We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant dinner spot in Todi”

Ristorante La Mangiatoia
Ranked #23 of 74 Restaurants in Todi
Price range: $29 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: In the main central square of Todi-Perugia you can taste tipical Umbrian dishes and wines, special prices and fixed or a la carte menù.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
468 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“A pleasant dinner spot in Todi”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We visited Todi between Christmas and New Year's. Not exactly high season. We had stopped by earlier in the day and checked out the menu. It looked good. We made a reservation and returned at 20.30 (8:30pm). We were seated into a larger, slightly lower than street level room. On the wall behind us were shelves with wine bottles on it. Across the room was a heating unit. Quite useful on this cold December evening.

The waitress for the room was friendly and able to communicate well in English. We ordered our meal and then asked about wine. No, they do not have a wine list. They have shelves with wine. We picked a local wine, tasted it, and found it perfect for our dinner. For those who think they are going to be exploited. This was a very good wine for less than 20 Euros.

For our prime course, we share the Gnocchetti radicchio e gorgonzola (Gnocchi with Gorgonzola cheese and radicchio) and Zuppa di fagioli con cuticle (Bean soup with pork meat). They arrived quickly. The Gnocchetti has a very creamy and tasty sauce. The bean soup was full of flavor and perfect for a cold evening.

For our secondi (main) course, we shared the Straccetti di manzi al radicchio e ace to balsamic (strips of beef with radicchio and balsamic vinegar) and Tagliata di manzi al rosmarino (Sliced beef with rosemary). For both, the beef was top quality. Flavorful and tender. The portions were large and filling.

No dessert for us. Espresso and check. A very good meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    131
    49
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Food with no gusto or presentation!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We were not impressed with the food or service, including no wine list. Mot sure how it gets its rating as number 6 on Todi. Speaking to locals, they agreed and don't recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awgpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were a bit disappointed by this restaurant. the position is very nice, just close to the main square of Todi, but the food was really nothing special. My pasta with truffle was not made with real truffle, the rest is not worth mentioning.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elenabruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A WONDERFUL experience”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

First, the most important part of the review - the food. Absolutely fantastic, fresh and local Umbrian cuisine. We had the following dishes at our table - gnocchi with wild boar ragu, a truffle pasta, cacio e pepe pasta, swordfish, steak with truffle, herbed chicken and eggplant with chick peas. Given we had a large crowd, I was able to try every dish. The cacio e pepe and steak with truffle were the big winners, but really EVERYTHING was fantastic. The dishes were served prompt and hot with classic Umbrian presentation.

Briefly, the location - down a romantic alley just off the main Piazza, it is a truly classic Italian hill town scene. Bring your camera.

Finally, the service. This really made the meal one to remember. Daniele and I had been corresponding via email for a number of months to have everything prepared for our party. He assured me that everything would be in order, and he really delivered. The tables were perfectly organized, music was softly playing and his staff did an amazing job serving us!

My wife and I live in London, and we travel often to Italy, particularly Todi and Umbria. This was our first time to bring a group with us to Todi, and we were nervous about setting up the trip for our friends. La Mangiatoia was one of the best experiences we had, and we can't wait to go back when we return to Todi this winter and for many years to come!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GFPNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The way pasta should taste”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

and rarely does- we had a wonderful meal here- great location off the beaten path but just steps away from main plaza- helpful friendly staff-

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Mangiatoia also viewed

Todi, Province of Perugia
 
Todi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante La Mangiatoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing