We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Hotel Bristol Apartment”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Hotel Bristol Apartment”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed at the Hotel Bristol in June 2011. Being a family of 5, we opted for one of the hotel’s apartments rather than two rooms in the hotel. This seemed more practical since we wanted to stay together and the apartment was equipped with a small kitchenette. The apartments are also closer to the swimming pool, although none of the apartments open directly to the pool.

Our intent was to stay at the hotel for nine nights, but reduced this to six nights based primarily on the condition of the apartment. The apartment was comprised of one bedroom, a living/dining/kitchen room and one bathroom. A small paved area in front of the apartment was provided with a plastic table and four chairs that appeared to be purchased at a flea market. Two of the four chairs were broken and everything was dirty and discolored. We tried to clean it ourselves but eventually gave up realizing it was a lost cause. A tablecloth that we purchased ourselves helped moderately. It should be noted that the one descent table and chairs located at the swimming pool was often occupied by the owner’s mother and father who live in one of the apartments.

In order to accommodate sleeping arrangements for 5 persons, two single beds were placed in the living/dining/kitchen room. The one bedroom provided sleeping quarters for the other three guests. As a result of this arrangement, there were no sofas or seating arrangement where we could sit together and play card games or just talk over soda and wine. A rectangular sofa placed in one corner of the living/dining/kitchen room was more appropriate for a household pet.

The bedroom was the only room equipped with an air conditioning unit, and it was positioned so that the cold air blew directly upon the head of the queen size bed. The remote control was removed from the apartment on the fourth day for no apparent reason other than a technician saying that the apartment needed to be balanced. It didn’t matter at that point since I was already sick from having cold air blown on my face for four nights. The last two nights were miserably hot and uncomfortable.

The bathroom was also poorly configured although it appeared to be newly remodeled.
On a positive note, the Hotel Bristol is fairly clean, the swimming pool is inviting, breakfast is simple but good, and the location is a short walk to beach.

Before implementation of the Euro currency, travelers who went to Southern European destinations assumed and expected that the overall standard would be slightly lower than their northern counterparts. This was acceptable because of the lower cost for hotels, rental cars, food, etc. However, the Euro has leveled the playing field and it’s no longer a value to travel South except for the consistent hot summer weather. For this reason, expectations are naturally higher but we were disappointed. To make matters worse, we were charged an extra night penalty for leaving early and for playing tennis even though never informed that there was a cost associated with this activity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lcarabajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    67
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
88
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This hotel is small but so excellent. It is owned and operated by a wonderful family who all speak English, as does all of the staff. It is a bed & breakfast set-up with a lovely continental breakfast in a beautiful, sunny room. The rooms, while not extremely large, are en-suite, many with balconies, and there is a comfortable family room style bar on the main floor. We were caught in the Iceland volcanic ash fiasco and there was no problem at all with extending our stay. A wonderful place to stay!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We were to stay four days here, and found the hotel excellent. It was spotlessly clean, towels changed every day, breakfast good and generally very satisfactory. After two days I had a medical problem, and we had to return home unexpectedly. The proprietor and his staff were extremely helpful, and I cannot praise them enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I spent a very relaxing night in a clean, comfortable, and quiet room. The fact that not only the rooms, but the entire hotel is smoke-free, made my stay that much more pleasurable. The availability of internet access is certainly a plus. This is a family run hotel that offers outstanding service and a very good complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriguidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed 10 days, although the weather was `changeable` about 4 massive thunderstorms found this little resort most pleasing. Adequate number of pretty good restaurants and bars. The sea is some way off from the front through parks of pine trees etc. The actual front is a bit of a disappointment, but on the odd day we managed to get on the beach, deckchairs and sunbeds all in lines, with bathing huts. Most civilised. Hotel Bristol was v good value for money, lovely swimming pool, hotel was maintained well and v clean. Helpful and friendly staff. The superior rooms are indeed very nice with good big beds and modern decor. Very good breakfasts, with fresh fruit, pastries and meat and chees. Everything you wish for (except an English fry up). The area is lovely with lots of different pines, very green everywhere and perfect for trips to Firenze, Sienna, Pisa and Lucca (lovely). Trains work very well, the only down side beint the awful bus service from Tirrenia to Pisa. But all in all a smashing place, a little old fashioned but that's alright!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baildon west yorks
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

After a terrible start to our holiday in Pisa(the hotel we booked was full!!)we were taken to the Hotel Bristol. What a stroke of luck!
The Hotel was absolutely brilliant.The staff were the friendliest we have ever encountered. The rooms were clean and although small,very comfortable. The man on the front desk gave us all the advice we asked for. We found Tirrenia to be small but would recommend it to anyone.As a base it was good as the bus service to Pisa was excellent. We also found it strange that the Bristol was only 3 star as we thought that it deserved to be more.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ontglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2004

This was a great hotel at a great price. The hotel staff was possibly the friendliest, most helpful we've encountered in our travels throughout Europe. The room was a standard European sized room (small by American standards), but very clean. The breakfast was great as well. The pool was very impressive. The staff speaks English well. There is gated parking. The room included a VHS, DVD and Playstation. The hotel has a selection of movies and games to use for no charge. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#3 of 7 in Tirrenia
511 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#2 of 7 in Tirrenia
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Green Park Resort - TH Resorts
7.8 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
727 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via delle Felci 38 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing