We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had an amazin time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tropea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a great hoilday and such a good time.The hotel from the airport was about 1 and a half hours away from eachother which was very tiring.The staff were very helpful and friendly but were not very good with their english because they all spoke italian and not many spoke english.

The food was splended!!We have no fault with the food as it was so nice.They served lots of diffrent variates of food like pizza,past,salads,meats.They have a resteraunt right on the beach so its very useful for lunch and they served pizza that was made in front of you.

The rooms were cleaned every day and staff provided fresh towels everyday.The staff are very proffesional and take there job very seriously-Espacially the lifguards.The hotel itself was cleaned every morning and there is nothing i could fault about the cleanliness of the hotel.

Tropea town was about a 5-10min walk.The town was lovely with lots of restraunts, bars and (food)shops.It is very easy to find with lots of short cuts that you can go down.

The animation team wasnt very good.They had a mini club but only for the little children.The animation team in the day didnt do many games or activities.At night the entertainment was very poor.They changed the animation team every couple of weeks which is a shame for the entertainers because some of them are very good.The hotel would be a 5 star if only the entertainment was better.

The beach was amazin and not long to get to because the hotel is right on the beach.There was a private beach which was lovely.The weather is very hot but not uncomfortable hot, enjoyable hot.

The people who go there are mostly all german a few italian and spanish but very very little english:Lso it was hard to comunicate with the german.Overall the hotel was magnificant and we all had a delightful stay.We all would definetly go back!!! I would definetly recommend this to a friend.If you choose this hotel i would gurantee you would have a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 423 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

Got back on Saturday 6th August 2011 and had a good time. We chose it because it was close to a beach and walking distance to a local town. Here's my thoughts on my two weeks with family.

Hotel
Very nice with large dining room, lounge, clean modern toilets and poolside bar with plenty of seats for the evening. Does need more sunbeds unless you get up early! Good staff (with all speaking English who I came across). Yes lots of German guests the first week (90%) and many more Italians, French etc the second week. So what though? - we weren't really there to have conversations with people and mix (not because we're rude but there was 6 of us and kept ourselves to ourselves). I wouldn't want to go somewhere full of Brits either but I suppose more Italian guests would be expected.

Rooms
We had a family sea view that had a front door leading to two separate rooms. Both spacious and well thought out. The kids room had no lock on the bathroom door and a very small, safe balcony - nice. Ours had a bigger balcony with great view across the beach/sea. Each room had a fridge and a safe (2 or 3 Euros per day). Bed was firm which suited me. Staff were great at cleaning the rooms and very efficient. If you can get a Deluxe sea view - big terrace with your own hut tub, loungers - go for it.

Swimming Pool
Bit small compared to many hotels found in Spain, Tenerife etc but ok for me. I've been to Sorrento and pool was smaller there. I suppose for the amount of guests it could do with being a touch bigger. Cleaned everyday with lifeguard at most times. Be aware that you can't leave towels on a sunbed and go to breakfast - the lifeguard whips them off as you can't 'reserve' them. No one told us but you soon realise. Best way is one of you to stay with the beds whilst others go to breakfast as the sunbeds do run out. Wasn't busy by the pool until 8.30am onwards so have breakfast early if you want to go together and still secure beds. If you've seen older aerial pics then the swimming pool has been updated - see my pic.

Beach
Short life ride down to the beach with shingle type sand - fine shingle so ok but not soft, fine sand. The beach by the sea has a few stones along the shore but once past this (about a metre) you'll be swimming in clear, warm water. However there were several days the water was a bit choppy and wasn't clear. The water dips into the sea quite steep so think again if you have young children you want running in and out! Also has lifeguard and amazing pizza restaurant including in the inclusive price - see my food section.

Internet
They have 2 computer terminals that you can use for free plus free wifi that reaches the poolside - great for iphones, ipads etc.

TV
In the rooms they have flat screen tv's with about 12 channels. Only English channels were CNN and BBC World - both news and bit boring but to be honest I don’t go on holiday to watch TV. All other channels were German, French, Italian.

Food & Restaurants
Breakfast - great buffet with cereals, pastries, donuts, jams etc. There were fresh bread, rolls, toasting machine along with a hot buffet of scrambled eggs, bacon (not the same as uk but nice), fried eggs, pancakes and the traditional cold buffet of salami, cheeses etc.
Lunch had a great selection of salads with more than you could ever want. All the food seemed local, simple veg found across Italy. GO TO the PIZZA place by the beach - salad/buffet bar but there is a traditional wood burning clay oven with pizzas made to order. Only takes 5 mins with a choice of about 6 pizzas - excellent.
Dinner - we were there for 2 weeks and the first week was a bit hectic. During the first week the mostly German guests did want to get into the restaurant bang on 7pm. Whilst the second week dinner only got busier about 8pm as there were more guests from Italy, France etc where they tend to eat later. At first glance the food goes but the staff do come out and replenish. It's all buffet style but I found it good - not 5 star/top London restaurants, but good fresh local food. The hot counter had baked fish, a roast meat dish plus other hot stuff. The pasta counter was excellent usually serving three or four types of pasta. They also have a BBQ outside cooking meat (veal quite a lot, chicken) plus fish (local fish, squid, prawns). Lunch and dinner does offer an amazing choice of salads/cold meats, fish. Few examples would be roasted red onions, peppers, tomatoes cooked with garlic and breadcrumbs, slices of marinated octopus, courgettes, rolled ham with cheeses. Ice cream not included by the bar but is if served at dinner (3 or 4 times). Not relaxed waiter service meals found in many hotels but good food nonetheless.

Drinks
All inclusive did give you a decent choice. The draft beers were Nastro Azzura (Italian), Helles and Weisbeer (both German). Red and White wines were both good. Spirits were included but they weren't the strongest or well known brands although I did like the Limoncello. Bar staff were good and all could speak English but I got the impression they appreciated you trying Italian - fair enough.

Location
You can walk 5 mins and find a supermarket, chemist and café/ice cream bar - but this isn't the main town. Opposite hotel is a pizza restaurant, tobacco shop. The town is about 15/20mins walk to the heart of the centre (i timed it!). Not all paved but more or less everybody walks in road and drivers expect it! A cab cost 10 Euros into town (would be a fiver in UK). Drinks in town are about 2-3 Euros for a small beer, 4-5 for a large so quite expensive like much of Italy. If you're inclusive not a worry. Found a good couple of restaurants (De Cece and La Lamia) in town. Also La Pergola very good just 5-10mins walk from hotel. Town is a great place full of side streets and alleyways with good views across the local church and sea. Lots of cafes, bars, restaurants with locals coming out late, 9-10pm onwards, similar to Spain but quite a contrast to the hotel guests!

Kids Club
Looked good with plenty of activities but our two never wanted go. They did all sorts and had English speakers. A swimming pool and sunshine is enough for ours!

Entertainment
Wasn't really expecting any to be honest but fair play to the staff. There were things each night ranging from comedy show in the outdoor theatre (no language barriers for the acts) to a German pub quiz! They did put on a good show by the swimming pool one night. Some entertainers better than others but if you want that sort of thing then maybe stick to cruises or Butlins. Someone has mentioned pool activities - I only saw aqua gym twice and water polo once each day - only takes 20 mins each so an hour out from each day is not too bad and you can still use the pool. The entertainment staff 3 times a day gave it large to the Euro hit (or miss) of Choco Latte. Not sure why as not many joined in and thought that sort of thing best left to the Brits in Majorca or 18-30s resorts. Not too annoying though and I suppose a bit of theme song for them.

Price
Look at the inclusive price from the operator then work the cost out by breaking it down. If you pay between £1500-£2500 per person for two weeks during August then say…... £250 for the flight, £80 per person per room per night, £10 breakfast, say lunch £15 per day, evening meals £25 per day (cheap for hotels and for the quality) then all that works out at £2070. THEN the drinks. Italy is expensive like much of Europe and hotels even more so but if you look at 3Euros a beer you have maybe 3 at lunchtime, 7 in the evening (halves remember) then £30 per day is over £400s worth of drink, not fogetting any teas, coffees, hot chocolates, sprites, lemonades, bottles of water we had. I would say it might seem pricey but does work out and to be honest we would have a total bill much higher if drinks weren't included.

Who should/shouldn't go
Good for families with young children, family groups, older couples who might want to take in some local culture. Wouldn't recommend for young couples, same sex groups, party animals.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

we have just returned from the nettuno hotel...we had an amazing time,would highly reccomend! rooms were kept clean with fresh towels every day.Food to die for,variety every day to suite every palate.Staff were very helpful and friendly especially vito and giuseppe (28yrs) that always had a smile behind the bar! The only thing that let this hotel down was the evening entertainment...ther is a constant change around with the animation team and its not organized at all well....but we did not let that spoil our holiday,we visited tropea town 5min walk away from hotel which was very beautiful.All in all we had a fab time and would highly reccomend for families,the beach was lovely and life guard does an excellent job..as does francesco with keeping pool spanking clean!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petrucce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We booked a packaged tour to Rocca Nettuno (careful, not to be mixed up with Rocca Nettuno Garden, which is about an hour north of this hotel but belongs to the same chain!), which is an all-inclusive hotel resort. We travelled with two kids and booked a family room, which was spacious enough (one bigger bedroom, one quite small one, each with two beds in it, and two bathrooms as well as a big terrace off the bigger bedroom), but no separate seating area. First of all, it helps to be German-speaking, as this place has about 80-90% German tourists. Second, do not count on the beach as a swimming place. It is stony, and unfortunately the water quality is not of swimming quality (you see the toilet paper floating around in it - that stopped us after day 1). Which leaves the pretty but small pool, certainly too small for all those guests who try to secure a place every morning on one of the lounge chairs. And that is the main issue: the infrastructure of the hotel is just not build for the amount of guests. The pool is too small, there are not enough lounge chairs, the food runs out within the first hour, the service is stressed...
Thirdly, there is an amateurish animation team, which is rather embarrasing in their efforts than of true entertainment quality. But it results in daily activities such as water polo or aqua gym which take pretty much the pool out of commission for a few hours every day.

Well, but the package deal we got was very reasonably priced, so you get what you pay for! Would I go back there - not a chance! Although the view from the restaurant out onto the Mediterrean Sea was lovely...

Room Tip: The family room with two separate bedrooms is worth the money if you travel with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We booked this early in 2011 and did refer to the Trip Adviser score. However we have learned our lesson, as a little closer scrutiny would have shown that of the current 89 reviews, only 6 are in English. The vast majority are German.

Like another reviewer I am all for multi-cultural experiences, but I brought my family to Italy to experience Italy, and all we are getting the guttural Teutonic accent constantly. I would say that 90+% of the guests are German, not making for a multi-cultural experience. I am actually very annoyed with my tour operator (Citalia) for not making this clear on booking.

The pluses - it is a nice hotel, with nice food and a nice pool. It has a nice beach and a nice ambience, but I can't help feeling that for the huge price we paid for a week for 2 adults and 2 children, that we should be getting better than 'nice'.

The transfer is an hour from the airport, so factor this in. The hotel rooms are clean, but very basic. Aircon and limited storage and a small balcony. The buffets are plentiful and of good variety, although with a truly enormous salad bar, it is hugely disappointing that there are only 2 mains each night.

There are two a la carte restaurants that you can upgrade to. La Terrazza costs €15 per person supplement. As we had premium all inclusive this was waived. My warning is to think carefully about this, as although it is nice to be served your food rather than queuing (a bit like being back at school, or Oliver Twist!) there is a very limited choice of 2 starters and 2 mains. Not what I expected when I was sold the 'a la carte' on booking the holiday.

The bars are well run and plenty of choice off the inclusive drinks list.

The pool is fine, a little small, and I was hoping for a jacuzzi from one of the small raised pools. Nein. Warning: the hotel caters for a continental European crowd and so plays loud music at the pol all day, and there are games etc.....

Summary: a nice hotel, but really not worth the money. Come if you get yourself a bargain, but don't forget the German phrasebook!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pazaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Rocca Netuno for seven nights earlier this month (June 2011) and were very pleased with it. We were there on a Titan Hitours holiday and, never having experienced an 'all inclusive' hotel before, were slightly aprehensive as to what we were in for; we put our faith in Titan's reputation and were not let down. All the comments about the British being in the minority proved to be true, the vast majority of the other guests were German, but so what! 'Travel broadens the mind.' The hotel staff were without exception, friendly, caring and helpful. Virtually al of them spoke English, some better than others, but no problems that couldn't be overcome. We had two very minor problems with our room, (the safe locked us out and the toilet seat came adrift!) both were put right within minutes of reporting them. All areas of the hotel are spotless and our room was cleaned and tidied every day. The food is wonderful, plentiful (as is the wine) and fresh. The dining room staff were very attentive (and some wonderful characters among them) being willing to help despite the buffet style dining.
An attractive hotel in beautiful well planted grounds, with an excellent view along the coast to the nearby town centre which is approx seven minutes walk away. Unfortunately at the moment, the sanctuary on the famous Tropea island is being renovated and so there is no access to it at present. There is an outdoor theatre within the grounds of the hotel but at present all entertainment there is in German, though to be honest, even if it had been in English we wouldn't have wanted it - personal choice. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and though Calabria is perhaps not our favourite part of Italy, would happily stay at the Rocca Nettuno again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pip48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for week starting on 7th May 2011. Got to say that the hotel, food, staff, rooms and ameneties are really spot on. The beach area, bar and restaurant are also great. Due to being early season many of the bars etc in Tropea itself were not open so a little limited here although if you are in to cobbled streets and old architecture then this is the place for you. The one thing though that I did not like was the fact that during our week here the hotel catered for some 500 guests and only 8 were British and the vast majority of the remaining 492 were German. Now I am all for multi nationality occupancy in a hotel and indeed embrace it as it is so interesting to talk and mix with people from other countries but here the friendly faces were very few and far between, I would go to say as much that the friendly ones turned out to be Swedish, Austrian or Italian. The German guests were mostly in large groups with manners that we Brits are not quite used to. I personally believe that our tour operator should have warned us about this to give an opportunity for us to reflect whether we wanted to spend our week with limited people who we could mingle with. This apart we did have a nice week and the hotel is really nice but given the chance I would have gone to a hotel with a wider split of nationalities as this did effect our holiday especially in the bar at evening times. Staff well worthy of a mention are Mary (Animation team) Ercole & Vito (Bar Staff). I have given the hotle full marks but becuase of the hotel and staff itself, it was our tour operator that let us down!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice. Upgrade on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KeithBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropis Hotel Tropea
Tropis Hotel Tropea
#4 of 20 in Tropea
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Porta Del Mare
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cannamele Resort
Hotel Cannamele Resort
#8 of 14 in Parghelia
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#5 of 20 in Tropea
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea

Address: Via Annunziata 5, 89861 Tropea, Italy (Formerly Rocca Nettuno Tropea)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tropea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tropea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tropea
#4 Family Hotel in Tropea
Price Range: $157 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocca Nettuno Tropea
Rocca Nettuno Hotel Tropea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing