We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wouldn't stay again by choice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again by choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for just one night on business. The communal areas are acceptable. It looks like they're trying to update the hotel but it has been left in areas. For example, the room was modern, wooden floors, great bed, very acceptable. Then you went into the bathroom. Which was so damp the ceiling was flaking off all over the floor and back of the toilet. The floor had water stains which again were from the ceiling as it had dried with white marks around it. The shower head moved with the pressure of the water, the whole room was horrible. But it was one night, I didn't complain. No full length mirror in the room. And be sure to take plug adapters. Italy has this stupid system of 3 pin European plugs, normal 2 pin plugs don't work. They do in some places but not in this hotel. The staff I found abrupt, they hung up the phone on me before I could finish my sentence. This hotel is also coach trip friendly. My room was over the restaurant so from 6.30am you heard chairs scrapping, cutlery scraping against plates. Breakfast was ok, no gluten free or lactose free options. As a Crohn's and celiac sufferer, that left me with scrambled eggs. Hopefully I'll never stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank SpanishScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    197
    119
    35
    19
See reviews for
145
142
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed one night on in December 2013. Dinner was acceptable, breakfast was ok. Rooms were clean enough. Recommend one takes Lysol and bleach wipes just in case. The bathroom was small, kind of dingy, and the shower tight for one person only. Water drained slowly, so shower quickly. The staff was wonderful. Staff also had a great map of Pisa to help one plan their time. Olympic sized pool and Jacuzzi looked interesting. It was nice looking from the balcony to the beach. I was about a two minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyInWaiting_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed one night on a bus tour to Rome from Germany in December 2013. We were two buses with over one hundred tourists. Dinner was acceptable, breakfast was ok. Rooms were clean enough but the toilet had a scratch which made it look like someone just used it. That's always disturbing. Room carpet should have been changed two years ago. Pool was a non-issue since it was winter. The hotel looks like it was elegant a couple of decades ago but no longer. I would go back to the hotel based on price and not expect too much but a clean room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oicelemmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a really nice room for the price with sea view and the reception staff was really friendly helping us getting reservations for restaurants, etc. HOWEVER do not use the hotel restaurant. The chef de service was arrogant and totally unfriendly. We had to sit at the worst table in the whole room with the service table just beside our table (so the service staff passed our table every few seconds to get or bring back the menus, cutlery or cheese for the other guest, not something you would expect in a restaurant of a four star hotel...), even if half of the restaurant was empty. Apparently all tables were reserved but most of them remained emptly until we left at after 9.30 pm.... the food was really not good, we even had stomach problems afterwards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel looks like its best days have already passed (in late 80ties) but it still has a great attractions like:

- an Olympic-sized swimming pool
- a private beach (a bit crowded though)
- good location close to the restaurants and on the beachside
- impressive breakfast

The interior is weary and needs renovation.

The overall we enjoyed our short stay as we appreciated the above mentioned attractions

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iv_Ka_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from a week here.Had a great time.Hotel could do with a bit of a facelift, however, Staff helpful & friendly, Pool excellent, great to have towels provided for pool or beach use. Restaurant good, although some days the choices were a little to be questioned. All in all a great place to be based to explore the surrounding areas of Tuscany, Buses every 15mins to Pisa and then a good train service to Florence, Luca and many other towns at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeymouthJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week, half board & couldn't have asked for more in terms of the quality/selection of food available & the service provided. The rooms could do with an update but the olympic sized swimming pool & nearby beach are ideal for relaxing. The hotel is a great base for visiting Pisa, Florence & Lucca but Tirrenia itself doesn't have a lot to offer. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E Barker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green Park - TH Resorts
Green Park - TH Resorts
#1 of 2 in Calambrone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.1 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: Via Belvedere 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing