We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, Magical, Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Todini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Todini
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Todi
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning, Magical, Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Relais Todini is in the most beautiful rural location in Umbria, where there are gorgeous, rosy views over Todi and the surrounding valley. The quality of the silence is glorious, especially when sitting out on the terrace before dinner in the evening, sipping an aperatif, watching twinking lights in the distance and allowing the good cooking smells from the wood-fired oven make your tummy rumble.

The staff are universally friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to help you with any difficulties during your stay. The food in the restaurant is exquisite - everything fresh and local and perfectly cooked.

My room was decorated beautifully, with ceramics from Deruta (local pottery centre) and fabrics from Montefalco. The spa is also a real treat and I would highly recommend a massage and a spell in the outdoor jacuzzi, where you can recline with a green tea, soaking your cares away whilst gazing over the valley.

Within the boundary of the Relais there is a small animal park; you can request a little tour at the hotel reception. You can also request a tour of Cantina Todini where they produce wine from the Relais vineyards. Have a glass (or two!) with your dinner to experience a really special cellar.

Relais Todini is such a beautiful place in every way. I'm just looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badgerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    53
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
176
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

The hotel Relais Todini is set in stunning countryside, with only 12 rooms it has a personel touch. All the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Olivia on the reception and David in the resturant. We stayed 2 nights as part of our Italian honneymoon and will definatley be back! The food and wine at the resturant was first class and the views from the terrace were superb. I would recomend this hotel for a romantic break. Fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank criticUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

We loved the Relais Todini! It truly is a 5 star hotel. Very attentive, thoughtful service (while respecting your privacy). This 12 room chateau, is gorgeousl (stunning wood antiques, and ceramics and art work, throughout the hotel) but the views far surpass the beauty of the hotel.

We stayed 4 nights in early October, and ate at the restaurant for two dinners. It is a perfect place to stay if you have a car and plan to explore Umbria and the hill towns. If you plan to only visit Todi, you might want to select accommodation closer to the town, as the Relais sits on a hilltop, just outside of town, surrounded by vineyards (part of its charm). However, you won't find anything even close to Relais Todini!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheatyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Luxury relais in which my wife and I stayed absolutely alone. Stunning views of the valley and Todi (see photos). Beautiful restaurant, attentive and courteous staff. Excellent bed with an electric transformer. Recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

This was a perfect hotel and they made you feel that you were at your own home - and what a home! This would be a perfect place to stay for several days and see the sites of Umbria. They have a fantastic swimming pool where you can relax after a day of touring. Food is excellent. We're sorry that we couldn't stay longer. A definite "go back"!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdGinCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

During the Christmas/New Year holiday, we ventured into Todi in the Umbria region. No hotel reservations previously made.

We noted the hotel sign at the entrance to the town and followed the signs to the only five-star (Relais Todini). The signs are difficult to follow. The hotel is actually outside of the town.

What a pleasant suprise ! High on a hill top, a beautifully converted 14th century, 12 room villa. Panoramic 360 degree views. Peaceful and serene.

Quality and attentive staff. Nicely appointed rooms. Hard beds. Good food; good service. Very clean. Internet didn't work the second day. Wireless though and no charge. Very comfortable stay.....except for the hard beds.

All in all, a great experience.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PDX-Traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
266 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2005

Situated on a hill top this wonderful mansion is worth a detour. It is situated near the old town of Todi, not far from Perugia. You will love it! There is a cantina with great wines and the owner cares for strange animals which can be visited with a guide. But the best are the rooms with vaulted ceilings. There is plenty of space on the well kept ground to read or just look at the rolling hills. The restaurant is beautiful - it was closed, when we stayed there. I think it will be very romantic. The pool is also nicely shaped.

Helpful?
9 Thank sweetmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todi
1.3 mi away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
24.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
4.2 mi away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#6 of 17 in Todi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Luisa
Villa Luisa
#3 of 17 in Todi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Todini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Todini

Property: Relais Todini
Address: | Frazione Collevalenza, 06050, Todi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Todi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Todi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Todini 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Todini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Todini Todi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing