We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante Umbria

Ristorante Umbria
Ranked #13 of 74 Restaurants in Todi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the historic center Todi , was in 1400 the seat of the Convivanti whose motto was " delectat et nutrit " . Each summer the rooftop terrace , winter by the fireplace , you can taste the traditional Umbrian dishes . Soups , game , the Palomba to Ghiotta , pastas , herbs , fried vegetables ; truffles and mushrooms in each season will find the gourmet delights for your palate.
Todi, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We looked at the menu, then looked at the outstanding view and chose our table for dinner - 2 days away. We arrived for dinner with great expectations, unfortunately it was a letdown from beginning to end. The antipasto was very ordinary, and the main dishes were too. Sadly I could not recommend this place to any of our friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monte52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ale T, Proprietario at Ristorante Umbria, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Google Translation
Salve, non commento la sua recensione generica e poco comprensibile ma ci terrei comunque a farle presente che lei è iscritto dal 2009 a Trip Advisor e solo nel 2013 lascia la sua prima recensione (questa). Tra l'altro cosa grave a mio avviso è che lei è registrato come cittadino di Todi e poi scrive il commento in inglese. Non sembra una grande strategia.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    149
    57
    48
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough
Level Contributor
244 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good, typical Umbrian dishes, great ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We called into Ristorante Umbria without booking, and had a very good lunch. Food is very traditional, with an accent on game - we had wild boar and roe deer, preceded with Umbrian antipasti. This is not lightweight stuff, but good solid rural cooking.
Staff were charming and attentive, and the view over the countryside is marvellous.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Is there a level lower than 1 star?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Ok. The location, view and decor is right up there. If you could sit for an hour peacefully contemplating the staggeringly pretty view from high in Todi over the kilometers of rolling farmland dotted with homes and villages it would rate 5 stars.  The moment Mauricio takes your order for dinner you just ruined a delightful evening. The food from the antipasti to the pasta to the secondi to the contorni was unreservedly disgusting.  Literally, unable to be digested.  The chefs, viewable through two windows from the beautiful terrace dining room, resembled characters from Faulty Towers working in an East German kitchen circa 1973, the date the restaurant last earned an award. Did I mention a waiter had bo? Yeuch! But visit a few minutes for the view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Agree with others recent reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Unbelievable Umbrian views. The food in a word, is poor.

We were in Todi for a week and this was our worst meal. A disappointment to say the least, especially given the prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good solid consistent restaurant, real Umbrian food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I loved this place I do not understand the bad reviews.

I am Italian, my husband is French. We spend some time in Umbria every summer. Friends who live in Umbria, recommended this place many years ago. I go back every summer since I was a teen-ager (my parents have a summer house in Perugia). We are really picky but this restaurant never disappoints.

Ask the waiter for advice when you select items from the menu. Most dishes are typical Umbrian dishes (no mainstream tourist-type of cuisine). They are always good or excellent. It is a very "local" kind of cuisine with very fresh ingredients, and we like that.

I have been there for a romantic dining experience as well as for lunch with family and friends. I always make a reservation in advance to make sure we have a good "table with a view" on the terrace.

The only minus: the managers have been sometimes a bit rough, I agree that they could be more polite (especially in Umbria where everybody is super polite and kind). But the service and food are really good.

The view is of course incredible. I dream of that view when it is cold and snowy here in Boston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MVOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Umbria also viewed

Todi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing