We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice holiday retreat in South Tyrol”
Review of Hotel Castel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tirolo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Castel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Tirolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Together with my wife, I had the pleasure to experience the hospitality of the employees and the owning family of the Hotel Castel for a full week in late autumn.
The hotel is located above Meran and offers a spectacular view into the valley and plenty of sun.
The places style is quite traditional and definitely top-notch. Coming to the centrepiece of it all, we would definitely say it's the dinner. Were else would you get an amazing dinner of a highly decorated chief, presented by knowledgable and friendly staff, in a nice atmosphere - every night? I will not get into any details, as it would be to hard to put into writing. It's just mind boggling. And the saying is, that if you go to the public restaurant in the hotel, they even add some more of all that glitter! Breakfast is as well served in the same room, and, of course, is outstanding as well.

Adding some words about the room - we treated ourself with a nice penthouse offering a Jacuzzi on the balcony which is very nice if the weather allows. Although there is absolutely nothing wrong with the room, this is probably the only thing you shouldn't have too high expectations to not be disappointed. The available room for storage is relatively limited and the overall impression is just not an obvious top range 5*. We got the impression our bed has already seen too many seasons and also the couch hasn't been inviting to sit there for long. Best will be to check out the pictures on their wesite, they are 100% accurate and decide for yourself.
Bathrooms are fine, but not highlight to write about. Maybe I've now written a bit too much about the room....they really are fine, but with a hotel perfect as the Castel, there is no other possibility to go into details.

Overall, we would immediately go again to enjoy truly amazing days!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gomess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Castel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear "Gomess1",
thank you very much for your good assessment on our Hotel. It means a lot to us.
We look forward for your next visit!
Best regards,
Dobitsch family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 99 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent an extended weekend at Castel in early July and were quite pleased with our stay. The village of Dorf Tirol is conveniently situated near Meran in case one wishes to shop or go to the Thermal Springs and also offers a good starting point for hikes in the nearby hills/mountains and visits to various wineries. The view from the hotel's rooms and breakfast area are stunning. One can gaze across the orchards and vineyards, see the nearby ancient castle in the town center and into the neighboring valley. The rooms were well-equipped, if not 'modern' from the decor: (Think 'stuffy imperial French/Italian style' complete with yellow & gold or gold & blue brocade. Not my taste, but the furniture was well cared-for and in order.) The rooms & bathroom were clean, the beds comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. Although we did not take advantage of the spa, we enjoyed the pools (inside & out), the patio area around the pool and the fitness room. Again, everything was clean and modern. We wondered why there were racing car pictures and paraphernalia on display on the walls near the fitness area. Our question was answered at dinner one night when the son of the owner came by to our table. It turns out he is an active race car driver in one of the semi-professional circuits. This courtesy of stopping by at the table was repeated by the 'lady of the house' as well. We found it a nice gesture that the owners showed a direct interest in the guests, offering tips about things to do and engaging in a friendly chat. We enjoyed the Seafood Buffet on Friday in the main restaurant and our 'special' menu with local wines at the starred Trenker Stube. Definitely a 'must-do.' What we found especially nice was having a lazy breakfast on the patio (Oh! That view!) sipping well-prepared Latte Macchiatos. Unlike other hotels, the tables are given away on a first-come-first-serve basis. (It's always annoying at other hotels to see the best tables empty with 'reserved' signs on them.) If you have a classic car or have an itch to test your driving skills along the winding mountain roads in the Dolomites, the hotel offers route suggestions to get your adrenaline flowing. Fun! As our dog travels with us, it was important that the hotel treated us all well. Although our dog was not especially catered to (no doggy treats, bed), the hosts were gracious and the nearby paths through the vineyards with their grassy areas offered the necessities between longer walks and hikes. A last comment: perhaps because of the price or the lack of specific child-oriented activities, we enjoyed the mostly adult crowd and the tranquility. Great for unwinding and enjoying the amenities in peace.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Castel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear "Travelingwithdog",
thank you very much for your great valuation of our Hotel. It gives us even more motivation.
We look forward for your next visit!
Best regards,
Dobitsch family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

From each balcony the view spreads over the city of meran and the villages and above them the mountains with their regional typically steep flanks.
The hotel is located just at the beginning of the small village of Tirol above the city of Meran. It's bordering the wine yards. The location ensures a perfect view and silence.

The rooms are well sized, but not exactly large. All feature the same view.

The spa and the outside swimming pool are excellent. The spa offers a large variety.

Dinner is included and served in the main restaurant. The food is without exception very good and with ample diversity. Service is top notch and very friendly.

The wireless internet access – which seems to be a fairly new offering – is not up-to-date. Only one hour is included and requires each time a kind of registration. If you have more the one device... bad luck for the second device or take the expensive daily option.

Disappointing is the fact that smoking at the bar is still on-going and at least one evening the smoke was noticeable in the gourmet restaurant, which is located one floor above the bar.

Room Tip: Panorama suite with a whirlpool; enjoy the view in the evening in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_Asherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Castel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Evaluator on TripAdvisor,

we would like to thank you very much for your statement to your stay at our Hotel and your great compliments, which of course are confirmation and high motivation for our Team.
We assume you travelling a lot and you have the chance to compare between different hotels in various countries, so your opinion is of additional value to us.

We would be pleased to get some more information about the smoking issue at the bar as it is not common in our house to smoke and we will try to go into the matter with your help. Please send us an email to info@hotel-castel.com FAO Daniel Dobitsch.

Weare looking forward to seeing you again, maybe sometime soon, so that we have the chance to provide you a wonderful time in Meran.

Best,

Your Hotel Castel***** and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location with an excellent view of the valley and the mountains from every room is unbeatable. The rooms are spacious and have nice balconies. The interior of the rooms is somewhat old fashioned and some modern design would certainly make a positive difference, nevertheless they are quite comfortable. Breakfast was good and offered a very good veriety of food. The rooms come with half board, i. e. dinner which was tasty although somewhat conservative. The hotel has a Michlin-star restaurant offering very good and innovative cooking.
Service staff is mixed, some very attentive and some scatterbrained.

Negative experiences were the Euro 5 charge for internet use, the 45 min wait for room service with an extra Euro 20 service charge for the room service. Also the lunch menu on the terrace was limited to the hours of 12:30 to 1:45 pm, outside of this time bracket there were about 4 boring dishes available, 3 of them cold.

The hotel is expensive, but all in all I recommend the place if you can live with the shortcomings .

Room Tip: Get a room in the west wing. If you are noise sensitive avoid the rooms above the terrace and the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Castel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Family,

we like to thank you very much for your statement to your stay at our Hotel and your great compliments, which of course are confirmation and high motivation for our Team. We assume you travelling a lot and you have the chance to compare between different hotels in various countries, so your opinion is of additional value to us.

We are looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon so that we have the chance to provide you the outstanding service you are looking for.

Best,

Your Hotel Castel***** and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My husband, our teen and myself really enjoyed our stay at the Castel! This is indeed a well managed hotel, all the employees are eager to please you, the rooms are very nice and the best is the wonderful food! Also the setting of the hotel is breathtaking, from the generous laid out terrace and also from all (!) the rooms you have a beautiful view to the adjacent vineyards and the far below situated Merano (Meran) with its surrounding. We had an „Edelweiss Suite A“ for the three of us with a large bedroom and a likewise sitting room, also the bathroom and the balcony were very spacious. Breakfast was good, with a rich variety of goods. Dinner was always a highlight! We were on halfboard and that was probably the best one we ever had. Every dish was a culinary delight and I have to point out that our familiy is very spoiled as far as fine food is concerned. Once there was also an aperitif where fancy drinks and food were offered. In short, we liked it very much there and we intend to spend a few days at the Castel soon!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Castel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Evaluator on TripAdvisor,

we would like to thank you very much for your statement to your stay at our Hotel and your great compliments, which of course are confirmation and high motivation for our Team.
We will certainly forward your words to the whole team so that you will have the chance to enjoy your stay with us at least as well as the last time.

We are looking forward to seeing you again! What about this summer? :-) Today, we even have 28° C here in Meran...

Best,

Your Hotel Castel***** and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Franz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, Inhaber at Hotel Castel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ceguttilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, Inhaber at Hotel Castel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tirolo hotels
1 mi away
Hotel der Kuglerhof
Hotel der Kuglerhof
#6 of 36 in Tirolo
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golserhof
Golserhof
#4 of 36 in Tirolo
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sonnbichl
Hotel Sonnbichl
#1 of 36 in Tirolo
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gartner
Hotel Gartner
#3 of 36 in Tirolo
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patrizia Wellness & SPA
0.2 mi away
Small & Beautiful Hotel Gnaid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel

Address: Keschtngasse 18, 39019 Tirolo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Tirolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tirolo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tirolo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tirolo
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5* Hotel Castel guarantees all the required comforts and services in order to make you feel, as guests, perfectly at ease. A discreet service in an elegant and stylish ambience, the haut cuisine and the dream landscape are the adyllic frame of a relaxing break from everyday life. Whether you would like to relax yourself sorrounded by an exclusive atmosphere, or give yourself a wonderful thermal vacantion or just enjoy the enchanting view over Merano, you will be pampered by the regards and cares of the qualified team of the hotel.You are in the heart of south-tyrolean mountains. From the huge terrace you can enjoy a dream panorama on the Adige Valley and the city of Merano. All around you the enchanting mountains of South Tyrol. The beauties of nature wake up and come to life alrealdy in the early morning. A deep breath on the balcony of your room in order to taste and enjoy the sparkling morning air and the enchanting natural view: this is the perfect way to start a new relaxing day in South Tyrol.The best service is discreet, but it is able to satisfy every wish and request or doesn´t let them occur. The hostess Evelyn Dobitsch and the young host Daniel Dobitsch ensure that you have everything you need in order to feel completely at ease, like home. Even the kind cares of the personal of the hotel contribute to achieve this perfect condition of well-being of the guests.Chef Cerhard Wieser offers his guests an excellent haute cuisine. The two Michelin stars guarantee an absolut refinement of food and a sophisticated peculiarity of flavours. Chef Wieser serves both the restaurant of the hotel and the trenkerstube; both provide eclusive tastes in a stylish and elegant ambience.A thick network of hiking trails invites to discover and explore nature and the environment sorrounding the hotel. The „Carpe-Diem“ Spa of Hotel Castel offers pure wellness on a surface of 1.200 m². Here Cleopatra´s bath, the sauna, the Serail bath, the hamam, the precious stones bath and an heated outdoor pool are waiting for you. Nearby the hotel there are six golf courses. For convertibles and classic cars lovers are organized special tours, which the hotel is happy to suggest and recommend.44 refined rooms and suites with panoramic view and balcony. The furnishing is elegant – antique forniture and Verona marble bathrooms – and makes the ambience welcoming and warm, inviting to relaxation. Harmonic colours with lively contrasts delineate an unique styl. The interior design reflects the perfect combination between tradition and modernity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Castel Italy/Tirolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing