We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - super suite rooms, great location, friendly & helpful owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza il Barone
Ranked #2 of 77 Tropea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our studio room was a good size, clean and modern with all amenities and a very reasonably priced minibar. Even the internet worked well! Breakfast on the terrasse provided super views over to Stromboli.

Roberto was also super helpful throughout our stay - this made our stay really special!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 377 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited in end of December 2012/January 2013. As other reviewers have mentioned - staff friendly and helpful in all respects. Breakfast great. Room large and comfortable and clean with sofa, dining table and chairs, computer, wifi, two TVs (one in sitting end, one in bedroom end) satellite TV. Couldn't fault it, would stay there again if visit Tropea again. Location excellent - right in the center

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Residenza il Barone for a week in July and we couldn't recommend it more.

No one speaks much English in Tropea but the staff were very helpful and would always greet us with a smile.

The room was a brilliant size and included a dining table, computer with free internet access, sofa, large bed and a very good en suite. We went in July and it was roasting, the room could be a bit stuff at times, but it was bearable.

The breakfast in the mornings was lovely and the view from the terrace was beautiful.

Tropea is an excellent place to go if you are looking for a quiet holiday by the sea. The beaches are very clean, sandy and the sea is great too. Very deep though so be warned! Grab a lounger and relax.

The town is quite small and very busy but there are plenty of places to eat and drink in and there are loads of places tucked away in the back streets, make sure you explore everywhere! Food is cheap for Italy and really tasty, try the fresh seafood, it's delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingLiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Six nights at the Residenza il Barone with my wife Paola only left us wanting MORE! Your hotel is so stunningly beautiful and wonderfully charming. Everything and everyone was perfect. Rossella,Thanks for making our stay so memorable ... we can not wait to come back. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spacious Suites and Junior Suites perfectly situated in the middel of the old town in Tropea. Rooms with flatscreen cable tv (only Italian channels), minibar, very nice bathrooms, Wi Fi and even a laptop (OK, the internett connection was extremely slow at best). The Junior suites was in the attic, so it was only roof windows (light, but no wiew), but as we could use the roof terrace at all times (bring your own snack or drink) it really didn't matter. Very friendly and helpful owner & staff, no problems even if they don't speak many words of english.On the roof terrace they served the best breakfast we have ever had in Italy, eggs as you like them, ham, cheese, cereals, coffee any style, lots of fresh fruit and tomatoes from their own garden and more..
As driving in the historical center is restricted, if you have a car, you'll have to park a couple of hundred yards away. We were allways able to find free parking though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndisMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a little trouble finding Residenza il Barone, of course once you realize where it is you also see all the signs pointing to it! (Coming down from the train station you get to a piazza and on your right is road "Via Roma" theres a small right turn after this, before Via Pietro Vianeo) After calling for help, Roberto came out looking for us which we thought was very helpful and unexpected! We stayed in the suite and the room was huge and comfortable. Roberto did his best to speak english and I tried to use my very little knowledge of italian but he was kind about it.
Breakfast on the roof was great - theres a nice view where you could see the hills behind you and the sea. The breakfast fare was standard - fruits, yogurts, cheese, omlette, pastries but it was more than enough to fill you up. The laptop and wifi were really helpful (the wifi only works on the laptop though, and doesnt connect to your phones).
I would warn anyone who is disabled or small children this might not be the best hotel as its set in an old building and theres lots of stairs and no parking!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank severalshades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Tropea was a one night stop for us on our way to Sicily but we could see the charm of spending a couple days here. Our 2 room suite on the second floor after a long flight of stairs was huge. The bed was a king and not two singles pushed together, which was appreciated. Each room had a flat screen TV and there was a laptop with an Internet connection provided in the bedroom for our use. The room was incredibly quiet allowing for a good sleep however, the A/C unit wasn't powerful enough for the size of room (may be a problem in summer months). The bathroom was clean and I liked the blue and green tile work. Breakfast is on the rooftop and the ladies will cook an omelet for you. Cappuccinos were so good and the setting and view made you want to linger, so therefore we had two. The croissants were the "best" of the trip as they were unbelievably fresh and filled with cream.

I dealt with Roberto to book and check in and both processes were interesting. I tried to fax my credit card details but Roberto answered the call so in my best and very limited Italian I conveyed my details. Finding Residenza Il Barone is no easy task as it is in the pedestrian zone down a small lane. Arriving from the motorway to Tropea is the easy part, it's finding the B&B and parking which is difficult. You must phone Roberto if you arrive in the late afternoon as there is no one at the B&B. I found during this 5 ½ week trip that the majority of B&Bs in Italy are run as a part time business and arriving is not simple, as often there is no one at the B&B. On the morning of check out, the only staff were the breakfast room staff and my only option of payment was cash as we did not have the time to wait for Roberto to arrive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tropea hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Porta Del Mare
5.4 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Il Barone
Villa Il Barone
#4 of 77 in Tropea
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residenza RoMa
Residenza RoMa
#1 of 77 in Tropea
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portercole B&B
Portercole B&B
#3 of 77 in Tropea
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza il Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza il Barone

Address: Largo Barone, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range: $81 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Largo Barone, in the historical centre of Tropea, on the top floors of an historical building (1700) overlooking the Piazza Ercole, a new building has been renovated for guests; this historical residence has been thought to give the best and reserved welcoming possible to our guests. The nice position is the ideal base to discover the artistic, historical and gastronomical treasures of Tropea. The residence's surroundings are refined and exclusive while keeping a warm family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residenza il Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing