We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax, eat, drink and enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lido Tropical

Lido Tropical
Ranked #1 of 131 Restaurants in Tropea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Relax, eat, drink and enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

During our stay in June 2013 we visited Lido Tropical several times. The Lido is runned by the friendly young Italian/Dutch couple Francesco and Marije. Beds and umbrellas for reasonable prices and very good meals for lunch. Keywords are here relax, eat, drink and enjoy. In the morning have a chat with Francesco over a cup of cappunico and later on over a drink with Marije. On the beach you feel safe overwatched by the safeguard Andrea.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    192
    54
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mtunzini
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor has this one wrong”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed inTropea for a few days and followed Tripadvisor for restaurant advice.
We had lunch at the Lido Tropical, and found the restaurant average at best.
The waitress was very friendly, but the food was expensive and below standard.
Did we miss something?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mtunzini99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“The best Italian food i have had in ALL my travels.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at this genuine Italian eatery. Amazing staff. The menu offers a wide variety of choices and the service is relaxed and friendly. The atmosphere is family friendly too and the service is very accommodating. I recommend this to anyone searching for quality.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maximo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Beach Hut That Serves Food, -- Er, - WOW ??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I visited this restaurant in October purely because reviewers on Tripadvisor ranked it #1 in Tropea.
Having had a few good meals in Tropea already, I was ready to move up a culinary-gear, and I just had to see for myself how "Amazing" this place is.

It's not an evening restaurant, but just a lunch-time place to feed sun bathers on the beach, and is similar (though slightly better) to others along that strech of cost. The food and prices are nothing special, and the fact that it is #1 and given top marks by reviewers, says more about the reviewers experiences & expectations than the food.

I had an enjoyable meal (as we did almost everywhere in Tropea and beyond), but the only amazing thing is how people can give this top marks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BrilloAido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best bar beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great location towards the end of the beach, my husband fell in love with one of their spagetti dishes... Went back day after day on our holiday. Owner is fantastic host along with his staff.. Great facilities for coming off the beach to go to eat. Keep up the good work guys..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luluhugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido Tropical also viewed

Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 

Been to Lido Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing