We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and good, but not as expected”
Review of Al Pinturicchio

Al Pinturicchio
Ranked #9 of 141 Restaurants in Tropea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Southtyrol, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice and good, but not as expected”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

the location is very nice and cosy within smallest streets in tropea downtown.
the food was quite different tasty: cozze pepate were excellent, grigliata mista and gamberoni alla griglia were ok but not different then in other places. linguine all'astice were very good, but a very small dish for the high price paid.
one nice thing to mention: the house offered two very good liqueurs (lemoncello, liquirizia).

unfortunately we cannot confirm all the excellent reviews given ahead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    342
    121
    40
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“location, location, location but average food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

great location, average service. antipasta di mare overpriced and nothing special... fresh sword fish was grilled excellent, terrible coffee...

to be honest do not know what the fuzz on tripadvisor is about but in my opinion not more then an average restaurant..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvandervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very tasty pizza. great atmosphere. And good price
I went there with few friends and we had different pizza and there were all tasty
Drink is also not expensive. I like the interior design too, very local and authentic

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weisui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great food and service. Each course fantastic with a little freebie to start and a liqueur at the end to finish. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonaldTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Expected”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

After checking trip adviser and finding this restaurant scored full marks for its delicious pizzas, we went along expecting something really special, after all Italy is THE place for Pizza. At Al Pinturicchio there are a few table situated in the alley, otherwise you alight the steps that take you into a very hot cave that smells strongly of Pepperoni. The waitress quickly takes your order and within minutes a huge pizza is placed in front of you. I'd ordered the Margherita, my husbands the Quatro Stagioni both very big, both very hard and crunchy and both very dull tasting. The waitress was friendly, the wine okay, quite a lively atmosphere so I guess if you are looking for a very large pizza and you aren't too fussed about the taste you will enjoy it here. For us it wasn't as good as expected and we wont be returning but hopefully we will find a tasty Italian Pizza in the next few weeks.

Helpful?
1 Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Pinturicchio also viewed

Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 

Been to Al Pinturicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing