We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Continental
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riviera Blu(Tirrenia)
$174
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Euro Hotel(Tirrenia)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bristol(Tirrenia)
$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Florida(Tirrenia)
$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manzi(Marina di Pisa)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
115
226
149
45
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
226
149
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe busswimming poolwear a swimming caplovely hotelthe staff were friendly and helpfulfree parkingpisa airportsea viewthe underground car parkbig lobbybreakfast buffet isreserved for hotel guestsbit outdatedtop tiprestaurant foodsmall town
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 562 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

In the US, you just don't see any hotels with an Olympic-sized pool, and the one here was lovely. Our sons, ages 9, 12, and 15 loved it, even with the required swim cap. Plenty of beach chairs and pool loungers, even in June, and these were included in the cost of the room.

We had a family room on the first floor. The location would have been poor if our children were younger, as the lounge singer could be heard until 11:00 from the room, but it didn't impact us very negatively. The room was nice, and was a connector, which was an unexpected bonus.... We didn't stay in many hotels where, as a parent, you could close an interior door:).

There is not much public beach area; each hotel seems to maintain a stretch of its "own" beach, and you are encouraged to stay in this area. The water in June was marvelous; gentle tide and sand bottom. Also fairly shallow, which would make it great for even younger kids. Lots of merchants wandering the beach offering goods for sale, but they were polite. We ate on the beach at a a little open air restaurant, the Mary, and the service was very friendly. The woman at the counter told us weekends were kind of crazy, so I'm glad we we there on a Thursday, when the atmosphere was laid back. This hotel is a great spot to unwind right on the beach if you are sightseeing in Pisa and looking for an overnight on the water, which we were.

The number one rated restaurant in town is about 200 yards from the front of the hotel; we ate here and it was probably the best pizza I have ever eaten. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear evening music, ask for a room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roamingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while travelling around italy lately. It is a lovely hotel right on the beach .The room is a bit dated but very comfortable. The breakfast was great , lots to choose from .The area is lovely with shops and cafes. The private beach is super , had lovely long walk on it .We didnt eat in the restaurent , instead sampled the nearby resaurent .
We had a lovely relaxing time at this hotel and would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the grand hotel continental for 2 weeks in June, the decor of the hotel was ok nothing too grand but nice always clean and the rooms tho basic where very clean (cleaned on a daily basis if you wanted ) shower was fabulous , large beds. The one thing they only had 2 English chanels on the telly (news + music chanel with song from the 60's to late 80's.)

It does how ever only have 2 small lifts which you have to get in sharpish as they do not have sencors on them and they will close on you!!!! (dont press the floor you want till your inside).

The pool was absolutely freezing and took your breath when you got in it, but as the days warmed up abit so did the pool, very large very clean! plenty of sunbeds so no rushing down early in the morning to grab one.Life guard always there and it is conpulsory to wear a swimming cap (the hotel do supply these with a bag too bonus) and the life guard will tell you to wear it, to be honest i wasn't bothered i thought it's more hygienic.
They do have a small gym if your abit of a fitness fan im not so i didnt use it !!

We stayed half board and well worth the money, plenty to choose from at breakfast they would alternate sausage/bacon but always scrambled egg hard boiled egg -cereal-toast-continental-fruit-yoghurt as much as you like. At tea time which was served from 7.30pm i just couldn't fault it always very hot, upto 6 courses i was stuffed loved it and i'd try food i'd never eaten before, ( be aware that if you have bottled water on your table they charge 3.50 euro a bottle they do ask you first tho )
The bar staff where very nice but if you didnt have the right money they would moan, they never had enough change in the till, which got on my nervse as it made me feel as i didn't want to go get a drink, they would rather charge it to your room. (which we where told quite oftern).

There are plenty of restaurants close by to hotel, and few shops but once you'd seen them! There is a local shop only a 15min stroll away, Conads go there if you need anything. it cheap turn right at end of road from hotel!! ( not the COOP which Thomsons info told us to go it's miles away )
There are plenty of little stalls just outside hotel to buy prezzies from and they pretty much the same price every where. on a Tuesday they have another market just by the bus stop.
There is just one thing there where a lot of looki looki men tryin to sell you sunglasses /watches etc but this was mainly in the main towns DONOT buy anything as it's NOT illegal for them to sell it but it IS illegal to buy it so don't be tempted.

We went into Pisa few times very nice town (make sure you get your bus tickets BEFORE you get on the bus) these can be got from the paper shop just around the corner from hotel 2.30 euro each way, it takes about 20/25 mins get to Pisa and you have just got to go up the tower 15 euro
there are a lot of steps but worth it fantastic views from the top.
We went to Lucca its a must to hire a bike and ride around the wall, trust me i'm not very good on a bike but i really enjoyed it. Everyone rides around on a bicycle from 5 to 95 they are everywhere!! thats how the Italians keep thin!!!
Florence is beautiful and a shoppers paradise, easily got to by train from Pisa 7.10 euro each way some trains go straight thru, some stop at every station which puts an extra 40mins on the journey and when it's hot phew!!!! Also the buses dont count how many people they let on them and at busy times they can be rammed with far too many peolpe and again when it's hot it's Not pleasant at all.
It so easy to get around on public transport and lot cheaper just do a bit of research before you go .

Over all we did have fab holiday GO I THINK YOU'D LIKE IT, HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel has all the right features for this area, ocean property, large olympic pool, restaurants. The hotel has quaint rooms that are clean. The service can be a little iffy, we had good and bad experiences at the front desk. The beach isn't that great for swimming with a lot of vegetation in the water which might be typical of this part of the coast. Although air conditioned we never got our room under 80F when 90 outside. The area had the feel of an older vacation area that might have peaked 20 years ago,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyZ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Myself and a mate visited Terrenia and we stayed at the Grand Hotel Continental. Yes, the hotel is slightly dated and looks quite 1970's. Regardless on the hotel looking dated I had a great time staying there. The staff are so friendly and accomadating and helpful. It was very rare that a staff member never said hello or smiled when passing them in the hotel. The rooms are a good size with twin beds, decent size bathroom/shower rooms. Fresh towels every day, sheets changed every other day I think. The cleaners were very nice and friendly. We must not forget the cleaners, they are important too. TV in the room on the wall and wi-fi available from two euros for two hours, which the minutes only decrease when you use the wi-fi. If you don't use it the minutes remain until you do use it. The name with the title of the hotel is Grand - and it certainly is. Please, please don't be put off by the look of the hotel from the outside, and it isn't a 2012 decor, but it certainly is Grand and very clean inside.
At the front of the hotel there is a street of markets opposite the hotel. Most of them sell the same items, but be warned that when you approach the market they pester you to buy something. That really annoyed me, but barter with them with a price.
The hotel pool
proudly sports an amazing Olympic size swimming pool, sometimes too cold for me, but when using the pool or private beach to the hotel, fresh towels were issued from the very lovely friendly staff by pool side. One of the nicest staff member there was Jr. He was very friendly and always smiling. Again the staff where very friendly and quite chatty.
The beach
was the cleanest beach area that I have chilled on. All beach areas to indevidual hotels were private and only people at the hotels can only use that particular beach area. A black guy on the Continentals private beach would escort you to the Grand Continental area, he would clean the litter from the beach and he was always keeping a watchful eye out for any possible issues. Very chilled beach.
The food.
The food was nice and filling. You would begin with a buffet of many selections, then a starter, then the main, then a sweet. The portions were very generous and the restaurant staff were very friendly, accomadating, chatty and helpful. My fav' waitress was the very lovely Melissa.
Breakfast
Very good selection of food hot and cold. Plenty of food and something for everyone to start their day.
Overall... I loved the hotel and certainly would stay there again. We stayed there from 16-23 June 2012.
Have a lovely time there and I hope that my trip advisor information assisted you in making a decision in staying at this lovely, clean hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view. Best area for sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RandyB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews