We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL STAY AT HOTEL BRAMANTE”
Review of Hotel Bramante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bramante
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Todi
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Italy. We stayed at the Hotel Bramante based on my sister in laws recommendation. It was as wonderful as she remembered! We had a large room with a beautiful view of the countryside. The staff was very friendly and helpful in assisting us in getting around the Umbria area. The hotel is in a great spot for visiting Todi and surrounding towns such as Assisi, Orvieto, Gubbio, Spelo, Deruta (which has wonderful hand made ceramics!) When staying in the Umbria area it is best to have a car to drive the countryside.

I would highly recommend this hotel as it was clean, large rooms and great staff!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firsttimertolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 485 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2007

We found this hotel very comfortable, the pool area fabulous and the views are spectacular. The air conditioning could have been better mind you. The staff are friendly overall if a little frazzelled in the restaurant. You are better off eating in one of the many lovely restaurants down town in Todi which is in itself a sweet hilltop town that should not be missed. We would recommend Hotel Bramante!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sparkyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The hotel seems nice enough when you drive, up, although it's not in Todi. It's 300m to a cablecar to get into to Todi or 600m walking. Either way is down or up a road that isn't exactly pedestrian friendly. Since we got a reasonably cheap rate we were stuffed in a room that had a window and a view of the roof of the building next to us (nothing else), which is a little ridiculous because they had tons of rooms available.

The hallways and our room smelled like burnt wood. The morning after our stay we figured out why, they seem to have had a fire there recently (we saw workers carting charred things away). So if you have breathing issues it is probably best to stay away. There was also visible water damage in many places. Our air-conditioner broke in the middle of the night, and when we checked out the woman handling reception didn't appear to really care.

There aren't any safes in the rooms and they still use plain keys that you leave at the front desk, so it's difficult to physically secure your belongings when you stay here.

All in all I think your money is better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Auxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed at Bramante in June 2007. The weather was 88F every day. A/C was adequate in the rooms although, we wish we could have left the doors open to take in the beautiful scenery and feel the Umbrian breeze. Unfortunately, the staff could not control the weather. We had a Valley view room and an interior triple room for my family. The rooms were very clean. The view was wonderful from the large patio. The pool was large and well maintained, the kids loved it. The breakfast spread was adequate, however, if travelling with younger childeren, stop at the grocery store in town and pick up cereal.

A couple of notes, we did not find out until the second to last day of our stay that there is a tram that takes you to the center of the town of Todi. There is a parking lot within 300m of the hotel. This option is much better than trying to find a parking space in the lot at the center of the Piazza in Todi. It is also better than parking at one of the parking lots at the base of the town and walking straight up a very steep, long street into town with 3 kids in tow.

Also, if you are unsure about anything such as hotel amenities, restaurant hours, directions,etc, you must ask the staff. Having only travelled in the US prior to my trip to Italy, I was used to a hotel providing detailed information about its amenities and surrounding places of interest. This is not the case in Italy.

One last point, this hotel caters to business groups and weddings. There is an addition next to the restaurant for this purpose. If you like to sleep with the windows open and have a room directly above the restaurant, expect to hear loud conversations into the late evenings.

Overall, this was a well-maintained hotel at a centrally located Umbrian city.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

Bramante looks lovely from the photos, and is actually very nice from
the outside and the public rooms, but our room was awful. We were first given a dark "box type" room b/c of our expedia rate, but quickly chose to upgrade to a somewhat nicer room. Now we had a beautiful view, but our room was tired and shabby. The wallpaper was peeling, the bed uninviting and the overall feel, dark and very depressing. This is more like a motel set up for big groups versus a charming hotel catering to a special visit. Also, it is a long walk into town. We stopped at another Todi hotel for a drink later that evening and were so disappointed that we chose the Bramante for its pretty grounds and pool, when we could have stayed at an interesting hotel in the heart of Todi instead. We did not even stick around for breakfast, figuring we'd cut our losses and check out. Don't make our
mistake!

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank KatoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Came back to the Bramante after 15 years. It was larger and now had a pool. Views from the superior rooms are exceptional with private decks. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. Some staff could be a little haughty, but most were courteous and helpful. It was very hot and so having quiet and excellent air conditioning was a plus. This was one of only two four star hotels in which we stayed on a six week trip. This is the place to "upgrade." Price was okay and worth it.

Thank italymaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2005

We have been almost all over Italy over the last 5 or 6 years as we have completely fallen in love with the country and its people. Earlier this month we decided to explore a quieter area of Perugia which is still only a couple of hours from Rome and we found Hotel Bramante on the internet after quite a lot of searching around - we are glad that we did.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and it has its own website which gives a very accurate description of the hotel. It is in a beautiful old building which has been sympathetically converted into a beautiful, quiet and relaxing environment. The rooms were spotlessly clean with excellent bathrooms and comfortable beds. Whilst the rooms were not overly large they were certainly of a comfortable size. We paid a little extra to have a room with a balcony overlooking the spectacular valley behind the hotel and I would recommend this - although I am sure the other rooms are fine as there is no traffic noise to the front of the hotel either.

The hotel has the most beautiful swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers and a small bar to provide light refreshments. At lunch time the hotel staff take your orders for lunch (if you wish) and on the day that we ate there at lunch it was absolutely delicious. We chose not to eat there in the evenings as we like to explore different places but other guests commented how good the food was. I understand that on some nights there are beautiful barbeques by the pool.

The hotel also has a tennis court and hammocks stretched in the shade below mature trees.

The hotel is just outside the town of Todi which is historical and has some good restaurants which the owners of the Hotel Bramante will recommend. You either face a 20 minute walk up to Todi which can be a little tedious on a very hot day or you can take a gentle, level stroll to the funicular just 5 minutes from the hotel which takes you free of charge right up into the centre of Todi - there are never queues. In Todi you are well away from the more popular tourist destinations and will see plenty of the real Italy.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly, professional and helpful - I believe the hotel is still family owned and it shows in the excellent service they provide.

The area is quiet and you will either want complete peace in the hotel supplemented by Todi itself or you would need a hire car.

We stayed there just this month but are already planning to return in just a few weeks which is perhaps the best recommendation we can give.

Are there any downsides? Well the only downside I can think of is that we found the breakfast to be disappointing. Taken on the fabulous veranda, the setting was truly memorable but to be honest we found the breakfast did not meet the standards of the rest of the hotel. There were croissants but there was only a small selection of rolls (and those that were there were of the sweet roll variety) and the coffee was generally only warm and there was no fruit of any sort. But I stress this was hardly a complaint and it was the only thing that we did not think was absolutely perfect - I feel sure that had we said anything to the hotel staff then this would have immediately been resolved - it just did not seem a big problem to us, so we enjoyed the view!

If you are going to Perugia you really should go to Hotel Bramante.

18  Thank derosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todi hotels
4.2 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Luisa
Villa Luisa
#3 of 17 in Todi
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fonte Cesia
Hotel Fonte Cesia
#4 of 17 in Todi
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tuder
Hotel Tuder
#6 of 17 in Todi
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Poponi
Agriturismo Poponi
#10 of 17 in Todi
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bramante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bramante

Address: Via Orvietana, 48, 6059, Todi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Todi
Price Range: $102 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bramante 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bramante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bramante Hotel Todi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing