We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again by choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here for just one night on business. The communal areas are acceptable. It looks like they're trying to update the hotel but it has been left in areas. For example, the room was modern, wooden floors, great bed, very acceptable. Then you went into the bathroom. Which was so damp the ceiling was flaking off all over the floor and back of the toilet. The floor had water stains which again were from the ceiling as it had dried with white marks around it. The shower head moved with the pressure of the water, the whole room was horrible. But it was one night, I didn't complain. No full length mirror in the room. And be sure to take plug adapters. Italy has this stupid system of 3 pin European plugs, normal 2 pin plugs don't work. They do in some places but not in this hotel. The staff I found abrupt, they hung up the phone on me before I could finish my sentence. This hotel is also coach trip friendly. My room was over the restaurant so from 6.30am you heard chairs scrapping, cutlery scraping against plates. Breakfast was ok, no gluten free or lactose free options. As a Crohn's and celiac sufferer, that left me with scrambled eggs. Hopefully I'll never stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank SpanishScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 534 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed one night on in December 2013. Dinner was acceptable, breakfast was ok. Rooms were clean enough. Recommend one takes Lysol and bleach wipes just in case. The bathroom was small, kind of dingy, and the shower tight for one person only. Water drained slowly, so shower quickly. The staff was wonderful. Staff also had a great map of Pisa to help one plan their time. Olympic sized pool and Jacuzzi looked interesting. It was nice looking from the balcony to the beach. I was about a two minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyInWaiting_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed one night on a bus tour to Rome from Germany in December 2013. We were two buses with over one hundred tourists. Dinner was acceptable, breakfast was ok. Rooms were clean enough but the toilet had a scratch which made it look like someone just used it. That's always disturbing. Room carpet should have been changed two years ago. Pool was a non-issue since it was winter. The hotel looks like it was elegant a couple of decades ago but no longer. I would go back to the hotel based on price and not expect too much but a clean room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oicelemmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a really nice room for the price with sea view and the reception staff was really friendly helping us getting reservations for restaurants, etc. HOWEVER do not use the hotel restaurant. The chef de service was arrogant and totally unfriendly. We had to sit at the worst table in the whole room with the service table just beside our table (so the service staff passed our table every few seconds to get or bring back the menus, cutlery or cheese for the other guest, not something you would expect in a restaurant of a four star hotel...), even if half of the restaurant was empty. Apparently all tables were reserved but most of them remained emptly until we left at after 9.30 pm.... the food was really not good, we even had stomach problems afterwards.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel looks like its best days have already passed (in late 80ties) but it still has a great attractions like:

- an Olympic-sized swimming pool
- a private beach (a bit crowded though)
- good location close to the restaurants and on the beachside
- impressive breakfast

The interior is weary and needs renovation.

The overall we enjoyed our short stay as we appreciated the above mentioned attractions

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iv_Ka_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from a week here.Had a great time.Hotel could do with a bit of a facelift, however, Staff helpful & friendly, Pool excellent, great to have towels provided for pool or beach use. Restaurant good, although some days the choices were a little to be questioned. All in all a great place to be based to explore the surrounding areas of Tuscany, Buses every 15mins to Pisa and then a good train service to Florence, Luca and many other towns at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeymouthJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week, half board & couldn't have asked for more in terms of the quality/selection of food available & the service provided. The rooms could do with an update but the olympic sized swimming pool & nearby beach are ideal for relaxing. The hotel is a great base for visiting Pisa, Florence & Lucca but Tirrenia itself doesn't have a lot to offer. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay!

1  Thank Sarah E Barker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green Park Resort - TH Resorts
9.2 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#2 of 7 in Tirrenia
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Golf
Grand Hotel Golf
#7 of 7 in Tirrenia
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Via Belvedere 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range: $102 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing