We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant for cyclists and non cyclists !!”
Review of Hotel Caravel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Caravel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here on day four of a ten day trip by bike around northern Italy , Great location really sorted for cyclists. Cycle storage, cycle maintenance area , cycle washing area, fantastic views , great room INCREDIBLE breakfast, best of the trip, massive selection of hot and cold dishes Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikeHotelCaravel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Caravel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review about our services.
We are pleased that you could appreciate all our services, despite your short stay: our large breakfast buffet, articulated in sweet delicacies, as different kind of croissant and homemade cakes and salty food, as several cold cuts and different kind of cheese . Last but not least our corner dedicated to our biker guests.
The rooms are provided with balcony and air conditioned manageable directly from the room. The new free wi-fi system into the room, upon a registration, give you the possibility to have different information and advices about our area.
Your positive feedback is incredibly encouraging and we hope we will be your favourite Hotel in Torbole for many years to come.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 347 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

I and three biker pals have returned from a biking trip which started in Italy and travelled a total of 1200 miles (one way home, as we shipped our bikes out to Italy by Road haulage).
We arrived at the Hotel Caravel after a quite an exhausting ride from Vicenza in temperatures of 38c with extreme humidity so when we arrived we were so pleased to find an welcoming outdoor pool which we plunged into as soon as we could.
The hotel provides excellent facilities – the rooms are splendid with a very large balconies and large
En-suite facilities.
The breakfast was excellent and offered a choice of hot or cold style buffets.
(The hams and cheeses were delicious as were the muesli and yoghurts.
The hotel bar provided a good choice of drinks at very reasonable prices (especially the wines).
I will definitely return one day to stopover when I take my wife touring Italy.
I spoke to several guests who also extolled the virtues of the hotel.
Well done ‘Hotel Caravel’ 5 star rating all round.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good but try and avoid the rooms facing the downhill road as it tends to be boy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ubl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed at the Carvel at the end of October and enjoyed very much our 4 days there. Room and balcony were very good, with a lovely view. Room kept very clean. Food was lovely at all times. All the staff went out of their way to make us very welcome. Edo, the restaurant manager was excellent at all times: a credit to his profession. Lovely bar as well.Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davewatkins_saints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our room was on the top floor at the back of the Hotel, which is quieter, and has great views over the gardens and the mountains from the small balcony.
The room had a modern look (except the TV, which we didn't use, which wasn't flat screen)
with exposed wooden beams, a clever sliding door to the bathroom that recessed into the wall, and light wood-effect panels on the walls. We had a bath with a shower fitting for hair washing plus a small separate shower and a bidet. We always had plenty of hot water. There were three wardrobes and plenty of hangers. We thought the beds (two singles placed together) were a little firm at first but we slept very well on them. There was a sofa that could be used as a third bed. The small fridge was useful but housed in a cupboard which got worryingly hot. We liked the room very much.

The restaurant in the basement served an extensive cold buffet breakfast with plenty of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, bread, jams, cheese and ham etc plus three hot items - usually scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and bacon. At breakfast we were asked to select one from a choice of four main courses for the evening meal. The options were not always suitable for us as vegetarians but the Restaurant manager was exceptionally helpful and would have the chef make up something to suit us. Our half board tariff included wine which was served in half litre carafes. The wine was very drinkable and refills were readily available. 

The Reception staff were always cheerful and very helpful. They keep a stock of useful info sheets like bus timetables.

The Hotels location is quite central giving access to shops, bars and restaurants. It is close to the shore of the Lake, the bus stops and the ferry terminal. As an alternative to the bus or ferry it is possible to walk to Riva from the Hotel around the lake shore in just over an hour.
It's also worth getting the bus (it's not far but a very very steep walk) up the mountain to Nago , a fascinating old village and make sure you see the Saint Andrea church.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter and has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saxon-Bok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Overall our stay here was very good and we would be happy to stay here again,
On the plus side the hotel is located 5 mins walk from the lakeside via some nice shops so location was ideal. this was a clean hotel with a nicely decorated room at the back (garden side) of the building which was quiet even with the balcony door open. there was no corridor noise either. Food was of good quality with differnt choices every night for both starters and mains and breakfast choice was good too. All staff were very pleasant and helpful.
On the negative side there was noise from the adjacent rooms as the walls are very thin (snoring gentleman one side and noisy bathroom the other) but this could be said for most hotels we have stayed at. The mattress was a bit firm and beware of the slippy shower tray!

Room Tip: garden side is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dp63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

very nice holiday, we have been upgraded to an AI from breakfast only due to a problem on the hotel end,
kids enjoyed every minute, staff are very polite and helpful,
food was excellent especially dinner, had quality food and nicely cooked various dishes, chef is excellent.manager and staff are extraordinarily polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohebshalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

So disappointing and not worthy of its 4 star rating. We booked a superior room and would not like to see a standard room. There were 3 of us and the room was far too small. The bathroom had a sliding door as one could not open into it. There was no hot water for 2 nights of our 2 week stay and on one occasion we had random people knocking our door at 3 am. There were holes in our sheets and a major bulging crack in the wall. On the day we left, water started running through the ceiling.
The pool is too small for a hotel of this size and everyone smoked poolside which is very unpleasant for those who do not smoke and would prefer their children not to be exposed to smoke!
The quality of the food was generally good but the lunch was beyond poor - different shaped pasta or chips or salad each day. Only that we had paid for all inclusive did we eat there.
Being on holiday we chose to eat at 8-8.15pm but most of the guests ate early and the food was being taken away while we were eating, never was a table set for us and they set up for breakfast around us. We rushed through dinner most nights.
All-inclusive was poor - cola, orangeade, fizzy and still water, white wine and red wine all dispensed from one run of taps and save for night time, in small plastic cups! Not very four star!
Location good but felt like a hostel rather than a hotel. The toilets serving guests using the bar and restaurant were vile and dirty and we walked to our room rather than use them. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
We will not be back!

Room Tip: Stick to 2 people in a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBigtni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torbole hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#4 of 33 in Torbole
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Club Hotel La Vela
Club Hotel La Vela
#21 of 33 in Torbole
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#5 of 33 in Torbole
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Mondo Hotel
Piccolo Mondo Hotel
#8 of 33 in Torbole
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel

Address: Via Coize 9, 38069 Torbole, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Torbole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torbole
#9 Family Hotel in Torbole
Price Range: $67 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Torbole Sul Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing