi away
Mirabell Dolomiten Wellness Residenz
2.0 mi away
Hotel Post Tolderhof
Hotel Post Tolderhof
#9 of 23 in Valdaora
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baerenhotel
Baerenhotel
#4 of 23 in Valdaora
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kristall
Hotel Kristall
#11 of 23 in Valdaora
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpin Panorama Hotel Hubertus
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kronplatz
Hotel Kronplatz
#5 of 23 in Valdaora
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Zirm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Zirm

Property: Berghotel Zirm
Address: Via Egger 16 | 39030 Olang, 39030, Valdaora, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Valdaora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Valdaora
#5 Luxury Hotel in Valdaora
#6 Romantic Hotel in Valdaora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berghotel Zirm 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hikes, ski runs, relaxation, pleasure: at the Berghotel Zirm you will spend unforgettable holidays together with your friends or your family and enjoy many special advantages. Due to its favourable location 1,400 metres above sea level, in the middle of the skiing and hiking area Plan de Corones/Kronplatz, it is an ideal starting point for varied holiday activities. In the winter, you can start to ski right next to our panoramic terrace with heated outdoor pool, surrounded by the impressive Dolomites and the Alps. In the summer, countless hikes and mountain bike tours through the South Tyrolean nature begin in front of the Berghotel Zirm. Moreover, seven wonderful valleys, popular destinations and countless mountain tops of the Dolomites are waiting for you within a radius of 30 kilometres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berghotel Zirm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Zirm Valdaora
Berghotel Zirm Hotel Valdaora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing