We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent b&b”
Review of Portercole B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portercole B&B
Ranked #3 of 76 Tropea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent b&b”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This brand new b&b in the heart of Tropea is superbly run by Biagio and Sharon for whom nothing is too much trouble. With the added advantage of an owner who speaks perfect English we were provided with all the local information we needed from the best restaurants to where to find a dentist. Comfortable rooms which are well soundproofed and excellent breakfasts made for a memorable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Portercole B&B, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we are sure we'll see each other again, if not here in Tropea, we'll see you in London!

Please send our love to your beautiful wife!

Kind Regards,

Biagio and Sharon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
159
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Tropea was our last stop in our Italian vacation. As we arrived to the Tropea we had no idea what to expect. As we came to the Portercole we were greeted by Biagio and Sharon. They took our luggage and showed us to our room. Room was amazing, everything is new: comfortable beds, spa shower, air conditioner, balcony, what else do you need! We have been traveling a lot and it is the best service we have ever experienced. Biagio and Sharon make this B&Ba very special place to stay. We felt that we were part of the Italian family and we loved it! They take care of every single detail.They gave us best restaurant recommendations and sightseeing ideas. Breakfast is beyond our expectations: fresh local fruits, variety of cheeses, yogurts, fresh pastry. Biagio does the best cappuccino in Italy!!!! Location is ideal, 5 minutes from the beach, very close to the shopping and restaurants. This is an ideal quiet place for families and couples. We would recommend this hotel to our family and friends and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: I will recommend room with the balcony, it gives nice atmosphere to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biagio V, Proprietario at Portercole B&B, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Julia,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt at home.
It is very rewarding for us to receive reviews like yours!

We look forward to having you as our guests sometime in the future,

Kind Regards,

Biagio and Sharon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed for a week at Port Ercole and loved every minute. Although you spend most of the on the beach or in the old town, when we did need a rest or some peace you could be assured that your fantastic double room overlooking the old town would be perfect. With minibar, 2 showers, very comfortable beds and ac, it was better than at home!

The service was 10/10. It is run by a young couple with impeccable standards and bilingual conversations.

Every morning you are greeted with a full continental breakfast with a wide variety of fresh pastries and juices.

It was also recently voted the best B & B in Calabria out of over 200 choices!

Enjoy your stay and book early as tehre are only 4 rooms!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietLambregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Portercole B&B, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Piet,

Thank you very much for your review! Your opinion is very important for our work.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our service during your stay and we hope that we can see you again.

Kind Regards,

Biagio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A lovely b and b. The room was quiet even though the b and b is in a central location. The ensuite shower room was spacious and of a far higher standard than many hotels we have visited. There was also plenty of storage space. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going for most of the day.The young lady at the reception desk was very helpful and had a good knowledge of the local area. She spoke excellent English, we shall be returning there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile reception at Portercole B&B, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Sheila,

Thank you very much for choosing our B&B for your holidays in Tropea and for writing your lovely review!

We are glad that you liked our B&B and we really hope to have you as our guests also in the future!

Looking forward to seeing you soon,

Kind Regards,
Sharon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 21 in Tropea
252 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 21 in Tropea
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 13 in Parghelia
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropis Hotel
Tropis Hotel
#4 of 21 in Tropea
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza il Barone
Residenza il Barone
#2 of 76 in Tropea
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portercole B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portercole B&B

Property: Portercole B&B
Address: Via Umberto Primo 9, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portercole is in a quaint building, situated in the Ancient “Borgo”, a beautiful street in the centre of Tropea, very close to the sea and all that the town has to offer such as restaurants, shops and bars.Its location is ideal for enjoying all the wonders offered by the ancient city and it is an excellent base for exploring, not only the historical centre, but even the surroundings.The street of Portercole leads to a spectacular lookout, Largo Villetta (or Cannon Square), from which you can get to the sea thanks to an old but convenient staircase.The nicely furnished, comfortable and bright rooms are equipped with every comfort with the aim of making our guests spend a relaxing holiday.The friendly and quiet atmosphere will also make you feel all the typical hospitality and welcoming of our land so that we can make you feel at home.There is a wide choice at breakfast, a good way to start your day!It has the typical standards of a continental breakfast but also the typical Calabrian and Tropean’s culinary tradition so that you will be able to discover the flavours of our land.Guests can choose from a selection of cheeses, hams and salamis as well as cereal and eggs prepared as required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Portercole B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing