We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel in a good location”
Review of Hotel Riviera Blu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Blu
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel in a good location”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This hotel is very clean, comfortable with helpful & willing staff. The rroms are slightly small, however contained everything necessary. The proprietor and his staff (family I think) were friendly,always willing to assist in whatever was required and picked us up at Pisa Airport. The breakfast was continental as expected but consisted of corn flakes, yoghurts, fresh fruit salami, ham, cheese, jams and a variety of cakes.
Internet access was available free in the lobby, and al in all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilibet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    97
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
68
126
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The hotels is situated 7km outside Pisa, to get there you have to take the local bus for Tirrenia or call the hotel for their shuttle service.

About the hotel:
- Location is perfect if you want to stay near the sea with a nice beach where you can swim.
- The hotel is very clean and neat, the rooms are good and so is the breakfast.
- Staff is very friendly and helpful, they really make you feel at home.
- If you're looking for a "riviera holiday" without masses of tourists, this is the perfect place!

We regret that we stayed only one night, and we are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snusmumrikarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The hotel is very clean and the staff could not be more helpful. They even offered to get us to Calais, when we were stranded if it had been neccessary. We really enjoyed our stay even though we ended up staying 9 nights instead of 4. There is no evening food during the off season but there are good restaurants in Tirrenia and also if you turn right out of the hotel about 500 yards up the road on the left. Bus stop just outside of hotel to get to Pisa. Would recommend the hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Very pretty looking hotel, recently refurbished. A family run place so very welcoming and helpful with all our enquiries. Bed & breakfast only, room comfortable with balcony, basic amenities but very clean and all we needed. We stayed out of season so the closest restaurants to the hotel had all closed. However we found a fantastic restaurant, which the hotel recommended, about 15 mins walk away. Bus to Pisa stopped just outside the hotel and only took 15/20 mins so that was fine. We would definitely stay there again, although probably in season so we could experience more of the local restaurants when they're open, and spend some time at the beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymccBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as a base for visiting Pisa and Lucca.
The hotel garden is lovely and the rooms are clean and bright with a small balcony.
Super breakfast and great value evening meal. Free internet access.
May appeared to be low season and we were able to access the beach free and walk along the beachfront, however I think it would be packed in high season judging by the number of umbrellas and sun chairs.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montegalda, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Riviera Blu for 3 nights in May for Memorial Day weekend. They had just opened up the beaches so that was no problem for us. There isn't a whole lot to do in Tirrenia except go to the beach so I would really encourage anyone planning on visiting to have access to a car or bike, preferably both because there is no parking after 9a in the mornings especially Sundays. You can leave your car parked and just take the bikes. On the Sunday we were there, there was a huge market about 2 miles left of the hotel if you're facing it from the side walk. It was a great market but quite a walk. Pisa Central Station is only accessible by car or taxi (30 euros). We ended up driving to Pisa and Florence (bring your bikes there too if you can! It'll save you time and your feet!). There is this awesome restaurant called "Gulliver's" or "Bar Gulliver's" across from Continental Hotel on the main road. Really good and reasonably priced. I had the grilled swordfish. YUMMY! Now about the rooms. Our room was the least expensive one, I think we had the double room. The room was small, about 13 feet by 8 feet not including the bathroom. This was okay for us because we were only staying for a few nights. We put our suitcase in the closet to save us some walking space. Had a little balcony facing the street. No complaints about noise. Breakfast was really good, not continental or anything. Mainly croissants, toast, juice and coffee. The front desk was extremely helpful and nice. Both spoke english.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed here overnight because it was nice and near Pisa Airport and were pleased with its level of comfort and cleanliness. Each room has a small balcony and is air-conditioned.

The staff were very helpful and obliging and usually attempted to speak English if your Italian was not fully up to scratch. We had to leave very early for our flight so we did not have the full breakfast, but what we did see looked plentiful.

The hotel is just opposite a number of lidos along the (reclaimed?) beach but you would no doubt have to pay through the nose to use them and the available bits of the coastline are rather rocky. There are many restaurants in all sorts of formats along the beach and in Tirrenia.

Very handy for sightseeing in Pisa and Lucca and a bargain rate for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable - recently decorated
  • Disliked — There was unfortunately no lift.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#3 of 7 in Tirrenia
510 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
724 reviews
1.5 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Tirrenia
131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Park Resort - TH Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Blu

Property: Hotel Riviera Blu
Address: Viale del Tirreno 15, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Blu 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Blu is a modern 3* hotel, recently refurbished. A new management that assures a warm welcoming in a friendly and familiar atmosphere. Our main priorities are: kindness, clean and comfortable rooms, efficient service.Our hotel is a small building, in which we have invested more than ever, to create a place where you can feel at home. The hotel is located in a small village near the sea called TIRRENIA, only 11 km from PISA.Here you can enjoy our mild Mediterranean climate.We are inside Migliarino San Rossore Massaciucoli Natural Park, here you can find peace and quietness for your relax.A good reason to choose our hotel is also because of our strategic location, you can reach the centre of Pisa in only 15 min by car or 30 min by bus, there are bustops to Pisa and Livorno at only a few metres distance.We have a private carpark inside the hotel, but you can also park outside on the street in front.This is also an advantage compared to the difficulty of the city center where the few car parks are pay and display.From our hotel you can easily reach many other places in Tuscany.We have a shuttle service for arrivals and departures to/from Pisa Airport and Train station and also to/from Livorno train station and port. This service has to be requested in advance and is available every day from 8:00 am to 00:00 am.Free WI-FI coverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riviera Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Blu Hotel
Riviera Blu Tirrenia
Hotel Riviera Blu Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing