We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location but ......”
Review of Tenuta di Canonica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenuta di Canonica
Ranked #4 of 30 Todi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2009

...... thought it was heavily over priced ( no air conditioning in our room and no drawers so I had to live out of my suitcase- which for 185 euros seems a bit much). Felt de trops- as though the owners simply tolerated having us as house guests. Can't however fault the location and the views are simply stunning, especially from the infinity pool. The food was not what I expected either- not good italian home cooking- and the breakfast a bit stingy and covered in wasps.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodieNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

the hotel is a little out of town and hard to find, but once you get there you can indulge in an italian country house feeling. the rooms and the whole place have a very personal touch. the garden is delightful and the location is perfect to visit Orvieto, Assisi, Perugia and come back to the relaxing charm of the country side.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I have spent 3 days at the Tenuta di Canonica and although it turned out to be too expensive for what it offers (lunch, dinner and extra are overcharged) I have to admit this place is really beautiful. The location is unbeatable, the views of Todi and the surroundings are stunning. The house is really nice and our room was very charming. Service is good. The pool is great. We loved it and loved the parrot, the cat, the dog and the owners. Definitively a place to come back to.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We just finished our second visit to Tenuta di canonica. Our first was last week and we loved it so much we wanted to return with a friend. Also, we had not tried their evening meal. The return visit was as good as the first--only better because we got to eat there--pasta with chick pea sauce, which is something I would never order, but loved it as did everyone at the table. The vegetarians had grilled vegetables and the meat eaters--veal. We started with a ricotta-like soufle with tomato sauce. Everything about this place makes you want to stay and relax--the stunning pool view, the easy manner of the staff and the beautifully done sitting areas.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this small Umbrian Gem.
Daniele and Maria have created a comfortable, simple, but elegant B+B in the Umbrian hills. Every member of the staff is warm and accomodating (even, as we observed, with "high maintanence" guests).
Rooms are extremely comfortable , decorated with wonderful fabrics, artifacts, with both elegance and whimsy.
Common areas inside and out are also nicely appointed, and extremely comfortable, allowing for casual conversations with other guests or quiet private time.
The grounds and pool area, in particular are quite beautiful, with a 360 degree views, and a beautiful view of the nearby hilltop town of Todi.
The buffet breakfast, which is included, is plentiful with many choices. We ate only one dinner in, which was wonderful. The new young chef is quite talented and prepared a delicious and quite beautiful dinner with local products.
We wish our plans allowed us to stay longer

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NHVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

I was dismayed to read the Sept posting, as we'd booked and had no option but to continue. I expected the worst and found the exact opposite.
The gardens are well looked after in the "Umbrian" manner. The problem with finding the door is being solved..a gate was being fixed during our 5 night stay.
It is a beautiful, tranquil place, the manageresss is extremely welcoming and you really are encouraged to use all the facilities. Depending on the mix of clients it can seem like a house party, various people came to breakfast in their night attire.
Our rooms were spacious and extremely warm.
The only drawback I believe was the standard of the evening meals. We ate in 3 times and had cold slices of meat balanced on salad....not exactly the mark of a chef.
My children were enthralled with "Mozart", the parrott, who they were alowed to feed and the various cats.
I would defintely go and stay again; it was an ideal place for sightseeing in the region and the owner had many suggestions to make if ever we needed advice. The view alone is worth going for.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank italophileSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Did we stay at the same estate as the previous poster?? We were able to find the front door with no problem; there were no mops and brooms or bikes in sight. Our first impression (after the 1 km dirt road drive) was that the landscaping surrounding this home was gorgeous with blooming flowers in pots, fruit and olive trees nicely placed throughout the yard and a lovely terrace and seating area. Flagstones lead down to the beautifully kept pool area which overlooked vineyards as far as the eye could see. We were welcomed and shown to our room on the third floor - one word of caution here, if you cannot do steps request a first floor room - I don't think there was an elevator. But the view out of our window was awesome and breathtaking! Our spacious bedroom was tastefully decorated with antiques and a very comfortable canopied bed, as well as a large bathroom. It was more than adequate, especially since we were on the road every day visiting as many hilltowns as we could, and really only ate breakfast and slept here! We were able to drive to Assisi, Perugia, Spoleto, Orvieto and Todi with no problem. In addition to coffee and tea, breakfasts were plentiful with cereals, juices, fresh fruit, hardboiled eggs, homemade baked goods as well as croissants and pastries. We enjoyed a delicious 4-course gourmet dinner the night of our arrival, with a bottle of white Longorian wine. To be honest, I never sat on any of the furniture nor picked up a magazine, but did see a sleeping cat curled up on a sofa and of course the parrot, Mozart, adds his two cents to most conversations going on around him. I found the home charming, clean and a very comfortable home away from home. My husband and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deeann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todi hotels
6 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#2 of 17 in Todi
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
IL Molinetto B&B
IL Molinetto B&B
#3 of 30 in Todi
100 reviews
7 mi away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#7 of 17 in Todi
492 reviews
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Poponi
Agriturismo Poponi
#10 of 17 in Todi
60 reviews
4.9 mi away
Roccafiore Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Canonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Canonica

Address: Voc. Casalzetta 75 | Località Canonica, 06059, Todi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Todi
Price Range: $200 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta di Canonica 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta di Canonica, an ancient watching tower, is located in the heart of Umbria, on the top of a hill just 6 km far from the medieval town of Todi.The location is perfect to visit all the art towns of central Italy, at the border of Tuscany and about 100 Km away from RomeThe estate has been transformed into a charming country hotel where the hospitality is warmly cared, in a raffinate and informal atmosphere.A place where history and culture are testified by the ancient Roman walls, that are the foundation of a large part of the building.The property is sorrounded by 22 hectars with forests, green fields, more than 2000 olive and fruit trees, and a beautiful garden with a pool overlooking the entire valleyThe 13 individually and tastefully decorated bedrooms and suites have wonderful view on the Umbrian hills of Todi giving the guests all the modern comforts.The enchanting panorama, the peace and the raffinate service promise the guests an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tenuta di Canonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Canonica Todi
Tenuta Di Canonica Hotel Todi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing