We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“If you want to see Pisa - STAY HERE!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“If you want to see Pisa - STAY HERE!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Less than 30 minutes from Pisa, a beautiful hotel on the beach with a great breakfast. I left the windows open at night to my patio so I could hear the waves crashing all night long. There is 5 good restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel with great fresh seafood. Also great places to get pedicures, massages, etc. The bar in the hotel makes a great cappucino! I'm sure it's crazy busy in the summer time.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio close to the beach. I've the rooms closer to the main street aren't as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmlucas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    197
    119
    35
    19
See reviews for
145
142
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have just returned from Grand Hotel Continental and had a wonderful time. I am very fussy about where I stay, the standards and the food and I can fault none of it. OK the hotel isn't the best looking from outside but who it going to stare at that all day long. The rooms (no balcony for us) were big and bright and everything was clean, including the ample bathroom. I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews which were absolutely rubbish. I have stayed in many 4* hotels and this definitely was also a 4*. The staff were so kind and helpful especially the dining room staff (|Nadia). Food was excellent, so much of it and superbly cooked and presented. I like fish and I was more than satisfied and my husband likes meat and he too thought it was excellent. There was a cook in out group and he gave it top marks. Tirrenia itself was fine for a smallish town. Of course the shops closed between 1 - 4 as all continental countries do but they open again until 8 pm. Bus into Pisa was frequent and so were the trains. Easy to get to Pisa, Lucca and Florence on public transport and staff at station helpful and speak some English. Only 2 things weren't as we would have wanted - no tea/coffee making facilities in room and therefore it worked out quite expensive to buy drinks. Should have taken travel kettle but limited due to 15kg weight restriction. Also on the last day a "Spinning" group (latest craze) - all 200 of them - took over the hotel and the noise throughout the hotel (even though it was by the pool was awful all day with the noise of the music (?) and the coach shouting out instructions. Far too loud and I understand it was going on all weekend. Glad we went home. Apparently they come every year so beware going that date. All in all a lovely holiday and have no fear at all going to this hotel. Last of all, the Thompson rep, Brenda was brilliant and so very helpful - a medal for her!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandma5265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is excellent to stay. Front Office staff very polite and helpful.
Rooms were excellent and had view of the sea.

We were vegetarian and there was not much choice on the Menu. One of the waiters, who is a tall slim gentleman, he made sure we di have a good meal. He requested the chef and
everyday without ordering from the Menu, he brought us very good food and we do not have words how to appreciate this lovely service.

If we plan to go to Italy again we are sure to stay at this hotel again because of the service. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avtar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is located in a very small town which as other reviews say has seen better days. However, it is reasonably close to Pisa (an easy bus trip) and also well placed for Florence and other key cultural centres.
The hotel itself is a bit of a mixed bag. It's close to the beach and in the Italian style has a jealously guarded private beach area with free towels and two deck chairs (try and take a spare extra one and you will earn the surly attention of one of the staff). We stayed on half board and buffet breakfast was fine but the formal dinner each night a little unvaried in menu and not obviously offering fresh local produce though fish was regularly on the menu. The room was fine with a decnt size extra bed in the room for our 10 year old. I would recommend you bring your own tea making facilities given the cost of this at the bar.
One point to note when visiting the Uffizi in Florence - we had a very unpleasant experience at the entrance where although we had purchased tickets in advance the assistant insisted on seeing ID (passport) for our ten year old to prove he was a child and could get in free! We had not brought our passports and were informed that in Italy we had to carry ID around with us in a very rude manner! In England of course galleries are free (not £50 to get in) and don't require any form of ID which she seemed not to appreciate!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonMBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seubersdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have stayed here a few times...once with my family and once by myself on a short business trip. It's a bit on the expensive side, so I think it is much more ideal for business or couples rather than a "family" hotel.

It's in a very loud part of Tirrenia which was a bit irritatiting trying to sleep at night especially since the air conditioning wasn't working properly.

A few positive notes, it has one of the best breakfasts in Tirrenia and it is right on the beach and if I remember correctly, it was included in the price of the room. The swimming pool is very plain, but nice and well kept.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

My family of four used this a base for a 5 day tour of Tuscany. It is a fairly standard Mediterranean Hotel to look at but clean and tidy with very attentive and friendly staff all of whom appear to speak very good English which helps when, like me, you don't speak any Italian! We had a family room which was of ample size with a nice bathroom with a shower. Decor was fine. Air conditioning works and the pillows are good! The breakfast was very good with a continental buffet which included scrambled egg with sausage or bacon, lots of fruit, cakes, sweet pastries, cereals and good quality fruit juices and bottled water in plentiful supply. There is a magnificent 50m swimming pool which is very clean with good furniture. There is also access to a private beach of standard Italian format. We used buses and trains to get around. The bus stop to Pisa is at small square next to the Hotel. Tickets can be bought at the tabac nearby. Buses are regular and cheap- 4.60 Euros return and tickets last 90 mins after you have validated them on the bus so you can take other buses once you arrive at the bus station which is also close to the rail station. Rail tickets are also good value, but, like the bus tickets, you must validate them before you travel using machines on the platform. Our first day landed us a 5 Euro fine for not doing this! (Should have been 40 but nice ticket inspector!) Anyway, back to the Hotel. We would be happy to return. Not the Ritz but then they don't pretend to be. All in all very good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Fantastic base for a first trip to Italy. Very close to the main tourist interests Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Sienna etc. Grand Hotel Continental is superb, ok the rooms are a little dated but exceptionally clean as is the rest of the hotel. The pool is magnificent, room for everyone and even at the most busiest there were always sunbeds free. For an hour or so in the morning and late afternoon there are games and music around the pool, may be irritating to some but you can always use the deck chairs on the beach. Nearly always some evening music in the gardens but it always finished around midnight. The food was 100%, If you don't like pasta and fish or Italian food then go to Spain

Room Tip: Check that public transport isn't on strike before you use buses or trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green Park - TH Resorts
Green Park - TH Resorts
#1 of 2 in Calambrone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.1 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: Via Belvedere 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing