We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Geier - Torbole (revisited)”
Review of Geier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Geier
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Certificate of Excellence
Bude Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hotel Geier - Torbole (revisited)”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After a disappointing stay in 2012, it could be questioned why we ventured back this year. After certain assurances given by the tour company Newmarket Holidays, we decide to give them the benefit of any doubt - how wrong can you be. Although there have been significant improvements in the décor, room upgrades and the breakfast menu. Where the Hotel fails miserably is with the evening dinner service. On our first night the starter was inedible with the majority of guests leaving it uneaten. The main course was grilled trout - with no alternative (my wife went without). Some guests on our table walked out after the starter was served. It was unfortunate that the tour manager was not in residence, due to commitments elsewhere. He did say that if he had been there he would have made approaches to the Hotel for an alternative menu. The quality of meals for the remainder of our stay was very poor. From what I gathered at the time Newmarket Holidays only pay the hotel a minimum amount per head which is why the quality is not there.

Room Tip: One with a view over the lake. Avoid rooms on the top floor as they have sloping ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredBudeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    45
    14
    15
    7
See reviews for
31
75
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is in the small harbour in Torbole beside the old venetian custom house. Torbole is at the north end of Lake Garda. It is family run and has a good rounded staff who want to provide the "best". Clean, freshly painted and decorated, friendly and good food. I would recommend this hotel to people on their own as well as couples and groups of friends.
I was there with a friend on half board and enjoyed all the meals. There is also a great ice cream shop 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with views of Lake Garda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizc171250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having booked with Newmarket Holidays a coach trip covering Lake Garda and the Austrian Tyrol we had already checked out the reviews for this hotel and the vast majority were not favourable and judging by the pictures posted with the reviews we could see why!! However on arrival we were pleasantly surprised - we had a room on the first floor, not facing the lake and a little on the small side but it had a nice contemporary feel and was clean - heating was a bit temperamental but other than that it was good. But the worst was to come! If you are part of a tour you eat in a separate restaurant with sub standard food served by staff doing their best but the plates are whipped away as soon as you put down your cutlery - we managed one night and ate out the other 2 nights so we were paying for these meals twice. Food is a big part of the holiday experience and we should not accept second best!! Lovely location though and the staff were all friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Turville, Aylesbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is only a few steps from the lake, next to the main road full of shops and places to eat and drink. Places of interest - man made and natural - to explore close by. Bus stop outside, ferry 5 minutes walk. Reception friendly and helpful. Simply and stylishly furnished. Comfortable. Warm. A fair range of continental-menu breakfast foods. Good restaurant attached. Plenty to observe - pedestrians, cyclists, wind surfers, sailors when you step out the door. In the evenings there was a steady buzz of activity - chatting and clatter from the restaurants either side, and steady traffic. We did not close the double-glazed windows because we enjoyed the lively atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Virginia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Geier on a 7 night holiday with Newmarket Holidays. From the moment we arrived on 7th October through to the morning we left on 14th October we experienced a genuine welcome and excellent service at at times. Our room was large with a lake view and each day our lovely large bathroom was restocked with a pile of lovely white fluffy towels. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful and served with a smile. The owner and her son were extremely helpful with any queries regarding the local area and transport etc. We had visited Torbole 4 years previous and stayed in another 3 star hotel. The Geier was far superior to our previous hotel. We will be returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a double room on first floor - only steps across the landing to a terrace and to the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank charlynn_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a party of 3 of us who stayed at this hotel. It was a Newmarket Holiday to Italy and Austria. Our stay was most enjoyable, the hotel room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was small and had only 1 shelf, but it was ok. The staff were friendly and the menu was not of a large choice but no one need go hungry. There was no bacon etc for breakfast but there was boiled eggs, cereals and the usual bread and conserves. Again no need to go hungry. Torbole was very quiet at night and having stayed in Riva before we did prefer Riva for a more social evening. One of our party said that they had no wardrobes in their room and another didn't have enough hot water. If you bought a drink at the bar and sat outside you would have to pay 1euro extra for that pleasure. Overall though we enjoyed our stay but 3 days was long enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MazzaStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryhill11
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Geier as part of our Newmarket holiday and didn't have any problem with the hotel at all.
We were on a B+B package as that suited us.
Breakfast was always quiet (time of year) and we always had plenty to choose from.
The room was on the 2nd floor and was a perfect size.
The staff were also perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maryhill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torbole hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#10 of 33 in Torbole
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
959 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#5 of 33 in Torbole
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#4 of 33 in Torbole
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#33 of 33 in Torbole
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geier

Property: Geier
Address: Via Benaco 15, 38069 Torbole, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Torbole
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torbole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Geier 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geier Hotel Torbole
Geier Torbole Sul Garda
Geier Torbole/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing