We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Out of 5 hotels that we stayed in this is the best! Would come back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Out of 5 hotels that we stayed in this is the best! Would come back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling italty for 2 weeks and had our last night here. We arrived and although they could not find our booking it was not a problem. The gentleman was very helpful and gave us lots of information about the hotel and area. We had room 105 which was perfect, clean, spacious, lovely clean towels. Breakfast good as most hotels offer fresh fruit, breads, cakes etc. We arrived back at hotel about 7.30 and the lady at the pool allowed us to enter pool as closing at 8.00. Very friendly abs helpful. This really is a great hotel with pool and outdoor jacuzzi. Shame we only stayed one night. Took bus into Pisa 5 euro return and within 15 mins walking to beach. Would come back maybe a weeks holiday in this area at this hotel would recommend. Thank you for making our last night in Italy so enjoyable

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mallardavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    51
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
63
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
diani beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We got there in the evening and the check in was done by the receptionist who was not friendly at all, he told us 3 times that we should not smoke in the room keep the doors and windows close.
We try to get the code ( 30 figures and letters mixed up)of there wi-fi in our iPads and after times we given up and ask the receptionist to do it and he somehow managed to get us connected.
He told us that they can not change the password for a more easy access password, very strange, never seen that before.. The breakfast was basic but at least the hotel crew was more helpful then the night receptionist. It looks like it is a sort of family/friends run hotel and not a hotel run by professionals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safarikees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibelli, receptionist at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
I'm the receptionist that checked-in you at the Hotel. I'm very sorry for your complain about my work. I didn't want to be unprofessional and not nice with you as I always try to do my work in the best way.
We are the only Smoke-free Hotel in Tirrenia because we believe that it's better to take a breath of fresh air and sleep well and for this reason we want to explain in the best way this simple (and the only one) rule of our Hotel. I'm also sorry for explained you one time over the necessary.
As concern the wi-fi password it's not up to us because we had password directly from Telecom Italia Company (TIM) and we are not allowed to change it. Anyway it was enough to insert it correctly (as I did) to let it works.
We serve a buffet breakfast including:
-a selections of 7 different kinds of croissant baked every morning and 3 types of different cakes
-a selection of 5 different kinds of italian breads and 2 kinds (white and whole) sandwich bread for toast
-a selection of fresh fruits (apples, banana, pineapple, melon, water-melon, kiwi , peach etc...)
-a selection of ham and cheese
- mixed fruit and plain yougurt
- a selection of blended italian coffee, cappuccino, american coffee, 5 kinds of tea, hot chocolate
We thought that for a 3 star hotel like us it's good enough. In Italy a basic breakfast is coffee/cappuccino and croissant.
The owner's family run this Hotel since 1972 and one of our distinguishing features is that we are a Family/Friends hotel and we are very proud of it also because the majority of our guests really appreciate it. But we know that we are not the only Hotel in Pisa Area, there are many more "professional" than us.
Anyway we always appreciate good and worst reviews from guests so we will defenitly improve our work task.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Dropped onto this gem of a hotel by pure chance while motorcycling down Italy to Livorno for the ferry to Corsica. Lovely and clean, quiet location near the bars and restaurants, a top breakfast and helpful staff, what more could you ask for, seek it out if your there. Oh and very handy for Pisa and the tower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermo, Italy
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a relief it is when the people at the hotel welcome you in such a friendly way. For us it was hassle free, comfortable and friendly. We even got a discount on the golf at Cosmopolitan thrown in. We had an easy walk into town and breakfast was all that we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linglese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family and I returned to the Hotel Bristol for probably the seventh or eighth time at the beginning of August and everything was as lovely as always. The hotel is beautifully clean, rooms cleaned and towels changed daily, AC in every room, wonderful breakfast (my son managed 4-5 pastries most mornings!!) and great staff who put the finishing touches to a fantastic holiday. The hotel is within easy walking distance of beaches or you can borrow the bicycles at no charge and cycle to other beaches in Marina di Pisa only 20 minutes away. The local bus service to Pisa or Livorna and then the train onto Florence or Lucca is easy to use so a car isn't necessary.

We will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seubersdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

I have been several times, but this was our 2nd "Family trip" to Tirrenia, Italy. We knew what we wanted, shopped around and we weren't disappointed!

First of all, this is a "Beach Town" for tourists...just know that before you get here. Don't expect the "beautiful Tuscany countryside" because you aren't going to get it...If that's what you are looking for, then Tirrenia isn't for you.

As for the hotel, this is a small, family run hotel that is very clean and with great service. We were a bit skeptical at first because we would have preferred to stay a bit closer to the beach, but our first impression and impression throughout was that the hotel staff wanted to make us feel comfortable which put our minds at ease.

We are a family of 4 (kids 7 and 3 yrs) and the apartment was perfect for us. The two kids slept in the living/dining room and my Wife and I slept comfortably in the bedroom. No issues at all with the room as the AC worked correctly in both rooms and room service did a great job daily.

The downside to this hotel is that you will have to drive to one of the beaches and pay 12-15 Euro daily (none are included with this hotel as it is with many others) for use of an umbrella and chairs. And it's not near the middle of Tirrenia for the restaurants and nightlife, but that turned out as a plus for us.

As previously mentioned, a family with younger chidren so a 15 min walk to and from dinner was actually a nice way to end a long day and get back to a nice, quiet place to sleep. What we gave up in convenience and maybe even savings, we more than got back in comfort and relaxation.

We would definitely recommend this hotel...at least I know where we will be staying in the future!

Room Tip: Our review was based on our stay in one of the 2-room apartments. For a family wth young children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed at the Hotel Bristol in June 2011. Being a family of 5, we opted for one of the hotel’s apartments rather than two rooms in the hotel. This seemed more practical since we wanted to stay together and the apartment was equipped with a small kitchenette. The apartments are also closer to the swimming pool, although none of the apartments open directly to the pool.

Our intent was to stay at the hotel for nine nights, but reduced this to six nights based primarily on the condition of the apartment. The apartment was comprised of one bedroom, a living/dining/kitchen room and one bathroom. A small paved area in front of the apartment was provided with a plastic table and four chairs that appeared to be purchased at a flea market. Two of the four chairs were broken and everything was dirty and discolored. We tried to clean it ourselves but eventually gave up realizing it was a lost cause. A tablecloth that we purchased ourselves helped moderately. It should be noted that the one descent table and chairs located at the swimming pool was often occupied by the owner’s mother and father who live in one of the apartments.

In order to accommodate sleeping arrangements for 5 persons, two single beds were placed in the living/dining/kitchen room. The one bedroom provided sleeping quarters for the other three guests. As a result of this arrangement, there were no sofas or seating arrangement where we could sit together and play card games or just talk over soda and wine. A rectangular sofa placed in one corner of the living/dining/kitchen room was more appropriate for a household pet.

The bedroom was the only room equipped with an air conditioning unit, and it was positioned so that the cold air blew directly upon the head of the queen size bed. The remote control was removed from the apartment on the fourth day for no apparent reason other than a technician saying that the apartment needed to be balanced. It didn’t matter at that point since I was already sick from having cold air blown on my face for four nights. The last two nights were miserably hot and uncomfortable.

The bathroom was also poorly configured although it appeared to be newly remodeled.
On a positive note, the Hotel Bristol is fairly clean, the swimming pool is inviting, breakfast is simple but good, and the location is a short walk to beach.

Before implementation of the Euro currency, travelers who went to Southern European destinations assumed and expected that the overall standard would be slightly lower than their northern counterparts. This was acceptable because of the lower cost for hotels, rental cars, food, etc. However, the Euro has leveled the playing field and it’s no longer a value to travel South except for the consistent hot summer weather. For this reason, expectations are naturally higher but we were disappointed. To make matters worse, we were charged an extra night penalty for leaving early and for playing tennis even though never informed that there was a cost associated with this activity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lcarabajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
8.7 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#2 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#3 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
7.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via delle Felci 38 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing