We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Good Choice in Tirrenia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Golf
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
406 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“A Good Choice in Tirrenia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Grand Hotel Golf has been in Tirrenia for many years. it is showing its age, but remains a nice place to stay. The staff is very responsive and friendly. They are also multi-lingual. The location is excellent, only a few minutes walk to any place in the Tirrenia downtown. Despite it's proximity to the town center, it is quiet, leafy and relaxed. The Golf offers some excellent value, particularly in the off-season.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    90
    80
    52
    28
See reviews for
69
113
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute whilst on a road trip to Pisa. On arrival at the hotel, at gone midnight, they had no evidence of our booking and even though I was able to show them the confirmation email on my phone, they were reluctant to give us a room. After I left my boyfriend to deal with the issue, a very annoyed receptionist eventually gave us a room, who then in anger left the front desk and stomped outside to have a cigarette!
I have to admit the room was lovely, very spacious with plenty of cupboard space if you needed it. The views were not great and showed that the hotels facilities are in definite need of some TLC. Breakfast was average as far as continental breakfast goes.
There was ample parking at the hotel and the drive back in to Pisa was quite pretty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, clean and spacious rooms, helpful staff, low price.
BUT
the hotel has not been renovated for a quarter of century. Too old furniture, smell of old structure, sealing full of spots, unacceptable condition of the bath equipment - see the photos. The breakfast was very poor, with the cheapest ham and cheese and only one kind of croissant. Coffee machine was awful.
Deserves 2* at max

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tirrenia hotels

barnsley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel for four nights in early October.We arrived at the hotel late at night and our check in went very smoothly.Simone on reception spoke very good English and the room she gave us was very good with a golf course view.However on realising some rooms had sea views I asked if there was any chance of moving to one.She moved us to 506 with no problem or extra charge.The balcony was quite large with a table and two chairs and the view was exceptional .We saw the most amazing sunset each evening before going out.

The bed was six foot wide and very comfortable. The room was a good size with plenty of wardrobe space ,mini bar ,telephone and the bathroom had a bath,shower and bidet,The one thing it was short of was tea and coffee making facilities so bring your own.The best sea view rooms are numbered 06,07,and 08 the floors being numbered up to 7 so 506 is on the 5th floor.

The breakfast is typically contintental with bread rolls ,ham,cheese ,choice of cereals, fruit, cakes ,tea,coffee and juice and is buffet style so you can eat enough to last until dinner.The foyer of the Hotel as a series of very comfortable settees and chairs. There is a decent size swimming pool and a tennis court.Car parking is tight but there is plenty of room just outside the main entrance. The Hotel could do with a lick of paint externally but don't let that put you off.

Tirrenia has a very long sandy beach and the buses to Pisa and Livorno are at least every half hour and incredibly cheap if you buy your ticket at the shop near the main bus stop. Buses take 30 minutes to both cities.It will take you around ten minutes to walk to the centre from the Hotel. Miracle square in Pisa is unmissable, the buildings are incredible and it will cost you fifteen euros to climb the 300 steps to the top of the leaning tower but the views are worth the effort and cost.Trains from Pisa to Florence cost 7.3 euros each way and take one hour and twenty mins.Buy your return ticket at Pisa as Florence ticket office is very busy.

All in all a very good value Hotel in an excellent location for seeing Tuscany.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to ask to change your room or ask for balcony furniture.The staff are execcent and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The good points of this hotel was that there was a large breakfast, adequate parking, elevators, and generous sized rooms. Still, I thought it was grossly over-priced. No wifi or internet access (except in the lobby- which never worked), old bathrooms with crumbly walls, no deadbolts on the doors, a nice balcony but with no outdoor furniture and only one desk chair so only one person could go out at a time. The bed was uncomfortable and the room smelled musty to me. There was water damage and broken floor tiles in the hallway. It seemed dodgy and old. I would stay elsewhere if at all possible. It seemed that they mostly catered to large groups (as we were one as well). Our room overlooked the parking garage and so I would think it would be much cheaper, but it was the same price as everyone else's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OverseasIowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days in September. It might have been 'grand' 60 years ago and is over due for a revamp. The room looked over the golf course and was a good size but tired and dated. The bathroom was the size of a double bedroom but awful shower over the bath with a shower curtain that needed replacing. Very hard bed but that seems standard in Italy! This is the first hotel I've ever stayed in that they change the linen everyday....Impressive but hardly necessary.
The pool was lovely, nice loungers and umbrellas. Staff were nice, helpful and professional.
(Please clean out the fish tank guys!) Breakfast was OK but uninspiring. Wifi not available in the rooms.
Can't comment on the restaurant ... too many in the town to choose from.
Loved the little card tables ... I guess they will go if it gets a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I got a last minute break here so did not get a chance to check out any reviews but it is most definitely a hotel in need of a complete makeover . It is 3 star at best and I believe it is only the pool & golf course that get it the 5 star rating. It is stuck in it's only little time warp of the 70's for it's fixtures and fittings. However having said all these negatives some positives are it is clean , spacious rooms and a good location. Also all the staff were faultless , very friendly and very helpful. Had we paid a lot of money for this we would have had cause for complaint but as we got it at a very cheap price we felt we had value for money, do NOT pay 5 star prices to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britbabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#3 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#2 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
1.8 mi away
Green Park - TH Resorts
Green Park - TH Resorts
#1 of 2 in Calambrone
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 67 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Golf

Property: Grand Hotel Golf
Address: Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Grand Hotel Golf Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing