We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to remember”

La Cantina Del Mercataccio
Ranked #14 of 76 Restaurants in Todi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A place to remember”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We found this restaurant on our way back to Orvieto, coming from Assisi. We had such a lovely evening : very pleasant staff, beautiful place and lovely food. We decided to go back there for our last dinner in Italy. The terrace was closed because there had been some heavy thunder in the daytime and too much rain so we had dinner inside. Everything was just perfect. They have a marvellous staff. Excellent food and good choice of wines!! Without a doubt the best meals we had in Italy this year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    64
    18
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This proved to be the best meal of the vacation.
Motivated by a recent Travel & Leisure article we booked, but didn't need to. Down a back street this is obviously overlooked.
Gorgeous terrace view of valley, very pleasant staff and perfect cuisine. At our table of four, total of ten dishes and not one regret - from antipasti through to dolce.
I read the TI complaints re slow service. This is Italy. They spend the evening at the dinner table rather than the pub or bar. They cook from scratch. They savor and digest. They sip and enjoy the wine. They don't inhale and rush off. This is lifestyle not poor service. I'll miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best meal in Italy this trip!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Happened upon this restaurant while climbing the hill into Todi. The terrace has a beautiful setting and view over the countryside. We were early for lunch, so did not have any service issues -- had the place to ourselves. And the food was spectacular. The pork loin roasted in pancetta was, without a doubt, the best meal I have had in Italy this trip. Will go again if we are in Todi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winterblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Views but not worth the price”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The restaurant does have a great location. I heard it was a must go to place if in Todi. Well maybe once. Great views on terrace, but the rest, not worth the price. The service was bad, with one waiter inside and one outside. The inside waiter was trying his best from what I could see but outside waiter did not want to be there and it showed. You can not do this in this business.
For this alone I would not go back. I paid 100 Euro for 2 people and got attitude. The food was average for this area, nothing great, had better for 1/2 the price. I wine list was small. I've been in this business a long time, and when I go out eat for 50-75 euros per person I except to be entertained with good service, good food, good atmosphere. Its not here on this night. I saw NO manager or owner anywhere all night from 7:30 - 10:00pm, only 2 waiters. Sorry not again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Todi”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My sister and I spent three weeks studying Italian in Todi. Unfortunately, we did not visit La Cantina until our last day in town because we would have gone back again and again. Restaurant is off Via Roma down a flight of stairs. This restaurant has it all - excellent food, attentive service and a beautiful view overlooking the countryside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amcglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina Del Mercataccio also viewed

Todi, Province of Perugia
 
Todi, Province of Perugia
 
Todi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Cantina Del Mercataccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing