We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
61
51
20
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
51
20
22
19
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 173 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Porta del Mare Hotel in Tropea and had a most wonderful time. The hotel was well siruated for the beach and the town. The views from the roof top terrance were stunning - having your breakfast there was breath taking. It made us late for the beach speaking with the exciting and ever helpful Romina. The rooms were well appointed and modern. The weathered outside of the hotel with steps up to the reception are a real welcome to the style of Tropea - unspoiled and welcoming. Restaurants in teh tiwn were wonderfula nd the people so welcoming and helpful. The Calypso Beach club was great for hiring sun beds and lunch. I would strongly recommend this resort and this hotel - anyone who could find fault with this holiday destination and hotel must mad or lookinmg to get a cheap thrill from writing on here. Many many thanks to the whole hotel staff and people of Tropea for amking our visit so memorable - and also giving us chance to improve our Italian speaking. YOU MUST VISIT (Ryanair direct from Stansted, or Via Pisa from Liverpool)

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorMKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

I travel to tropea every other month on average and stay normally with people I now know as friends.
On this occasion due to my having my girlfriend with me I booked a hotel .
I knew this building when it was a bar and have always been impressed with it and when it came up as a location on a search I booked it thinking it would be a nice location.
On the first morning of my 5 days I was awoken by builders using an angle grinder and heavy chisel whilst working on the first floor front rooms of the building. This was 0700 am .
Despite my best efforts to have this stopped it did not for all the 5 days there.
On the second morning I was woken at 06 45 by the night porter attempting to carry a table up the marble stairs outside my room which echoed all the way up the stairs. When challenged he said there is no problem its 0700 am and continued.
The views and potential of this hotel by far out way the actuality of the experience.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tropea-regular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

The good points are that it is close to the shopping areas and has a beautiful view of the beach.
Not so good:
- if you have trouble walking or climbing stairs - stay away. The entrance to the hotel requires climbing a very old stone stairway with no handrail for support.
- rooms are clean but VERY SMALL but air conditioned
- breakfast is served on a veranda - which requires more climbing
- no phones in the rooms
- staff's English language skills are limited - though they try to be accommodating

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChapelRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I and my inlaws stayed in Tropea that the Porta del Mare for one night. The hotel is located right in the centre of town a 2 minute walk to the historical centre. The hotels is a small possibly 20 room establishment. The rooms were clean and comfortable with air conditioning. Rooms on one side of the hotel have a view of the ocean and some have balconies. There is a rooftop patio with a wodnerful view of the monastary sitting at the ocean's edge. Breakfast is simple and basic but served on the rooftop patio which makes all the difference. Great place to stay if you making a stop in Tropea and wish to see the beauty of the Calabrian coastline.

Date of stay: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews