We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
The balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The balcony
Terrace Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The balcony
Terrace
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
Living room
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Single bedroom
Single bedroom
Tea room
Tea room
View from the tea room
View from the kitchen
View from the living room
View from the balcony
Terrace
View from the double bedroom
View from the dining room
Bathroom
Bathroom
External view of the building
The front door is opposite the Romanesque (12th-c.) apse of the Church of S. Maria
The front door is opposite the Romanesque (12th-c.) apse of the Church of S. Maria
The front door is opposite the Romanesque (12th-c.) apse of the Church of S. Maria
External view of the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Todi, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DavidPAde...
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in this apartment in Todi for 1 week. Carlo was very helpful and went out of his way to help us. The apartment is well equipped and in an excellent location. Todi is such a beautiful town and is so close to other great attractions in Umbria. The views from the balcony were stunning. We had our breakfast and evening meals out there whenever possible. Although we are not exactly young anymore we managed the stairs and the steep climb from the car park quite well. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mary c w
1 review
“relaxing stay in an authentic and historic Italian townhouse”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a wonderful stay my husband and I had in Todi! Todi is a perfect town to use as a base to explore southern Umbria. This region has so much to offer and is less crowded than Tuscany. We could not have been more happy with our rental. Communication with Carlo prior to our arrival was prompt and helpful. Carlo met us when we arrived, assisted with our luggage, and answered all of our questions. Carlo is truly interested in ensuring a memorable visit to his home region and offered many suggestions on things to do and see. Carlo is so proud of his town of Todi and he is a great ambassador for Umbria! His family home was spotless and had everything we needed for our stay. Oh, how I wish I could pack up and take home the incredible view from our balcony! We spent many hours taking in the lovely hills of Umbria and the tiled roofs of the city from this treasured spot...often with a nice glass (or two) of Italian wine! My only concern would be for guests with limited mobility. My husband and I are in our sixties and the hike thru the streets and up to the townhouse was exhilarating, but not a walk we wanted to take several times a day. Travelers looking for a REAL Italian experience cannot go wrong by staying at Carlo's townhouse!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Carlo's hospitality, the friendly people of Todi and, of course, that amazing balcony view!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment in idyllic hiĺltop town”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have sadly just finished a 4 night stay in this most idyllic of small hilltop towns in a wonderful apartment, hosted by Carlo. As arranged, Carlo was waiting to escort us through the labyrinth of narrow lanes to the apartment, helped us carry our cases up the steep stairs and took plenty of time showing us over and explaining how everything worked. He gave excellent recommendations to restaurants, gelataria, wine shops, etc, plus to nearby villages. Nothing was too much trouble for him and a more delightful host would be hard to find.

The apartment itself was fabulous. It was very spacious, spotlessly clean and tidy and the views from nearly every window were breathtaking, whether over the countryside, the ancient tiled roofs of the town or the nearby churches. The walls were decorated with an interesting and eclectic selection of paintings and other artwork, there were plenty of travel books and the information folder was comprehensive and helpful.

We loved everything about our stay and found Todi to be very centrally located for day trips to lots of places (the mummie museum in Ferentillo and Roman ruins at Carsulae, plus the small town of Bevagna were favourites. We tried to use minor, country roads mostly and thus travelled through some amazingly beautiful scenery).

Overall, this was one of the best apartments in the most spectacular of towns we've ever stayed at, enhanced by the help of Carlo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views, spaciousness, the host.
Liked least: Water pressure in shower was a bit weak, but there was plenty of hot water.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Still Dreaming of La Gardenia”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My first visit to Todi in Umbria, and upon arrival I am politely escorted to La Gardenia by its Owner, Mr. Carlo Bilancini. Carlo is a charismatic fellow and a Todi native who seems to know and is known by everyone we meet along the way. Halfway up (or down) Via S. Maria in Cammuccia, Carlo guides us into a quiet alcove where we find the heavy wooden door that is so characteristic of the homes in this beautiful medieval city. Up the several steps we climb and enter La Gardenia, which has reportedly been in Carlo’s family for generations. For the next 11 days, La Gardenia will be our home-away-from-home and our central point of embarkation for numerous side trips to various scenic locations in Umbria and Tuscany.

The quiet, very private apartment is everything my traveling companion and I need. Smartly but simply decorated, each room has an open, airy feel. Carlo is a professional photographer and we later learn that many of the photographs that adorn the walls are his own work. Everything is spotlessly clean, including, most importantly, the bathrooms. The bedrooms are all ample in size and the bed in the smaller of the two rooms adjoining the Master Bath is plenty comfortable for me. The fully-equipped kitchen is simple, but roomier than many other European kitchens I have seen, with an adjacent family-style dining room, where we spend much of our time. If they wanted to, a family could easily prepare and eat all meals right there in La Gardenia.

And once you throw open the French doors to the balcony, you might just want to do that. The panoramic view of the entire Southern side of Todi is simply spectacular. From this point you can see the sun rise from over the mountains (an occasional hot air balloon in the distance), and then enjoy it again as it sets directly over the cupola of the Tempio di Santa Maria della Consolazione into the Fiume Tevere valley on its way to Orvieto. A photographer’s dream. Simply breath-taking and I briefly consider spending all 11 days right there without ever leaving the apartment. I don’t, of course, as Todi’s central piazza is just a short walk past the shops and up the hill. But I am most happy to return each evening to enjoy the quiet starlit sky from the balcony.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince G
1 review
“ENCHANTING APARTMENT”
Reviewed December 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

If I close my eyes I can still remember the peaceful morning coffees on the terrace. Just as vivid are the memories of the vibrant sunsets over Umbria's gently rolling hills and Todi's medieval stone towers with their terra cotta roofs. The apartment is well appointed, spacious, and sunlit with all the modern comforts of home. Carlo, the owner, couldn't be more kind or helpful. He not only made sure we felt at home in the apartment, but he was a wealth of knowledge about Todi and things to do in the area and beyond. The apartment is located within the city's walls in an old stone tower on a medieval street. It is a short (but steep) walk to the town's main piazza and shops. Todi is such a gem and this apartment helps you lose yourself in its past. There are plenty of places to buy groceries or even "take-out" to bring back home and enjoy that view! We had a car and parked it down the hill, about a two minute walk, and never had a problem finding a space. Travelers do need to be aware that the apartment is on the top two floor of a four story tower, and the steps are quite steep. That being said, I can't imagine a nicer location for taking in the beauty of one of Italy's most spectacular hill towns.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summerlan...
Santa Barbara
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This apartment is wonderful. the views from the small balcony and windows are marvelous and immerse you in your Umbrian vacation. Looking out over rooftop to rolling fields with castles perched above them give a sense of time gone by. in the kitchen you can look down to one of the city's gates or up to San Fortunato's gothic bell tower. On this level as well is a spacious living are, separate dining space and another office room that can be third bedroom.
The two bedrooms on the lower are nice and there is a full size bathroom.
Carlo helped by showing me around the town, and giving pointers where to eat etc. He is there if you need him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the terrace
Liked least: Weekend nights could be a tad noisy in bedroom nearest street
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;