We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven Cities of Italy Hotel Holiday Torbole Hotel Astra Ciantherme”
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here as part of Newmarket Holidays 7 cities of Italy. The Hotel is lovely and clean the food was alright plenty of choice for breakfast and 3 courses in the evening which we chose at breakfast.We found the staff to be friendly and efficient we even managed to have a joke with them even though we don`t speak Italian and they don`t speak much English.Torbole is delightful with many places to eat and drink.There was a fantastic sandwich place on a corner near the lakeside which also sells slices of pizza perfect for the day trips.There is a supermarket next to the petrol station for other essentials.If you have free time on day 1 or 2 catch the bus here to Rive del Garda and come back on the ferry or ferry from Torbole to other destinations.The general holiday was value for money take the extra trips in Venice (walking tour / Gondola and boat tour of Lido) The rest of the holiday was amazing too many fabulous sights to describe so many wonderful experiences all I would say is go. Yes you will have to get up early yes you will sit on a coach for a couple of hours to get to fantastic places.You will meet lovely people I hope you get Mark to escort you and Andrea( not Botachelli the other one) the best bus driver in Italy.Hotel Astra is bigger and buisier than the Holiday and the rooms are not as nice but trust me you`re simply not at the hotel much and it`s a good base with a small supermarket across the road. If you`re from "up North" like us consider travelling from Gatwick. With the money we saved we took the train, saw a show, had a fabulous meal,stayed in a Britania Hotel for £38 caught the Easybus from Earl`s Court £2 oh and Tube tickets.Finaly yes we would do it again.

Room Tip: rooms on the front of the hotel have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went on holiday with Newmarket. The only good thing this hotel has it was spotless, top marks for the cleaner she or he needs a pay rise. The staff where ignorant and very unfriendly both in reception and dinning room. The bar area you had to wait forever to be served even when someone had seen you waiting. No communication at all. Would never stay here again or tell anyone else to..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour of Seven cities. We were a large group so catering was en masse. Despite this, meals were satisfactory, apart from a lack of fresh fruit and vegetables. Staff were polite and helpful, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a spacious twin room with a small balcony. It is about five minutes walk to the lake and a small village with nice coffee shops, and ice cream!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheerfulchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

So lets start with the good...
We stayed in this hotel in august 2011 at part of a ledger holiday to venice and garda. The holiday itself was incredible. The hotel provided the perfect location to nearby sights and the little town the hotel is situated in was truly beautiful. In the town there are quite a few shops, including a minimarket and some lovely clothing and gift shops. But by far the nicest thing about the town is the lake edge which is magnificent. The town is cradeled between the mountains and when the aurora winds hit the lake its a sight to behold. The town is as 5 minute walk from the hotel.
The hotel was rather basic but nice and clean. I was a little dissapointed the towels were not changed daily although they were hung up for us. but the bed was made, etc. as expected. The pool was nice and clean also. very refreshing in the heat. The grounds were well kept. and most importantly it was QUIET. Wonderfully relaxing and the balcony was nice.

And now for the bad...
The staff and service in the hotel was the most disgraceful i have ever seen. The waiters in the resturant appeared to run most of the hotel and were was could only be described as rude! They were unapproachable, unfriendly and generally miserable. The service they provided in the resturant was so bad it was funny. A member of our party had a nut allergy. On two...yes TWO occasions she was served nut ice cream! Even though the hotel had been notified of allergy issues. When we spoke to the waiter about the problem he was rude and aggressive and unhelpful. It was only after we spoke to the manager and she screamed at him in front of the whole resturant was the situation recterfied (without an apology). We went through ther same ordeal the folowing day. On another occasion during the holiday when enquiring about flavours and types of deserts (dues to these allergy issues) the waiter was very aggressive and shouted at us that we dont like any of the deserts provided because we keep sending them back. He clearly didnt understand that the issues wasnt a party member not liking the deserts moreover not wanting to be killed by them.

The food in the resturant on the whole was disgusting and came in ridiculously small portions. many people from our coach chose not to eat the food although they had paid for it. one morning at breakfast the bacon was half raw.

Another reviewer compared it to fawlty towers, this comparrison could not be more accurate. The staff and service were so bad the whole experience becaome hilarious to us all.

To summerise...Go for the amazing location but if you want a smile, deacent food and to not die of anaphylaxis then id stay well away

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Very clean hotel, well situated just 10 mins walk from pretty lake front and town centre. Nice grounds at rear for sun bathing, plus swimming pool.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent English. Room clean and airy with good views from balcony.Biggest plus for us for this hotel was how QUIET it was at night. I am a poor sleeper, but slept like a log here. A possible minus was the air-con. When we were there it was switched off centrally, but as it was mid September it didn't matter.
Food was very tasty, adequate selection for continental breakfast, and we enjoyed the evening dinners, though the choice was limited. Just a shame that the Waiters could not smile.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel overlook the pool. Front rooms overlook the road, but there was no noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaglesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel is good value for money. We paid £355 for a week half board and the food was ok, choice of 3 starters and 3 main courses plus salad buffet and choice of dessert. The hotel is very clean. Our balcony wasn't the best but you don't go to sit on the balcony all day. It was well situated from the main part of Torbole. We met up with some nice people in the bar at night, the price for the drink was the same as other bars (you certainly get a good measure of vodka). I would say it was typical of a 3 star.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the poolj
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed here for a week at the begining of July. The bedroom and bathroom fittings fall apart when you open them. Shower cubicles in appalling state with chunks missing out of tiles. The air conditioning has a life of its own. When you report them to Reception all they can say "anything else" in a sarcastic manner.

Had asked for a high floor room with a garden or pool view. Overlooked what they termed the garden view - a builder's skip!

Evening meals were disgusting - food all swimming in butter or oil, very greasy. Absolutely smothered in salt which was not very pleasant.

The only decent thing that the hotel had going for it was the rooms were cleaned every door and the pool looked clean - but did not get the chance to use it. There is absolutely no way I would ever stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melaniejs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torbole hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel
Hotel Caravel
#6 of 33 in Torbole
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel La Vela
Club Hotel La Vela
#20 of 33 in Torbole
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Mondo
Hotel Piccolo Mondo
#9 of 33 in Torbole
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#5 of 33 in Torbole
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#3 of 33 in Torbole
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Address: Strada Granda 62, 38069 Torbole, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Torbole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Price Range: $100 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Torbole Sul Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing