We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabula Calabria”
Review of Hotel Villa Antica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Antica
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Tropea
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were there in early spring so we got their best room as there are not many guests. It is big with the biggest bath tub I have ever seen in a hotel room.

Inside the room, Greek goddess murals compete with the bust of Roman warrior. There's a projector in the room so for sports enthusiasts, you will certainly enjoy your games. A big sitting room is am sure in the summer a nice place to have a glass of wine or a read as plants are everywhere. It has its own charm. It's a happy expression of Calabrian indifference to the European idea of colours.

Hot cooked breakfast was a pleasant surprise enhanced by a superb service.

The location is very convenient close to the station, available parking in the square and an easy walk to the Center.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Sept. Am I in heaven????
This hotel is an easy walk from the train station, come out the front of the station, turn left and walk straight down a little hill, the hotel is on the right, about 10 minutes.

What a lovely surprise, what character......a darling stucco building covered in vines and foliage and bordered with all kinds of plants and palms. Tuscan yellow reminded me of Tuscany, it has that feel to it. After being shown 2 rooms, we picked the one with the large bathroom including a hot tub with jets and a shower in a separate room. An iron 4 poster bed,dresser, small refrigerator, wardrobe, flat screen TV (although we had a hard time working it.....front staff immediately came to show us) completed the bedroom. There was a lovely mural on the wall, that really completed the Tuscan feel. We also had an outdoor sitting area with wicker couches and chairs covered in vines. it was also a great place for my clotheslines. The air conditioning was the best yet!!!!

After registering, we were ushered to a patio area and served ice cream coffee and biscotti, as our room was not quite ready. The personal touches made the stresses of a long traveling day melt away. We were then given a tour of the hotel. There was a lounge area with a computer desk and a library with many books to choose from. The hotel is just steps from beautiful town, where all the shops and restaurants are located. Be sure to try Ristorante Gladiatore off the beaten path, not in the touristy area. It's in a residential area and was hightly recommended by the hotel. Absolutely outstanding.
The hotel staff is just wonderful, they couldn't do enough for us. Even though they didn't understand English, we managed.

Breakfast was on the roof top terrace from 7-12, so you never feel the need to get up early and rush to make breakfast. Breakfast is served TO you, and what a breakfast it was!!!! Yogurt, yougurt drinks, several different kinds of italian breads, bruschetta, marmalades, roasted vegetables, melon, cereal, juices, coffee and eggs to order. Simply incredible. The woman who waits on you also cleans the room when breakfast is over.......do consider a generous tip, she works so hard and is always pleasant.
I highly recommend this lovely hotel in this beautiful town. It is a wonderful experience, a charming hotel that screams of character.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravioli39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great place to stay. The villa is very romantic. The grounds are very inviting with many plants and status. There are small tables in designated areas if you are in the mood to have a glass of wine or smoke. Very friendly staff. Good location -- right by shops and excellent retaurants and close to the beach. However, the staff does not speak English - so bring your dictionary.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor seem to be darker -- the beds are very soft (no frames).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yodabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Yes, the room (12) was small but it was charming and we didn't lack in anything but space for our 2 day stay. Why stay in your room when you are so close to the Centro storico of Tropea anyway? To us, it seemed like a short walk to the stores and many charming cafes, bars, and restaurants. It didn't take us more than 15 minutes to walk to the beach and we lucked out on ideal weather, lots of space as it was low season.
The hotel has lovely gardens and numerous interesting spaces to explore. Small tables are situated throughout the grounds -- we enjoyed some lunch (take out) there one day.
Parking is available but on the street and availability varies.
Super hospitable service and creative meal served with efficiency and caring at breakfast. As the host said in Italian when I reacted to the many foods being offered. ' qui si mangia' (we eat here -- loses in translation! )
Staff was helpful in providing useful information and answering our questions. However, we tried out their local restaurant suggestion per the poster in the lobby and would not return. We were the only guests the evening we dined there and felt bad they were doing so poorly.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Villa Antica is four star. The room was lovely and it was so quiet at night. Air conditioning, Sky TV, Shower and bath. Good location at the top of the old town, so no car required. The staff were very helpful, took us to the marina and had a hire scooter delivered to us, arranged for airport transfer but you can easily get the train if its not too late at night. Breakfast was on the veranda on the roof and was vast and varied but they would do anything you requested. The rooms were spread out around the main part of the hotel with tables and chairs in the little courtyards where you could sit and drink, read and relax in the shade, very cool. Tropea is a beautiful old town with lovely narrow streets and around every corner was a small individual restaurant. Every meal was very good and the ice cream delicious. The local wine for 3 euros was surprisingly quaffable. The beaches are clean and the sea turquoise. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Rooms are picturesque and individual but on the small side. You're right in the centre of Tropea, but the site is a decent size and even when (as we were) you're by the main street, no noise comes through. If, bizarrely, you don't want to go out in the the nicest town in Calabria you can stay in and watch bad Italian TV through a projector on to a large mounted screen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martini80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay at the Villa Antica so much so, that we actually hated to move on. It became our home away from home. Every rave we could possibly have mentioned here has been well described in the many glowing reviews already written. Finally, the icing on this delicious experience was the wonderful and heartfelt hospitality shown us by Valentina and Giancarlo. and their staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidreader5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tropea hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Porta Del Mare
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#5 of 20 in Tropea
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropis Hotel Tropea
Tropis Hotel Tropea
#4 of 20 in Tropea
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
5.2 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Antica

Address: Via Pietro Ruffo di Calabria, 37, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tropea
Price Range: $71 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Antica 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient baronial villa, it was built in 1906 and it is located in the historical centre, few metres walking from the main square of Tropea.Recently rebuilt, the villa looks how it was in the past, becoming one of the smartest hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Antica Hotel Tropea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing