We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”
Review of Tenuta di Canonica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenuta di Canonica
Ranked #4 of 29 Todi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
madhack
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We just finished our second visit to Tenuta di canonica. Our first was last week and we loved it so much we wanted to return with a friend. Also, we had not tried their evening meal. The return visit was as good as the first--only better because we got to eat there--pasta with chick pea sauce, which is something I would never order, but loved it as did everyone at the table. The vegetarians had grilled vegetables and the meat eaters--veal. We started with a ricotta-like soufle with tomato sauce. Everything about this place makes you want to stay and relax--the stunning pool view, the easy manner of the staff and the beautifully done sitting areas.

  • Liked — The setting, staff, food.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    19
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
29
74
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this small Umbrian Gem.
Daniele and Maria have created a comfortable, simple, but elegant B+B in the Umbrian hills. Every member of the staff is warm and accomodating (even, as we observed, with "high maintanence" guests).
Rooms are extremely comfortable , decorated with wonderful fabrics, artifacts, with both elegance and whimsy.
Common areas inside and out are also nicely appointed, and extremely comfortable, allowing for casual conversations with other guests or quiet private time.
The grounds and pool area, in particular are quite beautiful, with a 360 degree views, and a beautiful view of the nearby hilltop town of Todi.
The buffet breakfast, which is included, is plentiful with many choices. We ate only one dinner in, which was wonderful. The new young chef is quite talented and prepared a delicious and quite beautiful dinner with local products.
We wish our plans allowed us to stay longer

  • Liked — Acommodations, staff, setting
  • Disliked — Bed quality
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NHVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

I was dismayed to read the Sept posting, as we'd booked and had no option but to continue. I expected the worst and found the exact opposite.
The gardens are well looked after in the "Umbrian" manner. The problem with finding the door is being solved..a gate was being fixed during our 5 night stay.
It is a beautiful, tranquil place, the manageresss is extremely welcoming and you really are encouraged to use all the facilities. Depending on the mix of clients it can seem like a house party, various people came to breakfast in their night attire.
Our rooms were spacious and extremely warm.
The only drawback I believe was the standard of the evening meals. We ate in 3 times and had cold slices of meat balanced on salad....not exactly the mark of a chef.
My children were enthralled with "Mozart", the parrott, who they were alowed to feed and the various cats.
I would defintely go and stay again; it was an ideal place for sightseeing in the region and the owner had many suggestions to make if ever we needed advice. The view alone is worth going for.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Evening meals
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank italophileSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Did we stay at the same estate as the previous poster?? We were able to find the front door with no problem; there were no mops and brooms or bikes in sight. Our first impression (after the 1 km dirt road drive) was that the landscaping surrounding this home was gorgeous with blooming flowers in pots, fruit and olive trees nicely placed throughout the yard and a lovely terrace and seating area. Flagstones lead down to the beautifully kept pool area which overlooked vineyards as far as the eye could see. We were welcomed and shown to our room on the third floor - one word of caution here, if you cannot do steps request a first floor room - I don't think there was an elevator. But the view out of our window was awesome and breathtaking! Our spacious bedroom was tastefully decorated with antiques and a very comfortable canopied bed, as well as a large bathroom. It was more than adequate, especially since we were on the road every day visiting as many hilltowns as we could, and really only ate breakfast and slept here! We were able to drive to Assisi, Perugia, Spoleto, Orvieto and Todi with no problem. In addition to coffee and tea, breakfasts were plentiful with cereals, juices, fresh fruit, hardboiled eggs, homemade baked goods as well as croissants and pastries. We enjoyed a delicious 4-course gourmet dinner the night of our arrival, with a bottle of white Longorian wine. To be honest, I never sat on any of the furniture nor picked up a magazine, but did see a sleeping cat curled up on a sofa and of course the parrot, Mozart, adds his two cents to most conversations going on around him. I found the home charming, clean and a very comfortable home away from home. My husband and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — View from room
  • Disliked — Metal steps leading up to bedroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deeann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

I had high expectations. The website makes the hotel look really special. It’s not. My heart sank as we went up the drive (the gravel road mentioned in a previous post was fine and for most hotels in Umbria and Tuscany this is quite normal) First impressions were wow, this could have been stunning. Unfortunately the weeds and general neglect of the gardens took away from the natural prettiness of the place. It was not immediately clear where the entrance was. There was a doorway that had mops and buckets and kids bikes outside of it with ‘privado’ written on it. I bumped into the hotel manager by accident as I was wandering around looking for another door; she took me into the main living area. Personal photos, books and piles of video tapes were everywhere. There was a terrible smell. It turns out the very talkative parrot lives in the main dining area. The interior could have been as stunning as the exterior, unfortunately again, it wasn’t. Like living in someone else’s very dirty and musty home. Dirty upholstery, cats sitting on sofas and a general air of weirdness. The piece d’resistance, and this really sums up the whole place, is that in our bedroom there was a pile of magazines. They were all dated either 1997, 98 or 99!!!!. The owner clearly is out to cash in on unfortunate tourists who get taken in by the website, no money has been spent on the upkeep of the hotel for many years and it shows in every aspect. We didn’t dare eat; I couldn’t face eating my dinner in a room that felt like a morgue with only my partner and a parrot for company. In hindsight it’s funny it wasn’t at the time.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellseasonedUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Views are unbelievable - the restored building is the best hotel that we stayed at on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank st525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville MI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Having booked our room at the Tenuta di Canonica over six months in advance, I was amazed that Giovanna the host, remembered we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Later that evening there was a chilled bottle of champagne in our room with a lovely note. We felt so special.
The castle is filled with beautiful antiques and lovely paintings. Our room had exquisite furnishings and linens and a huge antique bed. I cannot say enough about the infinity pool. The 360 degree views kept us from sighti seeing for one day, as we felt the surroundings too impressive to leave. I am usually one to be on the go and sightsee 24/7, but here I did not want to leave.
I would say the breakfast was a lot more than just a continental breakfast. There was much to choose from and everything served on beautiful china. Both nights we opted for the four course dinner at the hotel served on the candlelit patio with stars in the sky. It was as close to dining at a 5-star restaurant as you can get and so romantic.
Giovanna and her son Christian gave everyone their personal attention and offered suggestions for sightseeing or directions.
After several trips to Italy , I can say that the Tenuta di Canonica is a rare gem. A place of genuine hospitality and beauty that I would highly recommend.
Rosanne
Lambertville, MI

  • Liked — Beautiful furnishings, architecturally exquisite
  • Disliked — Some signage was missed and we had to stop for directions two times.
  • Tips/Secrets — We found umbria to be less expensive and crowded but nicer than Tuscany.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Meanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todi
6.0 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#7 of 17 in Todi
462 reviews
7.0 mi away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Fonte Cesia
Hotel Fonte Cesia
#4 of 17 in Todi
257 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Luisa
Villa Luisa
#3 of 17 in Todi
281 reviews
24.6 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Canonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Canonica

Property: Tenuta di Canonica
Address: Voc. Casalzetta 75 | Località Canonica, 06059, Todi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Todi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta di Canonica 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta di Canonica, an ancient watching tower, is located in the heart of Umbria, on the top of a hill just 6 km far from the medieval town of Todi.The location is perfect to visit all the art towns of central Italy, at the border of Tuscany and about 100 Km away from RomeThe estate has been transformed into a charming country hotel where the hospitality is warmly cared, in a raffinate and informal atmosphere.A place where history and culture are testified by the ancient Roman walls, that are the foundation of a large part of the building.The property is sorrounded by 22 hectars with forests, green fields, more than 2000 olive and fruit trees, and a beautiful garden with a pool overlooking the entire valleyThe 13 individually and tastefully decorated bedrooms and suites have wonderful view on the Umbrian hills of Todi giving the guests all the modern comforts.The enchanting panorama, the peace and the raffinate service promise the guests an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Tenuta di Canonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Canonica Todi
Tenuta Di Canonica Hotel Todi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing