We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Continental
Nearby Hotels
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Florida(Tirrenia)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Euro Hotel(Tirrenia)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bristol(Tirrenia)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera Blu(Tirrenia)
$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuscany Resort(Calambrone)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manzi(Marina di Pisa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
111
228
145
42
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
228
145
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe busswimming poolwear a swimming caplovely hotelfree parkingpisa airportsea viewthe underground car parkbig lobbybreakfast buffet isreserved for hotel guestsbit outdatedtop tiprestaurant foodsmall townhotel staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 552 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

There is nothing wrong with the place, but in not a 4 stars.
I wouldn't pay more than 80euros.
Is a normal 3 stars hotel.
Service was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xabf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My Family stopped at this hotel for two weeks in August, when we first arrived we thought it looked a little shabby, But once you go inside you find a very nice hotel and very nice staff.
The food was excellent and our waiter was excellent, Whilst in Italy it was Ferragosto which ment lots of celebrating, The meal on the 15th of August was fantastic and far too much to eat, this was all part of the celebration.
The hotel is a stroll away from a lovely beach, the bus stop to go to Pisa is only at the end of the road from the hotel and the trip to Pisa is around 30 mins.
Don't do the organised trips, go to Pisa on the bus and you can have a day there or get the train to Florence or Lucca all are well worth a visit.
The only negative thing about the hotel is you have to wear a swimming hat whilst in the lovely pool.
This is a brilliant hotel, excellent base for tripping out around the area but also lovely just to stay around the pool or down on the beach.
I would highly recommend this hotel and its excellent staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robbothemainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip with a group. The room was booked by our local counterparts and we got substantial discount from the rack rate.
The hotel is conveniently located just 20 minutes drive from Pisa Airport. It looked a bit outdated on outside. The rooms were not small but the furniture and equipment reminded of 80ies. It was clean and quiet. There was just one socket with a 3 socket extension. Two of these were taken by TV and fridge, so you had to choose one to stop if you want to charge both computer and cell phone.
Internet was available by purchasing prepaid cards from reception. A 12 euro card provided 24 hours access with only time logged counting. This sufficed for 3 days after work private e-mails and some surfing, but would be pricey for in room working.
Breakfast was typical for Italian hotels with nice croissants, sweets and meats, but lacking vegetables and natural juices. Coffee was OK as almost anywhere in Italy.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant and instead visited numerous small restaurants around. I would specially recommend “Lo Qualo” for fresh fish and seafood at reasonable prices. The Piropo pizzeria is also an option for pizzas and pasta on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I was a tourist and a guest in June 2011 and feel financially raped by the Grand Hotel Continental.

Three months after being a guest at the hotel I received certified mail parking ticket for 86€ from STADT PIZA for parking in front of the hotel.

Fact is I was never informed nor did the reception staff clearly communicate any parking fee requirements for parking in front of the hotel. This is highly unethical and implies that the Hotel is not interested in taking care or their tourist guests.

Several times the officials from the city of Piza have requested for you " The Hotel Continental" to contact the local police and resolve this. Hotel Continental refused to help. I ended up paying a 86€ parking ticket. I RECOMMEND STAYING AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS – OR IT WILL COST YOU IN THE END: MANAGEMENT IS UNETHICAL AND MORE INTERESTED IN PROFIT THAN IN CUSTOMER SERVICE:

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FinanciallyRaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is situated very close to the beach, which in true Italian style is sectioned off with lines of coloured parasols, each colour belonging to a different hotel. Nice clean beach with calm sea - good for children.
The room was fairly uninspiring but quite large and very clean. There is an olympic sized swimming pool which again is kept beautifully clean - bathing hats are supplied and insisted upon!
The food was especially good which was very handy as my partner slipped her disc on day 1 and couldn't move out of the room all week. The staff were brilliant and bought all the meals up to the room - even adding a tray of deserts when we hadn't requested anything. The seafood pasta was really tasty!
Although we couldn't manage to go on them - the tours of the area looked really good. Sienna, Florence, Pisa (we did see the latter briefly by blue lighted ambulance)!
I would recommend this hotel for those looking for a quiet spot to totally relax, long sandy beaches, a large swimming pool and reasonably situated for taking trips around the local area.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool gives a better view than the front of the hotel which just overlooks a road and some market stalls.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HarleyMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews